We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Inn at 2nd & C

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at 2nd & C
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and loved the inn. We used it as a home base to explore the redwoods and it was a nice place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location in historic Eureka is excellent. We stayed in room 40 and it was nice, although the bed was quite high! Parking is free and abundant. The wifi was adequate.

Keep in mind that this is an inn and not a box hotel. There's no fitness centre, no pool, no hot breakfast, but it is full of character and is a lovely place. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevetraingeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
How very kind of this reviewer to point out so many things that they appreciated and enjoyed about their recent stay with us at the Eagle House!
And, of course, we love it when our guests not only love us---but say so (in writing) on Trip Advisor!
We want to give them our warmest thanks, and (of course) invite them to please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    78
    44
    16
    23
See reviews for
47
125
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at the Eagle House Inn for my brothers 65 birthday and had a wonderful time. We booked two very nice rooms and Beti treated us great as usual. The weather was perfect for a stroll around Old Town Eureka, and the Harbor. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Look on the website, you can view all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geonetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you, reviewer!
It's always a great pleasure to welcome our long-time guests back when they return---not only when they come to enjoy another night or two with us at their favorite inn, but to when they also bring along their family and friends with them to celebrate a special occasion.
We are truly touched and flattered when they do---and can't wait until they come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Love this place. Have stayed a few times over the years so much history and each room is different and furnished beautifully. Stayed here when I visited my brother and family this past February. Walking distance to so much, old town is great the waterfront is so beautiful. Trip to Trinidad a must.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the house, but the top floor is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We love it when we have guests who come back again and again---and are still so enchanted by all of the lovely differences of each and every antique-filled room throughout. It's true that the rich,1880's history of this iconic structure continues to abound thoughout the building, in all its Victorian glory.
And, this kind reviewer's enjoyment in being able to take in the pleasures of strolling around on the nearby waterfront is also something that obvioiously brings them back. (Being in easy driving distance to close-by scenic places is another plus.)
So, thanks so much to the reviewer (and loyal, regular guest) for sharing their fond thoughts about why they stay at the Eagle House. We invite them to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yandina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

What a delight this place is!!
Arrived late afternoon- entry via the Irish pub downstairs-and a grizzled biker type (caretaker?) showed us to our room as the owner and receptionist were MIA. We stayed in room 33 with an exquisite king bed, fireplace and bay windows. I believe there was only 3 or 4 other guests and when the owner (Mr Lee??) arrived to check us in we were thrilled by his interesting conversations and colourful personality.
We spent a majority of our night there exploring the entire inn.
On-site there is a ballroom and theatre with mezzanine level viewing and there is a distinct Overlook Hotel feeling from The Shining. We went ghost hunting but caught nothing on camera much to our disappointment. The town of eureka was a bit confronting to us coming from a country town in Australia, the homeless and drug abusers are plentiful however a stay here made us forget our surroundings and be swept up in the romance and mystery of a grand Victorian inn.
Such fun at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiechick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks so much for all of the interesting, unique and fun things that this enthusiastic reviewer took the time to point out about their stay with us at the Eagle House!
We're indeed delighted when new guests discover us-- whether they live just "around the corner" or arrive here from fascinating far-away places.
But, whoever they are, and where ever they come from, there's one one thing they can count on:
When they choose the Eagle House, we'll make sure that they have a truly special, historic Victorian inn experience here in Old Town Eureka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I live in Eureka but when my sister came to visit we decided to abandon the noise and fast pace of a house full of people and animals and spend the time in the Eagle House. Best decision I could make. We were transported back to a simpler time in the wonderful atmosphere of Old Town. Next to the bay and all of the distinct shopping opportunities of Old Town we were able to relax and concentrate on our visit. We had a fantastic meal at Gallagher's, in fact it was so good that we went back the next night and had exactly the same thing, The room was tastefully appointed in period antiques and the views of Old Town were nice. I think I will continue to use this unique little hideaway when we have guests from out of town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms can be seen online in advance of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Wow! Thank you!

Who says that you can't be appreciated by local folks ? You can--once they've discovered that they can "get away from it all" right here!

As Dorothy famously observed in "The Wizard of Oz," your heart's desire can indeed be found in "your own backyard"--and "there's no place like home."

And, we agree that the Eagle House Victorian Inn is the perfect place to bring visiting family and friends so that they (too) can have a truly memorable stay in our gorgeous, antique-filled, 126 year old (and counting) Old Town waterfront treasure.

We're right here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Eagle Victorian Inn for several days and had time not demanded we would have stayed a couple more. Beti,the manager,and her staff made us feel right at home.The hotel was several floors of beautiful rooms decorated with museum worthy antiques and a great pub downstairs for lunch and dinner.Clean,well priced and within yards of the waterfront and Old Town we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milewiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
As always, we're delighted when one of our guests points out all of the unique historic charms of our lovely old inn---and says they felt so welcome and at home that they would have stayed more days if their time had allowed.

We do try and keep our room rates as reasonable as possible so that people can not only afford us, but plan on coming back again. And, we're always pleased when our on-site, family-friendly restaurant, Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant is also mentioned as having added to our guests' enjoyment. during their time at our inn.

Of course, our scenic waterfront location here in the arts/cultural district in Old Town Eureka is another reason that guests (like this reviewer) love staying at the Eagle House---and we indeed look forward to having them return in the not-too-distant future to enjoy what we have to offer. (Make it soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great location if you do not like the big hotel chains - nice rooms - quite special.
There is no real breakfast - BUT!! The blueberry muffins were delicious and they offered orange-juice was out of the Tetra-pack (do not look very nice) - but it as not the cheap on. I prefer it like this to have almost no choice but the offered things are good - compared to other hotels which offer a wide range of crap.

Things i didn't like:
Restaurant (ok do not really belong to the hotel) is bad
WLan in the room (almost) do not exist

Room Tip: close to the elevator upper floor - there the Wlan is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Although we certainly appreciate the positive things that this reviewer how to say about us during their (business-related) stay at the Eagle House, we also wonder why they didn't write and submit their remarks to Trip Advisor much sooner.

We find it especially odd since (as was indicted in the information accompanying their review) they stayed with us last year, ten months ago in April of 2013. Why wait until now?

In any case, as the old saying goes, "better late than never." So, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.5 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 2nd & C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 2nd & C

Property: Inn at 2nd & C
Address: 139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317 (Formerly Eagle House Victorian Inn)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at 2nd & C 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at 2nd & C reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Victorian Hotel Eureka
Eagle Hotel Victorian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing