We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carter House Inns
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business, but it is also a great romantic getaway. The desk in the room was well lit with ample outlets. The fireplace cozy. The bed was perhaps the most comfy I have ever experienced. Well located to walk to old town. The lobby is vibrant but homey. Complimentary appetizers pre dinner and cookies at night. Well priced happy hour. Spotlessly clean. Full made to order breakfast included in room price. These people have thought of everything. My only suggestion is to bring earplugs. The older buildings creak and you can easily hear people walking overhead. There are three separate buildings. I stayed in the main one with bar and restaurant. The other properties have stairs, so beware if that is an issue for you. I hope I have occasion to stay here again. Really top notch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor for Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301. Your comments are so appreciated, and it is guests like you that keep small, independently-owned inns going strong. We wish you great success in all of your travels.
Cordially,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    149
    75
    34
    16
See reviews for
91
403
41
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On the way to/from the Bay area we often stay in Eureka as a half way point. This is the first time we tried the Carter House. What a gem. The location is in the historic district where walking is easy and inviting. Our room was in the main building and was bright, clean and comfortable ,
The staff were excellent. Seemed excited to tell us about amenities including the 'welcome' glass of wine, the happy hour in the main lounge and the 'made to order' complimentary breakfast.
We didn't realize food was available in the small bar off the lobby and opted for their restaurant. it was very special and a bit pricey. The only downside (and it was corrected immediately) was a gratuity charged to our bill for the complimentary breakfast. We had left a tip on the table but were still surprised to see any charge....in all we would stay here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
A big "thank you" to you from all of us at Carter House Inns for letting us know about your experience at our Inn. We love to take care of our guests in order to be sure that they have an optimal experience, and it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Carter House Inns, and we wish you best of luck in your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had to do single day get away to Eureka from the Bay Area to check out a school for a relative. 1. We were not excited to be going to Eureka in the winter, 2. We were not excited to have to drive a long way to stay in a hotel during the rain. With that in mind, the Carter house changed our view completely upon arrival. We were greeted by a great young man who happily showed us all the rooms and then allowed us to upgrade to the best room in the hotel. Then he helped us schedule a dinner in their restaurant as well as told us about the town. We then checked into our room where we quickly relaxed by a cozy fireplace, then changed clothes to attend dinner. The dinner was incredible as well. We then went for a couples massage (see my other review), and upon return enjoyed a desert from restaurant with a bottle of wine in our inroom hot tub listening to the rain. The whole experience was extremely relaxing and ended up being a great trip. In the morning, we went down for breakfast, complimentary for guests. The breakfast was so-so, but the ambience was great. We then walked down to the harbor and enjoyed our coffee with a bit of sight seeing. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We went for the largest room, which had the only king bed. There are also rooms across the street wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMPBELLTOURIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and want to thank you for taking time to respond to trip advisor. We're happy that your experience here at Carter House Inns in Eureka exceeded your expectations and we are happy that we could accommodate you in every possible way.. An unexpected surprise is always a gem in itself.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here while passing through Eureka on a family vacation over New Year Day and found this to be a wonderful stay. The hotel comprises several buildings across the street from each other and we were able to explore the ones that we didn't stay at (we were in the main building). The staff were hospitable and friendly, and the rooms well-kept, modern and clean. Though the buildings themselves looked historic on the outside, the interior is very new and well-appointed. Would stay here again if passing through the area. Breakfast, which was included in the rate, was delicious.

The only downside is that this place can be pricey, and there really is not a lot to do in Eureka for visitors passing through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhimLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your recent posting to Trip Advisor regarding Carter House Inns. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the amenities that we provide.
You will be pleasantly surprised to find that Eureka's Old Town has museums, art galleries, a repertory theater, kayak rentals on the bay, plus a unique shopping area. Thank you again for staying with us and best of luck in your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Carter House is beautiful. The decor inside was elegant and we received a warm welcome. Our bedroom was a little small (stayed in the main house) although it was very comfortable with a nice bathroom, comfy bed and great linens. The sofa and chairs in front of the TV and fireplace are sink-into-comfy. The welcome glass (free) of wine excellent, but the wine list was a tome, so asked for suggestions and were very happy with what we had. The Restaurant 301 was really good, we don't often eat in a hotel, preferring to venture out to local hostelries, but glad we did eat at this hotel. The food was really tasty and well presented, I especially liked the breakfast selection. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area, although Eureka itself is not worth too much time visiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate your review to Trip Advisor and want to thank you for the many compliments about Carter House Inns. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were well served by our staff.

You will be pleasantly surprised to find that Eureka offers many attractions - among them museums, art galleries, old town boutiques and antiques, clubs, theaters, and eateries, etc.

Thank you again for being wonderful guests and we wish you the best of luck in all of your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I just completed a stay at the Carter House. It was fantastic! Besides how beautiful and comfortable the house is, the staff is what makes it great. You are greated by Audrey who knows all the "in" places around Eureka and will take great care of you. A must is a drink at the bar - Michael the barkeep is very knowledgeable about the different wines and will make you feel welcomed and give you a great pour! Don't miss out on the opportunity to eat at the award winning 301 - outstanding food and service - ask for Zach. Top the night off with tea and cookies - Coleen the pastry chief makes the most delious cookies. After a wonderful night sleep (the beds are great as are the linens) start your day off with breakfast served by Elizabeth who is so accommodating. Chase and Nikki also were awsome.
Really know how to give great service

Room Tip: If you are only staying for a couple of nights, spulge on a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
The staff is so appreciative of your reviews. We can't thank you enough for your taking the time to post such a gracious reply and we hope to see you soon. In the meantime, good luck in all of your traveling.
Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were very much looking forward to our stay at the Carter House Inn (we stayed in the main building), and it is certainly a nice place. However, when we checked in we were rudely treated (rushed) by the receptionist checking us in, and that put a damper on our stay. The room was perfectly fine, but small. The coffee maker was in the closet and had to be removed on a tray and placed elsewhere for use. The dinner at 301 was very good, perhaps a bit expensive for a small town, and the breakfast was just OK (only cereal was granola and only yogurt was unflavored). Additionally, the copy of the bill we received on checkout was not ours. I should have checked closely, but the amount was "close" to what I'd figured, so I did not look at the name. That evening my wife looked at the bill and realized it had another person's name, address and email address on it. I called Carter House to tell them and initially the person answering made light of it, without apologizing. When I said for a supposedly "fancy" Inn this was unacceptable and asked that they call the person whose bill I received, the staff member finally agreed and apologized. This may be the "best place" in Eureka, but if we go there again we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogaman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that your visit to Carter House Inns didn't exceed your expectations. However, we do thank you for your comments and feedback which will allow us to make any necessary changes and/or improvements.

Thank you again and all our best wishes to you.

Sincerely,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#7 of 21 in Eureka
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Property: Carter House Inns
Address: 301 L St, Eureka, CA 95501-0571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing