We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay gem!”
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carter House Inns
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must stay gem!”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

If you are looking for accommodation in Eureka or near Humboldt Redwood State Park, look no further than Carter House Inn. I just returned from a night here and was very impressed. I did a lot of online research and was pleased with my choice.

The room ('Really Nice Queen' Room 212) was charming, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was large with lots of vanity space, great water pressure and all the amenities, including soft bath robes. I was staying on the second floor and had no issue with noise that others have written about. Television included a selection of Direct TV channels and there was a DVD player.

The staff were excellent - I was shown to my room by a friendly and professional front desk attendant and Tanya in the restaurant was very efficient and friendly. It is this type of service that makes this hotel stand out from an anonymous chain.

The breakfast was delicious - a buffet selection of granola, fresh berries, scrumptious fresh pastries (slices of berry galette, walnut tarts and strawberry muffins) and toast in addition to a hot freshly cooked egg scramble with green onions and cheese and crispy bacon. Perfectly cooked, loads of flavor and melt in the mouth. My compliments to John the chef! It was the perfect way to start the day and kept me going through to a late lunch. It was clear that some of the guests at breakfast were regulars (business travelers) and I was impressed that Tanya knew their names and preferences and made new guests feel very welcome. I can see why people come back!

Wine and cheese was served in the afternoon and tea, coffee and cookies at night. Very nice touches that gave this hotel an intimate bed and breakfast feel.

Great location too! Just a few blocks walk from the start of Old Town Eureka with many restaurants and shops.

I felt my stay was extremely good value and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iznik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    149
    75
    34
    16
See reviews for
91
403
41
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Carter House Inns in Eureka is a very nice, upscale way to pamper yourself as you tour the incredible beauty, coastlines, and magnificent redwood state and national parks in this area of northern California. At the start of our visits to all this scenery, Audrey (the manager) laid out a day's itinerary that we followed to the letter. It was perfect. That evening, we were able to relax with fine wines and a terrific five-course dinner, right in the Inn itself.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Talk to Audrey, the hotel manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickengebretson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Carter House Inn is a true gem and when I return will make sure to spend multiple nights here.

From the moment I arrived, the staff was professional, pleasant and always accommodating. The complimentary wine was excellent and was a welcome treat after a long day on the road.

My room had all those extra touches that showed the pride of ownership.

If you are a foodie and appreciate a great dining experience - plan an evening at the inns' restaurant. The tasting menu with wine pairings far exceeded my expectations and was one of the highlights of my weeklong California coast trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeatoSeaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here for three nights, service was great, loved the Bar Tender, named Connnor, who helped us plan our trip down Napa way. He had great suggestions and poured the house wine "Envy" each evening, complementary to Inn staying guests. Breakfast was in the restaurant and always light and refreshing. We also ate dinner here one night, and enjoyed the selections the chef made. Impressive wine list and lots of help choosing the correct wine/dinner pairings. Lovely fireplace in the main room, fresh fruit always available, clean rooms ( somewhat small with little closet space ).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjschnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

the staff at the Carter Inn are very very attentive and the Inn is decorated so very nicely. We had a very nice stay there. Wine tasting and appetizers in the late afternoon, followed by cookies and coffee and tea in the evening. In the morning a great breakfast bar and hot breakfast served.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Carter House- Eureka, CA

Like many of you, I never write reviews, but this time I was motivated…not because I was tremendously impressed, but rather because I was deeply disappointed that I had paid so dearly ($$$) to stay at Carter House, just north of the Giant Redwood Forest, in Eureka, CA. Let me begin by saying that I spend most of my nights in hotels...not by choice. I am a very seasoned traveler and know when I have been over-charged for services rendered.

When I arrived at Carter House, I had no idea where to check in. They own 3-4 Victorian style buildings, but where is registration? I phoned and got through to an answering service that knew nothing. I went knocking on doors and found that registration is at the restaurant/bar. There was no one to check me in because they were helping other clients and had left the registration building, so the bar-tender offered us a glass of complimentary wine and showed us to a seating area where there was finger food available from 4:00-5:00 only, so don’t be late if you want a small glass of free wine. Did I say small? Unfortunately, I was not offered a refill.

Happy hour, from 5:00-6:00 pm at the bar, is 50% off all drinks, but we decided to pass and checked into our room. Oh, by the way…did I mention that one of their employees dropped a beer bottle right next to the chair I was about to sit down in…the bottle exploded all over the floor and rug and the poor guy spent the next 20 minutes cleaning up his mess right where we were suppose to be seated in front of the fire place where they was no fire.

The room was nice as depicted on the website, but was not in the Victorian Mansion highlighted on the website. Rather it was in the same building as the restaurant on the 2nd floor. Big disappointment! I checked out the restaurant menu and found that it would cost approximately $110 per person and up, not counting tax or tip to eat the five course dinner that came with wine tastings, limited to 3 ounce glasses. I figured this was beyond my budget for the night, so I went and got some carry out and we enjoyed movies in our room.

Our two, double-bed room, was rather large, well appointed and nicely decorated.
The beds were soft, which I distinctly dislike… and the place was noisy…both from the hall side and the street side. We could every car door slam shut for hours. Let me tell you about the whirlpool bath. When the folks in the room next to us turned on the whirlpool, it honestly sounded as if it were in our room and we could hear them bathing and splashing about. Very annoying!

This morning we had breakfast in the Carter House Restaurant and it was outstanding! Our server, Amber, was the best Carter house employee we met. She was kind, eager to please and informative about the Redwoods! Breakfast was priced at $16.00 and was a bargain for that price. Bravo!

So overall, do I sound dissatisfied? Yes, I was! Chiefly because the Carter House is over-rated. Surely this is not the top rated accommodation in Eureka! There has to be something, just as nice, at half the cost…unless of course you figure their breakfast is worth about $50 per person. No thanks! I won’t be back to the Carter House. I will however visit the Redwoods again! Busy traveler from the Midwest.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MehlvilleHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We Stayed 2 nights at this magnifcent hotel, Its not a 3.5 stars as indicated Id easily give it a 6 stars. They upgraded us to a suite with a whirlpool, shame we only had time to use it once but it was wonderful. Room was spacious and gorgeous, staff were fantastic, breakfast delicous I mean what more can I say. Our stay there was perfect!! I loved Eureka!! out of all the other pl;aces we stayed

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanderra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#7 of 21 in Eureka
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Property: Carter House Inns
Address: 301 L St, Eureka, CA 95501-0571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing