We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful piece of history”
Review of Inn at 2nd & C

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at 2nd & C
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

What a delight this place is!!
Arrived late afternoon- entry via the Irish pub downstairs-and a grizzled biker type (caretaker?) showed us to our room as the owner and receptionist were MIA. We stayed in room 33 with an exquisite king bed, fireplace and bay windows. I believe there was only 3 or 4 other guests and when the owner (Mr Lee??) arrived to check us in we were thrilled by his interesting conversations and colourful personality.
We spent a majority of our night there exploring the entire inn.
On-site there is a ballroom and theatre with mezzanine level viewing and there is a distinct Overlook Hotel feeling from The Shining. We went ghost hunting but caught nothing on camera much to our disappointment. The town of eureka was a bit confronting to us coming from a country town in Australia, the homeless and drug abusers are plentiful however a stay here made us forget our surroundings and be swept up in the romance and mystery of a grand Victorian inn.
Such fun at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiechick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks so much for all of the interesting, unique and fun things that this enthusiastic reviewer took the time to point out about their stay with us at the Eagle House!
We're indeed delighted when new guests discover us-- whether they live just "around the corner" or arrive here from fascinating far-away places.
But, whoever they are, and where ever they come from, there's one one thing they can count on:
When they choose the Eagle House, we'll make sure that they have a truly special, historic Victorian inn experience here in Old Town Eureka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

I live in Eureka but when my sister came to visit we decided to abandon the noise and fast pace of a house full of people and animals and spend the time in the Eagle House. Best decision I could make. We were transported back to a simpler time in the wonderful atmosphere of Old Town. Next to the bay and all of the distinct shopping opportunities of Old Town we were able to relax and concentrate on our visit. We had a fantastic meal at Gallagher's, in fact it was so good that we went back the next night and had exactly the same thing, The room was tastefully appointed in period antiques and the views of Old Town were nice. I think I will continue to use this unique little hideaway when we have guests from out of town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms can be seen online in advance of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Wow! Thank you!

Who says that you can't be appreciated by local folks ? You can--once they've discovered that they can "get away from it all" right here!

As Dorothy famously observed in "The Wizard of Oz," your heart's desire can indeed be found in "your own backyard"--and "there's no place like home."

And, we agree that the Eagle House Victorian Inn is the perfect place to bring visiting family and friends so that they (too) can have a truly memorable stay in our gorgeous, antique-filled, 126 year old (and counting) Old Town waterfront treasure.

We're right here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Eagle Victorian Inn for several days and had time not demanded we would have stayed a couple more. Beti,the manager,and her staff made us feel right at home.The hotel was several floors of beautiful rooms decorated with museum worthy antiques and a great pub downstairs for lunch and dinner.Clean,well priced and within yards of the waterfront and Old Town we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milewiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

As always, we're delighted when one of our guests points out all of the unique historic charms of our lovely old inn---and says they felt so welcome and at home that they would have stayed more days if their time had allowed.

We do try and keep our room rates as reasonable as possible so that people can not only afford us, but plan on coming back again. And, we're always pleased when our on-site, family-friendly restaurant, Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant is also mentioned as having added to our guests' enjoyment. during their time at our inn.

Of course, our scenic waterfront location here in the arts/cultural district in Old Town Eureka is another reason that guests (like this reviewer) love staying at the Eagle House---and we indeed look forward to having them return in the not-too-distant future to enjoy what we have to offer. (Make it soon!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great location if you do not like the big hotel chains - nice rooms - quite special.
There is no real breakfast - BUT!! The blueberry muffins were delicious and they offered orange-juice was out of the Tetra-pack (do not look very nice) - but it as not the cheap on. I prefer it like this to have almost no choice but the offered things are good - compared to other hotels which offer a wide range of crap.

Things i didn't like:
Restaurant (ok do not really belong to the hotel) is bad
WLan in the room (almost) do not exist

Room Tip: close to the elevator upper floor - there the Wlan is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Although we certainly appreciate the positive things that this reviewer how to say about us during their (business-related) stay at the Eagle House, we also wonder why they didn't write and submit their remarks to Trip Advisor much sooner.

We find it especially odd since (as was indicted in the information accompanying their review) they stayed with us last year, ten months ago in April of 2013. Why wait until now?

In any case, as the old saying goes, "better late than never." So, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This is not your average hotel. It is a charming and special place in the old town district. If you are looking for a charming Victorian experience, you've got to check this place out. Quaint, character, charm, special, cozy, warm, historical, are all good words to describe this hotel. You will want to spend time exploring all of its nooks and crannies.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lyall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Our sincere thanks to this reviewer who chose so many kind words to describe our charming (we certainly agree that it is), historic Victorian hotel in colorful, Old Town Eureka.

We're beyond delighted that they had such an enjoyable visit with us! Our inn is truly a special place; and, we invite future guests to come and explore all of the intriguing nooks and crannies that indeed abound throughout this amazing structure.

Again, may we express our gratitude to the reviewer for taking their personal time to say such nice things about us. And, we invite them to please come back and discover even more to love about our unique and beautiful inn whenever they return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a great find! The building is a historic property in old town, all rooms are lavishly appointed with Victorian furniture and each room is different but all are charming. The manager, Betty, was amazing and made us feel so welcome. The Irish pub/restaurant on the ground floor had a menu with a good variety, including Irish fare, and the service was great. This will be one of our favorite places to stay whenever we drive down to Napa from Seattle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank You!
Trip Advisor has indeed proven to be a great source for new guests to find us, tucked away as we are in our off-the-beaten-path location on Humboldt Bay in Old Town Eureka.
Therefore, we're even more delighted to be discovered by travelers like this enthusiastic reviewer---who had such an enjoyable experience when they stayed with us that they wanted to share it.
And, we're truly pleased to now be one of their favorite, regular stops during their drives up and down our beautiful North Coast of California.
The Eagle House Victorian Inn is now proudly entering its 126th year of welcoming guests with warmth and hospitality---and looks forward to many more.
Guests like this wonderful reviewer, continue to make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Eagle House Victorian Inn is located in "Old Town" Eureka. The lobby is the first experience I had when I arrived. It is very warm and inviting in period decor. The staff at the hotel are inviting and very professional.
The hotel is very interesting due to the layout of floor-plan. My room was located on the 3rd floor, which was fun due to the layout of the stairs (they have an elevator for the less adventurous).
The room was nicely decorated and quiet...more importantly, the bed was perfect. Just like home.
Overall, I love the Eagle House. It's one of a kind in a cookie cutter world of chain hotels.
It's attached to Gallaghers Irish pub if one is so inclined.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kels10ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We are always delighted when one of our appreciative business guests (either a newcomer like this kind reviewer, or a returning regular) takes the time to express just how much they enjoyed (and why) staying with us at the historic Eagle House in Old Town Eureka.

The fact that they were made to feel welcome and right at home here is exactly what we want every guest (here on business or pleasure) to experience each and every time they stay at the inn---whether it's just for one night, or for many. And, we are pleased to be able to offer our business guests special, reasonably -priced , year-round rates for extended stays (of several weeks or more).

In any case, thanks so much again to this particular business guest/reviewer for taking the time to share their personal feelings about their recent stay. We certainly look forward to their return in the near future. When they do, we'll continue to try and live up to their wonderful, flattering description of our unique, charming inn. And that's a promise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 2nd & C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 2nd & C

Address: 139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317 (Formerly Eagle House Victorian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: $164 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at 2nd & C 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at 2nd & C reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Victorian Hotel Eureka
Eagle Hotel Victorian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing