We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay in Northern California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle House Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay in Northern California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

My family and I spent a week at the Eagle House Inn in Eureka for a family get together. The host was able to accommodate all 11 of us perfectly. We had three young children and one teenager in our crowd and all of us felt right at home. Beti was very helpful in showing us around and filling us in on the many things to do in and around Eureka. There were many restaurants and shops within walking distance. It was a wonderful stay and I highly recommend the Eagle House if you are planning on visiting Northern California. The experience was way beyond a normal hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    77
    44
    16
    23
See reviews for
46
121
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Pros- inexpensive, we paid about $105 for a room that sleeps 3, beautiful building.

Cons- hotel smells stale and needs a good cleaning. Room doors do not lock securely. Turning off ceiling light required climbing on top of a bunk bed to reach the switch. No maid service (or they forgot our room). Breakfast is served from 7:00 to 9:00 - by 8:00 they were out of food and did not replenish by 8:30. No major loss - Costco muffins, weak coffee, and carton of orange juice. Each room has a free standing space heater which makes me nervous. I was concerned they might be a fire hazard if the guests did not handle them properly. We had an interior room with no windows, in case of fire that room could have been difficult to evacuate.

When we checked out the owner came out as I was loading the car. He asked if I was checking out, I said yes. He reminded me not to forget to turn in my key. Never said thanks for coming, good-bye, etc.

If you love the building and understand the negatives you may want to give it a try. Be prepared for a bit of shabbiness. If the room is more than $100 I would say it isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaretes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleHouseInn, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Speaking as the Manager of the Eagle House Victorian Inn, let me say that myself, the owner, and staff sincerely apologize to the above guest for any and all of their concerns about not having everything to their liking during their stay with us.
Sometimes there are accidental "oops" that you can just simply justify by saying, "sorry." We'll try to not let it happen again--and, thanks for the input.
However, let me assure potential future guests that there is absolutely no need to be concerned about the safety of any of our rooms--whether it be securely locking them, heating them, or exiting them.
In any case, we do appreciate the kind words about the beauty of our building, and the reasonable rate for their family room. (Even though we do have more elegant rooms & suites that cost more---and they're worth it !)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orinda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Other than the lovely proprietess, this is one of the strangest places we've ever stayed in our worldwide travels. The building is an interesting historical artifact, and the price was right. It is located in a marginal neighborhood, and the rooms have not been updated in 20 years. There were no curtains on the windows. During our stay, there was a minor earthquake, and we both believed that the building would have difficulty withstanding a more significant one (and we are native Californians!).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kecpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleHouseInn, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Although, as the Manager of the Eagle House Victorian Inn, I was (at first glance) flattered by the kind words about me in the first sentence, as I continued reading I became increasingly shocked and dismayed to read what is, in my opinion, a misrepresentation of our guest rooms---all 24 of which certainly have curtains (or blinds) on their windows that can be closed for privacy.
And, in spite of the fact that all of our rooms are furnished with authentic antique furnishings (re-upholstered or replaced when appropriate), they have indeed "been updated in the past 20 years"--in fact, on a ongoing basis (when necessary or seasonally), the following: Carpets, wall paper, door handles, keys, bathroom fixtures, bed spreads & linens, mattresses & pillows & towels, new telephone systems, cable television & wireless internet with a secure password.
In addition, during the past two months, the tile in all of the guest rooms' private bathroom floors has been replaced, and new ceiling lights with fans have been installed in the four rooms that have skylights, but no outside windows so that the air is circulated throughout when the doors are closed.
But, our major current rennovation is the lobby ceiling (formerly dropped and low with florescent lights always unsuitable for this 1800's era building ) that has been raised several feet and inlaid with a gorgeous design of old-growth redwood detailing, enhanced by a beautiful, vintage chandelier. A lovely scenic mural has also been added, covering one lobby wall.
As far as the inn's exterior upkeep goes, it has been repainted (or touched up) several times over the past 18 years by the current owner to protect the original structure. So, we keep a constant eye on what needs taking care of, inside and out.
Now, let me address the remarks that concerned myself and the owner most. The reviewing couple "agreed" that, after experiencing a "minor" earthquake during their stay (which, incidentally, no one else in the inn apparently felt, nor reported), they "believed " that our inn's "structure would not be able to withstand a significant" earthquake.
Not only is this personal conjecture about such a serious safety matter (that could potentially scare and frighten away future guests and damage, and/or ruin, our business), but it's also simply not true.
Just a little over nine months ago, Old Town Eureka (and the Eagle House) was struck squarely with the most powerful earthquake to ever hit the area. I know, I was standing at the front desk checking in some guests around 4:00 in the afternoon when it happened.
After two, seperate shock waves hit and the shaking stopped (and the few people in the building at the time had stepped immediately outside into the back parking lot), this was the result.
Other than having the electricity go out, tilting some pictures on the walls, and scattering book, knick-knacks, a couple of lamps and t.v. sets (unbroken) onto the floors throughout the building, that was it. And thankfully, no one was hit by anything or hurt in any way--in fact, some of our more "adventurous" guests still wanted to stay overnight in their rooms (which we didn't allow, just in case)
We also made arrangements to refund their money. Furthermore, after a thorough inspection of the structure and rooms over the next week, the only other damages found were a few cracks in the plaster of the back wall of the theater/ballroom that were easily repaired.
And, we're happy to say, nothing else has surfaced since then. We're just fine.
After all, the inn has been around taking care of its guests for 121 years (since 1888), and, appropriately, as the Flag Ship of Old Town, was built to last and "ride out" whatever temblors it might experience during all those years. We have faith that it will continue to do so.
In any case, we invite you to come and "see" our beautiful, historic inn for yourself, spend the night, and give us a chance to share some of our special Eagle House Victorian Inn hospitality with you. You're always wecome at the Eagle House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were walking around Eureka and asked a shopkeeper for a referral for lodging. She referred us to the Eagle House Victorian Inn. It's located at the very edge of the downtown historic district, next to some run down businesses, as mentioned in a previous review, but nothing that would put us off. We walked in to meet Bety, who gave us tour of the lobby and common areas, and then the room we would rent. She was a fountain of knowledge about the history of the inn. The inn is a real gem - full of victorian charm, and is a bit eclectic, but fascinating and beautiful. We decided to stay the night, and did not regret it. We had a wonderful stay. There was coffee and muffins in the lobby the next morning, and check out was very simple. The only negatives: the bathroom was very tiny, no hairdryer was provided, wi-fi capabilities were not possible in our room (but could be had in the common area) and there were a couple of somewhat noisy geese in a fenced lot across the way. Overall, the charm and unique features of this inn outweighed any negatives, and it's location near the shops and restaurants made it very conveninent for us to walk around the town. Finally, one of the inn's best assets was Bety, the desk clerk. She was a gracious hostess and made us feel very welcome during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and I like to keep people on their toes, so when we got married on 2 weeks notice, I thought getting it together would be a challenge. Betsi (the hotel manager) didn't bat an eye. The rooms are beautiful, each and every one is unique. Its an excellent place to stay if you get the business travel hotel blues. The affiliated caterer for our event prepared delicious food, too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Eagle House in Eureka is a great stop for rest and food after a two day ride out of Canada or a good day ride north from Frisco. The owner allows motorcycles to be parked on the inside of the hotel in the theater / ballroom once you check in. (Walked in / not driven in) Unpacking your ride is not far from the rooms and the bikes can be overlooked from the upper balconies out on the hardwood floor. Our groups four bikes looked great parked in this ballroom. No issues with securing your bike. The old inn character is everywhere in the style and period furnishings.
Ten meters from your parked bike there is Gallagher's Irish Pub Restaurant still inside Eagle House. Good variety of food, many types of draft beer in a large pint glass, and a pretty decent shooter selection. Great way to end the days ride around a table with friends, food, and beer. You can get back to your room without ever having to go outside. In the morning there is continental breakfast too carry you through to your next fuel stop.
Our rides are annual and the night stays have been good. The staff have been very helpful in our stays and the Eagle house will continue to be part of future journeys up and down the Pacific coastline.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverStarRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We came to Eureka in the late saturday evening and we got the Eagle House recommended. It`s worth a stay and Beti is really an angel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spookys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Victorian Inn

Property: Eagle House Victorian Inn
Address: 139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle House Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Eagle House Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Victorian Hotel Eureka
Eagle Hotel Victorian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing