We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
64
10
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
10
2
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 78 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found this B&B on the web, and it exceeded all of our expectations. Lilly and Doug are terrific innkeepers and their stories are both educational and fun. The house is fun to poke around in and there are so many accesories and history in every corner. The rooms, bed, and bathes were very comfortable, no complaints whatsoever. For an experience out of the norm make a point to visit this very unique B&B.

Room Tip: We were given our choice of rooms. Each has a historical theme and patron. The Lnagtry room was especialy fun. Every room was quiet and very comfy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion, Owner at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion - Historic Lodging Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Abigail’s Victorian Mansion is indeed an eclectic Old World ‘Boutique Hotel' ---and we're always delighted to welcome guests from all around the world (and near-by) to come and enjoy what we have to offer at our unique, historic inn.
We want to thank this generous reviewer for so kindly sharing all of the things that they enjoyed about their stay with us here in Eureka---and sincerely invite them to please, come back soon!

We're especially pleased when someone like this reviewer, not only chooses our 1888 National Historic Landmark, but obviously appreciates every aspect of their spacious room's authentic, antique furnishings--as well as its modern amenities--and shares them in such picturesque detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed one night at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion. Wonderful place. Beautiful from the outside and the inside completely brings one back to Victorian times. Truly unique experience. The mansion coupled with Doug's history lesson were fascination. Additionally this experience comes with quite reasonable rates. Would highly recommend to anyone passing through Eureka.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timberflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion, Owner at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion - Historic Lodging Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We are glad that the reviewer's experience staying with us was a pleasant one. Built in 1888, this is the 125th year that our remarkable inn has welcomed travelers---and, the on-going restoration and beautification of our 1888 National Historic Landmark continues to make our guests' stays at Abigail’s Victorian Mansion even better. So, please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you like Victorians you'll love Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion. The innkeepers have restored this mansion to the true Victorian era. The attention to details is awesome! For some history on the mansion and the area be sure to spend some time with the Vieyra's.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank savh1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion, Owner at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion - Historic Lodging Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Not everyone will feel comfortable staying in our 1887 Victorian House Museum. There are many who enjoy the chasteness of 'tastefully uncluttered'. But for those who do love the Victorian age and in particular its lavish opulence of Victorian architecture and interior furnishings, we invite you to join us at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion - a NATIONAL HISTORIC LANDMARK. The Inn offers an oppurtunity to step back into the past, to a time more tranquil, more genteel, more richly elegant. Our guest from Folsom was just such a guest. We enjoyed her being here, just as she enjoyed being here.

But remember, the past does have some short-comings. Our historic Inn does not have many of the amenities and conveniences that a full-blown 150 room motel can provide. But for those who can keep things in perspective, a stay at a historic home can provide a richness of experience that a chain motel cannot hope to provide. It is all about what one's expectations are. An in-depth review of our website (www.Eureka-California.com) can give one the information to help determine if our Victorian Inn is right for you. If you think it is, please come join us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In 1997, I stayed the first time at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion in Eureka, California with my family. On my second trip to California, it was an absolute must for me to stay again at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion and to share this unique experience with my friend. Lily Vieyra showed us through the mansion, explaining the history of this fantastic building and answering all our questions about the unique interior. Doug & Lily Vieyra's attention to detail and to warmly welcome travelers is second to none. The room was lovingly decorated; even sweets were presented. If I return to Eureka, I will definitely stay at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank key2coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion, Owner at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion - Historic Lodging Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

It is always a joy to welcome once again guests who have joined us in the past. There is certainly a great deal of truth in our motto - "The first time - a fellow traveler ; the second time a returning friend." The warmth of spirit, the power of laughter, the joy of living - all bring “ Raison D’etre “ , both to our home and our lives. And this reviewer, like many others, helps us keep a smile on our face and a song in our soul.
- Doug Vieyra - Owner, General Manager, Handyman, Gardener, Laundry Man, House-Keeper, etc., etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The overnight stay I had at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion in Eureka, California was absolutely exquisite. Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, I have never had a more outstanding stay in any establishment...anywhere! Doug & Lily Vieyra, the curator and innkeepers, were nothing short of spectacular. Their attention to detail and the catering to our every need left me speechless. I can't say enough about Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion. I give them 5 stars on every aspect of their establishment. I'm honored to even have had the chance to stay in their home. If you're ever in Eureka, California you have to treat yourself to the fantastic experience of staying at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Governors room. Spectacular!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeboiseid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion, Owner at Abigail's Elegant Victorian Mansion - Historic Lodging Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Our Victorian house-museum is NOT for everyone. But we have strived to provide the interested traveler a unique and interesting stay that is out of the ordinary, and much more than just a pleasant place to get a good night's sleep. Our goal is to enrichen the soul and raise the spirits of the weary traveler. Ofcourse we do provide all the normally expected appointments of a first-rate lodging establishment - but in addition, we want to give the traveler an added 'bonus' beyond just a good night stay. We want a stay here to be a memorable and exciting event – perhaps even one of the high-lights of the many lodging choices that a traveler makes on their journey along California’s North Coast. We do not always succeed – it is hard to meet everyone’s expectations. But we do try very hard to do so, and are very happy when a guest such as our RENO reviewer lets us know that they appreciated our efforts.

Ofcourse all this is made much easier when our guests themselves are such rich and rewarding people. That is what makes hosting travelers such a joy for us !
- Doug Vieyra, Owner / Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews