We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chapala Cafe

Chapala Cafe
Ranked #50 of 184 Restaurants in Eureka
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top notch Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We travel by RV to many places in the USA and always like to have Mexican food. This restaurant is one of the best. The atmosphere is friendly, waitstaff was very familiar with the menu and willing to help make a choice. I had a Quesadilla. The tortilla was lightly browned. the filling plentiful and very tasty. The refried beans and rice were cooked and seasoned perfectly. My dining partner had Carne Asada which was also done perfectly. I cannot think of anything that might have been done better. A great place for a filling meal with just the right amount of spice .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palmer_AlaskaSlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Meal, Clean Room, Fast Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Chapala staff bring crispy hot corn tortillas to the table along with the menu, very clean room, nice selection for meat eaters and vegetarians. Have always enjoyed the fast service during lunch break and in the evening with children waiting for dinner, thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in Eureka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stopped into Chapala Cafe on a daytrip to Eureka. Very fresh ingredients, and excellent service. The restaurant itself is a bit dated on the inside, but the salsa, salads, and enchiladas were wonderful. Definitely the best place we ate while in Eureka.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timothyn314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've lived in Humboldt for over 20 years and Chapala's is one of our 2 favorite Mexican restaurants (Rita's is the other.)

Chapala's is FAST during lunch on a weekday for the working crowd, and their service is very cordial.

My favorite is the Carne Asada burrito

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EurekaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good - not fabulous - but, pretty decent Mexican food for Eureka. The service was friendly and equally good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cinnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapala Cafe also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Chapala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing