We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the conveniences of modern with all the elegant style and comfort of Victorian plus outstanding service!”
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carter House Inns
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All the conveniences of modern with all the elegant style and comfort of Victorian plus outstanding service!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I loved my stay here! After the intensity of a family get together, took advantage of the chance to relax in a beautiful third floor suite with two fireplaces, two TVs, wonderful hot breakfast (different each day), complimentary wine, terrific and accommodating dining room, comfortable couches in front of a wood fire in the lobby, a short walk from Eureka's handsome Victorian architecture and the boat harbor -- I recommend this!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    149
    75
    34
    16
See reviews for
91
403
41
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is an enigma to me. You know the house in the neighborhood where the owner goes overboard in adding $$$$ to a kitchen, bathroom, etc to the point where it doesn't fit it's surroundings and neighborhood? This is that house as a hotel and the neighborhood is pretty down and out. It ends up being an oasis in an area of decay. I feel duped by the nice photos. Its an ok stop over if you are on your way somewhere else, but the prices are way out of line. $75 prix fixe thanksgiving turkey dinner and no other options on the menu? I feel taken advantage of and ripped off. We also had to ask the maitre d to remove a dead bug from the window sill next to our table in the dining room just after we sat down to the $75 turkey dinner. Breakfast included? Go well before 9 or all you will get are odds and ends, you'll have to wait for clean dishes and silverware, amongst an ocean of dirty tables waiting to be cleared by one poor soul working the shift by herself. We couldn't wait to leave by that point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed one night in room 301. Beautiful room, comfy beds and wonderful whirlpool tub. The restaurant was gorgeous and the food to die for. Wonderful service and lovely atmosphere. The bar and happy hour plus snacks was a great touch. Very nice quick trip.... well worth every penny. Chase at the front desk was very helpful. Would stay again.:)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdt1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you found our hotel hospitable, and we hope to see you again. Best of luck in your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Carter House. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great lobby with a roaring fireplace. One negative was that our bathroom was not cleaned on our second day nor were fresh towels provided. Fresh towels were quickly provided at our request.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your note is appreciated and, we thank you for letting others know about the comforts of Carter House Inns.
We apologize for housekeeping missing your room, and we will work harder to make sure that doesn't happen again. Happy Holidays to you and yours.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Smooth landing in room 104 in the middle of the afternoon with just a few steps on the way
Fireplace warming the living room when we came back in the low 50F
Comfortable room with simple elegant wood furniture
Early dinner
Average cocktail
Good simple Chardonnay with pan stirred salops with a fusion sweet and chili thai sauce and a small salad with beetroot sprout (well executed)
Smoked pork loin on a bed of apple compote and mash potatoes (the pork could be a bit more tender but the taste is round and rich and the mash is divine)
Carter cellars Revilo vineyard cabernet sauvignon 2006 (long enough, reglisse, very light oak and tanins, very very tiny hint of maderization though) (well done)
Dessert:
Creme brulee with tokay (Solid performance)
Overall a sofisticated place to stay, good taste, simple elegant interiors and an insanely long wine list




Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's always warms our heart to hear that guests enjoyed their stay at Carter House Inns and enjoyed Restaurant 301. We are always appreciative of these reviews and wish the best for your travel experiences. Thank you.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to all staff for ensuring we had a wonderful nights stay.
Our room was perfect (we stayed in the carter house across the road from the main hotel) with such tasteful furniture. I can't believe the building was built in the 1980's and not the 1880's!

By chance we were staying in caligstoga the following night and were recommended by the reception staff to try Envy wines for tasting. The winery was fantastic and so were the staff there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
The Staff really appreciates your thoughtfulness in commending them for a "wonderful night's stay." Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed staying at the original Carter House and also that you took the time to stop in Calistoga at the Envy Winery. Glad you enjoyed it all.
Best wishes for the holidays.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This was by far the best stay of our two weeks in Oregon and California. Quick check in, pleasant staff and beautiful food just downstairs. We were also aware that many of the other diners were local people and this always speaks volumes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sure54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#7 of 21 in Eureka
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Property: Carter House Inns
Address: 301 L St, Eureka, CA 95501-0571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing