We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at 2nd & C
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eureka Inn(Eureka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Eureka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Inn(Eureka)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
142
87
46
18
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
87
46
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagle houseirish pubfourth floorold town eurekavictorian furnitureball roomsitting roomperiod piecescontinental breakfaststep back in timeunique experiencehistoric hotelchain hotelsspacious roomlost coasthumboldt countyroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 317 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent four fabulous nights at the Eagle House.

Was in town for a business trip; Beti, the manager, took my reservation and when our number of people doubled at the last minute, she was extremely kind and accommodating without charging us much more.

Eureka is chilly in December, and though we arrived several hours earlier than we told them, our room's heater had been on for several hours and was nice and toasty!

The Inn's wireless internet, which was important to us, was easily accessible and fast.

Every part of this beautiful Inn has been hand crafted by local craftspeople - the charm and history is palpable.

Beti, the manager, will take care of you and ensure the best possible visit. If you have any concerns, she'll see to it.

Gallagher's, a fantastic Irish restaurant and pub, is attached to the building, and served wonderful food. Thursday is Irish night. Try the Corned Beef and also the Fish & Chips! Since the restaurant is attached, you can have a couple of drinks and just walk right into bed as if it was your own house.

I cannot recommend this spot more highly - it's a home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenP596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

The warm, wonderful words shared by this reviewer about the many things they were impressed with about our inn, makes us both proud and humble. We especially appreciate being described as "A Home Away From Home," because that's exactly how we want all of our guests to feel when they stay at the Eagle House---right "at home."

Thank you, thank you, thank you for saying so---and, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Eagle House on a road trip and was pleasantly surprised. Nice old hotel with very cool room and wonderful, I mean wonderful service!!! I am keeping the rating at average for the price and the fact that because the hotel is old (lets call it vintage), the floors and walls are somewhat so thin that you can be kept up at night from any of your neighbors very easily. Great little pub attached (unfortunately closes down a tad bit early for a Thursday......couldnt get a bucket of ice after 9:45pm). The rooms are really nice and the bed is fit for a king and queen. But the price was a bit steep and yes the walls and floors are very thin.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

We certainly do appreciate all of the nice things the reviewer had to say about their "very cool room," with a bed "fit for a king or queen," and our "wonderful service!"

We'd also thank them for mentioning our attached "great little pub," Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant, who kindly supplies ice for our guests whenever they can (depending on their nightly hours of operation).

And, although our "vintage" (in fact, 125 years old this January) hotel does have several rooms with "thiner" walls and floors than this guest preferred, it all (quite honestly) depends on which particular room they stayed in. The building does rample about, and each room is completely different---and some are indeed "quieter" than others, depending on their location.

As far as our rates being "a bit steep" for our "very nice rooms," as far as we know, we're extremely reasonable for what we offer (historic ambiance, waterfront location, and all the amenities).

In any case, we always do our best to make a stay at the Eagle House both affordable--and enjoyable--for everyone. And, we do hope the reviewer will return so that we can offer them another beautiful room (a quieter one) at our very best, most reasonable rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You have to stay here to experiance the old victorin inn and the rooms are great. Pay the extra and book a room on the top floor (we stayed in the Library suite) you will not be disappointed. We only stayed one night but would have been nice to stay longer to fully enjoy the room. Plenty of places to eat and drink but you dont need to go out as the bar and restaurant is excellent, various good beers. Nice friendy staff.

Room Tip: Top floor is best
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonyRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you!

We always find it extremely gratifying to have our guests express their experience at the Eagle House in such kind and flattering words on Trip Advisor.

This reviewer's praise (and specific suggestions about choosing one of our beautiful guest rooms)--as well as their obvious enjoyment of our on-site restaurant, Gallagher's--is more than much appreciated.

We promise we'll do our best to ensure them of another "very nice" time at our decidedly "different," uniquely beautiful inn when they return again---and can stay more than just one night. And, we invite them to please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very unique. The manager was extremely helpful and polite and generally like your favorite aunt. There were some guys traveling on motorcycles and she had them pull into the actual ballroom to park overnight so nothing could happen to their bikes! I was impressed despite it being a little weird to walk past. The antiques are wonderful. The owner was this strange and possibly mute man who seemed to glare at us all the time but, since he didn't actually interact with us, it was no big deal.

We were only there one night and stayed in the Wheelhouse room which is at the top in the front and has a really neat layout. It allowed us a kind of suite where my daughter to close the curtains and go to bed while we stayed up for a bit. Tiny TV. Don't expect high tech. And we had to duck to get to the bathroom but only my husband at 6'2" really minded! A great view.

Ate dinner that night at the Irish restaurant at ground level and was not impressed with the service or the food. Very bland and more on the shabby side than chic.

The town itself was fantastic with these unique shops all over. A ton of local artisans and one-of-a-kind restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

May we respond with an equally "wow - in a good way" to this reviewer's overall, obviously
positive experience while staying with us at the Eagle House!

Their room (which they described so well) is certainly one of our most unique. However, since each of our 24 rooms is completely different, so are the "sizes" of each television set---and folks over six feet tall definitely won't have to "duck" to enter the other 23 private bathrooms. (You can check them all out on the hotel tour link on our website and see for yourself.)

By the way, our staff does find the description of our owner as "possibly mute" to be really funny since he is far from being so when it comes to "expressing" himself around us. And, although he might have appeared to be "glaring" silently, he's just not the "smiling" type. Luckily, I am. So, hopefully it balances out with our guests. We do love having you.

In any case, we sincerely appreciate all of the reviewer's kind comments about so many things they enjoyed during their brief stay---and for pointing out what else our "fantastic" waterfront, cultural district here in Old Town Eureka has to offer.(We hope they come back soon.)

We're also really delighted that they took so many personal photos during the brief time they spent with us, and shared them with their wonderful review. Pictures can indeed sometimes speak louder than words about the beautiful Eagle House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Came with my husband on business. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel has a small staff: owner, manager and housekeeper. All three were gracious and went out of their way to please me. I requested a large window so I could sew during the day while my husband worked and had a big picture window looking out on the bay (Room 40). I didn't get as much sewing done as usual because I kept getting distracted by the view. I especially enjoyed watching the pelicans and fishing boats come and go. I asked for a small refrigerator so my husband could pick up lunch food on his way home from work, and even though they aren't standard, the manager found us one right away. The continental breakfast is light, fresh muffins, juice and coffee, but I'd rather have a light meal than higher rent and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance if that's not enough. The room was quiet at night. The bar across the street wasn't rowdy and the night there was live music on the waterfront, they shut down well before bedtime. We were given a rate that was within our per diem allowance and when we extended our stay the owner further reduced the rate. The housekeeper was friendly and efficient. She did no more (nor less!) than I asked each day. I loved being able to walk to all the different shops, restaurants and theatre and stroll on the waterfront boardwalk (wished it were longer).

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. I got to take a midweek tour one day. Describe what you would like, look at the website and the manager will do her best to put you in a room perfectly suited to your needs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorPasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Inn at 2nd & C, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you!
In addition to having the pleasure of their company during the 9 days that the reviewer stayed with us at the Eagle House, we are now delighted to have them share all of the reasons that they, too, obviously enjoyed the experience!

We especially appreciate it when a guest (such as this kind reviewer) who stays at our inn for a number of days (whether it be for business or just for fun), takes the time to praise the daily efforts of care and consideration on the part of our small-but-dedicated-to-their-comfort staff.

Meeting the requirements of each different, individual guest is always very important to us---from their first contact (by email or phone), we make sure we choose, and reserve, the "perfect" room to suit their specific tastes and needs. And, after they arrive and check-in, we follow through to the best of our ability to make their stay (whether it be for a night, or more) a truly enjoyable one.

Thanks again to this generous reviewer for giving such a glowing "thumbs up" to the Eagle House! It really means a lot to us, because we consider each of our guests as "special," so what we do is always "personal."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews