We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveler rating
532
174
81
39
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
532
174
81
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary glass of wine cookies wine list bell cottage main building old town place to stay breakfast was included san francisco bed and breakfast historic district third floor great restaurant homeless people sitting area humboldt county road trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came in for graduation weekend. Room was charming, warm and inviting. The fireplace was a nice touch, as is the in room hot tub. Food is outstanding, staff is very friendly and accomidating. Personal touches around every corner. Brunch was fantastic, Bloody Mary Bar was a WOW . we recommend and won’t stay anywhere else when we are in the area.

Thank you to the staff

Room tip: Turn in your Sunday breakfast vouchers for 50% off brunch ~ A MUST
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MightyMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, General Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Mighty Mike for your review. We pride ourselves in offering only the best in service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was a very pleasant surprise! When we arrived our room was very warm. We called the front desk and within minutes the NEW GENERAL MANAGER was at our door ready to fix the problem! Needless to say we were floored by her presence as we expected the maintenance man. We went to dinner and by the time we got back to our room it was perfect. Food was outstanding, the new manager was talking to everyone and double check on us several times, we felt very important. Room, property, staff are all top notch and willing to go above and beyond for their guests. We had a lovely weekend and will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Hospitalityfreak2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, General Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for you for choosing Carter House Inn's we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Had a pleasant two night stay -- we had a "Really nice Queen on the 2nd floor". Very comfortable and well appointed. Appreciated the inclusive breakfast which was quite comprehensive (but you do need to ask for the menu and some items). We didn't dine in the restaurant. Decided to explore the old town the first night and then come Sunday the only offering was a fixed price 3 course menu @$60 per person (rather than a la carte) so we decided to seek elsewhere. Historic Eureka has quite a good selection of restaurant to choose from -- so no real problem. The staff were all very polite, professional and pleasant although we came away feeling that "we were lucky to stay" rather than their focus being the customer. We did have a slight issue with our room -- the hand basin (sink) wasn't draining correctly which meant that it was pretty much not usable. Reported this just after we checked in but nothing happened. Come Sunday we were then advised that they were aware of the problem but couldn't resolve until Monday after we had checked out. So -- 2 thoughts here. Either give us a different room from the start or at least flag it as an issue so that we were aware. Bottom line would recommend -- classy and elegant but be prepared to pay for the high quality food and wine -- rating $$$$.

Room tip: The property is in the centre of Eureka so no actual views. The back of the main building backs on to a car park and gas station.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MGCFNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, General Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Thank you so much for your input. We take a great deal of pride in providing Excellence in Service. We will be discussing your review to insure that this does not repeat itself. The next time you are in Eureka, please feel free to stay with us or stop by, I would love to host you for Dinner or Brunch.

Regards,

Lisa J.
General Manager
Carter House Inn
301 L Street
Eureka, CA 95501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

The rooms are beautiful. It's so relaxing there. I appreciated the appetizers, wine and the cookies and tea. It's in the old town of Eureka and you can walk around and see the fun shops. The breakfast in the morning was a great way to start your day. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank HelenHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, General Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Helen,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our Restaurant 301. We hope you plan on visiting us again soon.

Regards,
Lisa J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Walking distance to old downtown, comp breakfast,, re-done rooms, pleasant staff.
Certainly better than the the standard places.
Excellent restaurant (301) . Part of a chain that has great location and style

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Rbschoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, General Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves on Excellence in Service and we are happy to announce we have begun offering Sunday Brunch at Restaurant 301. We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Lisa J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews