We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than last year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carter House Inns
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
634 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Better than last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I reviewed this inn last year and it has gotten even better. Many of the rooms have been renovated. Our room was bright, fresh and cheerful. The bedding was first rate. The staff is cheerful and helpful. The restaurant is first rate. The bar is a fun stop before dinner. I don't use alcohol, and the bar squeezed some fresh tomatoes to make a Virgin Mary for me. That's what I call service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
There is no other way to say this except thank so for taking the time to write a review about Carter House Inns. It's great that you enjoyed our new furnishings and enjoyed our hospitality as well. We will be looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Best Wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    142
    74
    34
    15
See reviews for
90
386
41
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Charming and very comfortable older hotel in a great location. We stayed in the main building in room number 211 and really enjoyed our visit. Breakfast is included and very well done. The lobby area is a great place to socialize with your family and other guests. The bar area is open and inviting and guests receive a glass of wine each evening. The staff of the hotel are very well trained and very helpful. Professional, knowledgeable, and friendly employees always enhance the quality of a visit. The only issue I had and the reason for not giving it 5 stars was the bathroom shower. The water temp went from comfortable to very cold several times during my visit and I find that to be unacceptable. Not the biggest issue in the world so I highly recommend this hotel and like the location. Eureka CA seems to attract a lot of street people but we didn't experience any problems.

Room Tip: Try for the second floor - street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz98045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review for Carter House Inns. It makes all of us very happy to know that you enjoyed our services and hospitality and you will be happy to know that the water temperature issue you mentioned is now fixed. We look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Lovely inn with excellent facilities. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly and welcoming on arrival with complimentary wine at 5pm. Restaurant excellent. The inn is around the corner from The Carson Mansion and a pleasant walk along the water front to the old town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your Trip Advisor review is appreciated, and we want to thank you for your input. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Carter House Inn in Eureka, and we welcome you back whenever you are in this area.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I give this place an excellent review because it's really is nice. Our room was in of the detached guest houses. It was gorgeous. There was a huge tub, flat-screen TV, ceiling fan, king bed, and even a keurig (sp). The staff was beyond nice. There was even a large common sitting area in the house that would be perfect for a group who wants to take the whole house and not just a room. Breakfast is included and on top of the basic stuff they offer one hot entree, which was great. You are also given a complimentary glass of wine. (I'm sure it's built into the price). When we went to obtain ours, the bar was too crowded so we left. (That's on us, not on the hotel. We had been on the road for 6 hours and were inpatient due to hunger and fatigue.) We didn't get to have dinner at the restaurant, but if it's anything like the room, I'm sure it's great.

Now, the bad part. Eureka isn't that great. In the town's defense, we had just come from San Fran and were on our way to Portland so we were a bit spoiled seeing some of the coastal towns along the way. Eureka just looked run down. The Old Town was OK, but it was dead! Old Town is walking distance from the Inn. The only place that was busy was Lost Coast Brewery, everything else was dead. There were some shops and restaurants, but it lacked the charm we saw in the pictures. Once again, not related to inn, but worth mentioning if you're planning a trip there.

I share that part to share this part: Carter House was so kind and let us check out early (we planned to stay for two nights) but left after one. We really appreciated that because they could have just as easily told us we would have to honor our reservation and pay for both nights.

Should you find yourself in Eureka, this is definitely the place to stay. It was honestly one of the nicest inns I've ever stayed in. It's too bad we couldn't enjoy the city more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nashvillegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Carter House Inns describing your recent stay. We appreciate your willingness to share your opinions with others and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Plus Side:
~Very clean
~Bright and Spacious room
~Great restaurant downstairs.
~The freshly backed, homemade cookies were outstanding. The tea selection rather nice, too.
~Mini Keurig in the room was a lovely plus.
~The a la carte goodies basket placed in the room is convenient if you don't mind the prices. For instance, it included a hiker's guide and glow sticks that some people forget to pack.
~The hot breakfast was memorable. There is a continental spread, which is okay, and frankly they should change the granola mix they use (it breaks the teeth), but whatever they do to those omelets is outstanding. If I had been staying elsewhere, I'd want to pay for that hot breakfast.
~Perfect location...perfectly situated as far as the Historic district, but right next to the Pink House and the Carson Mansion.
~The service is brilliant. Elena was such a delightful concierge.
~The original Carter House, the one featured in the picture above, is not where the guestrooms are. They are in the newer house, rather kitty corner from the historic Carter House. However, you get a key to use that allows for a self tour. I had the house to myself twice, during which time I sat by the open window in the kitchen or the drawing room downstairs and enjoyed the breeze, the view of the harbor and a lovely private conversation. I found it quite a treat to lounge and linger, privately, in the Carter House. It's a major plus.
~Parking is totally convenient.

Negative Side:
~A bit stuffy in the room, but the windows are large and do let it the breeze off the harbor.
~For $375 per night in total price, the carpet should be changed, the headboards touched up with paint and all the windows should open properly, not just some.
~Nice bathroom, but hardly anywhere to put the products. I wish they'd add more shelves, only I don't know where they'd put them. The bathroom was too small.
~The lobby affords no privacy...but, but...check out the Carter House itself. There you'll find the privacy you need other than in the room, itself.
~Not too much traffic, but you hear it clearly when present. However, most everyone just quiets down by sunset.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler-In-Progress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review of Carter House Inns and wish to thank you for letting others know about your experience here. Most of all, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time here. All of your comments are important to us, and we consider each comment carefully. You will be happy to know that the headboards were ordered new but "distressed" from Pottery Barn and have only been in the room for three months. There are still some additions to the room that haven' t been completed yet, but are happening as we write this.

We wish you the best in all of your travels, have a wonderful summer, and we hope to see you at the Carter House Inns again soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Carter House Inn on our way down the coast. Very warm and cozy place to stay. Lots of extra touches to make your stay even more special. Breakfast was included and was very good. No A/C in the room we stayed in but there was a fan that still made it very comfortable. You really need to stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ocean_view42420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was nice to have your comments about Carter House Inns on Trip Advisor. Thank you for sending them in and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the lovely Carter House Inn -for two nights- in room 505. We were warmly greeted by the front desk attendant, who promptly escorted us to our room. I was very pleased that he was able to knowledgeably answer all of my general questions about the hotel's history. A private entry room, 505 had a very clean bathroom, and a spacious walk-in shower fit for two. The room's foyer was complete with very beautiful original art, and a Keurig for a morning cup of coffee. The bedroom was absolutely gorgeous, complete with tasteful antiques and the softest sheets you could ever rest your travel-weary bones on! 505 also has "Front Door" access, which opens up into a beautiful sitting room and a full kitchen. As we were trying to keep food costs down, we really appreciated the refrigerator and microwave!
*Singing more praise... I would also like to tout the hotel's complimentary (hotel guests only) breakfast, completely with fruit, granola, baked yummies (the lemon cake was to die for!) yogurt, coffee, tea, juice, and a chef-prepared hot dish. In the evenings, the hotel offers a complimentary glass of wine to each (legal) hotel guest, as well as tea and cookies, also on the house.
In sum, I would absolutely stay here again, and I would absolutely recommend The Carter House Inns to my family and friends!

Room Tip: *The only negative thing that I could possibly say about 505 is that is is located directly undernea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comments regarding our Carter House Inns are greatly appreciated, and we want to thank you for submitting your review, because we know it takes time out of your busy schedule to do so. We love it when guests enjoy their time here as you did.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eureka
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.6 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
22.0 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Property: Carter House Inns
Address: 301 L St, Eureka, CA 95501-0571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing