We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, Beautiful, Friendly Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle House Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Enumclaw, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique, Beautiful, Friendly Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My Mom & I took a road trip this month and stayed at Eagle House. I researched places in Eureka and saw this on Trip Advisor. I emailed the Hotel with questions concerning separate beds. Then things got crazy busy right up to the day we left. Unfortunately I didn't get to check my email until we were already on the road. When I did, I found an immediate response had been sent from Beti. I sent a response the first chance I got, and was relieved to be told "not to worry." In other words... when we arrived Late and Tired, with No Secured Reservation... We were greeted by Beti with a smile, a hug AND a room! We were treated like good friends even though we were meeting for the 1st time. She escorted us to our room, checked to make sure we had all we needed, told us the times for breakfast the next morning, explained our two keys and what they were for. She told us she had left our room open for a 2nd night "just in case" we wanted to stay longer. We took her up on it! Our room was clean, cozy and comfortable. The beds were great and we slept well. We love the history of the Eagle House. The antiques are beautiful. It's cool thinking about what the people were like that stayed in our very room 127 years ago. Beti had a few minutes open one evening and visited with my Mom, which my Mom thoughouly enjoyed. We had a nice conversation with Mr Lee the morning we left and found him friendly and charming. We would stay at Eagle House again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliBjurstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
What a kind and generous review. On behalf of our staff at the Eagle House, we want thank the reviewer so much for taking time to say so very many nice things about us.

It was our pleasure, in every way, to make sure that they were well taken care of before, and during, their stay.

We do feel it's especially important when our guests are women (either traveling alone, or with another woman), that they know that we're always concerned about their personal safety and well-being---both on their way, and after they arrive.

Again, we want to thank them for using such wonderful, supportive words to describe their "Unique, Beautiful and Friendly Stay" at the Eagle House. (And come back soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    77
    44
    16
    23
See reviews for
46
121
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I are on a road trip and came across this great, cozy, hotel. I was a little concerned because of recent reviews, but am glad that any issues (such as cleanliness) have since been addressed. It's a great spot for those on a budget and appreciate how warm, friendly, and helpful the hotel staff have been.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexb128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks, and thanks again, to this gracious reviewer for staying with us (in spite of some specific issues that we have certainly addressed)---and deciding for themselves that the Eagle House could be described (in their words) as "a great, cozy/comfy hotel."

We have definitely taken steps to improve the consistency (and end results) of our housekeeping's cleaning of both the inn itself, and every single guest room. (Thanks for noticing, and pointing that out.)

We do try and offer reasonable rates (year-round), in order.to be "a great spot for those on a budget;" and further appreciate-their-appreciative words about how "warm, friendly and helpful" our hotel staff was during their stay.
That's just who we are and what we do---because every guest is aways a "special" guest to us at the Eagle House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My fiance' and I got in late from a very long and tiring road trip and it was nice to be greeted by a lovely front desk clerk. We had gotten there just before her shift was over but she made sure we were settled in and comfortable before she left. I would have given a higher rating for this place if not for the high rate to stay for just one night and even that would not have bothered me as much as the lack of cleanliness in our room, especially the bathroom. There was mold and mildew on the shower curtain and the bathtub itself looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. I have to say that this charming Inn that's full of history was worth staying for that one night but thats all. If only this hotel was cleaner I would have loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Good grief! Not again!
It's certainly after-the-fact to apologize to this exceptionally kind-in-spite-of-it-all reviewer, but we do.

And we want to assure both them (and another recent guest who experienced the same problem obviously during the same time period), that we are now in the process of completely replacing our housekeeping staff for their inexcusable lack of maintaining the overall cleanliness of every guest room in our building.

We thank the reviewer, so much, for their input on this matter---including their gracious praise for both our staff member and the inn itself. However, bottomline, we take full responsibility for making sure that we correct what needs correcting. We'll try harder to be not just the place a guest "wanted to love," but the place they "loved."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a really cool old hotel with a ton of history. Not your typical cookie cutter chain. Beds were really comfortable, rooms were great,, you can see them on their website.
The problem was the cleanliness of it. The hotel itself is really musty smelling due to water leaking thru the roof prior to it's restoration. When we checked into our room, the sink still had toothpaste in it from the previous guest and the sink taps were filthy. Our shower curtain had black mold on the inside of it. I unwrapped a drinking glass from the paper wrapper and I could see lip marks and water stains from the previous user. The 'clean' coffee cup that I took at breakfast had dried coffee in the bottom.
All this is really too bad because it is preventable. The hotel itself would be fantastic with good housekeeping and diligence.

Room Tip: The Hope Mission is across the street and is very loud all night. If you can get a room on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
First of all, we'd like to sincerely thank the reviewer for listing the positive aspects of our inn before, and during, their stay.

And, on the other hand, we want to sincerely apologize for the absolutely unforgivable lapses in cleanliness on the part of our housekeeping staff.

We're truly taken aback (and totally embarassed) by the things that were pointed out---and will take steps immediately to follow up, and follow through, on making sure that such completely unacceptable lapses never happen again.

We agree, as they so plainly stated, that this was "really too bad, because it is preventable." And prevent it we will, to the best of our ability.

However, one thing we must point out to clarify the situation of the mission that sits across the street from a few of our rooms on one side of the building. There cannot be "noise coming from there all night" because the folks who stay there have very strict curfews for both being inside, and staying there, from early evening until the next morning.

So, any noise that comes from that side of the building during the night, comes from people on the street, not staying at the mission.

We do keep in touch daily with the local police in the area who patrol around our area, (throughout the night and into the early morning times), to keep such unwanted disturbances of our guests to a minimum. But, it's a public steet, and we can't always guarantee complete silence.

We just do the best we can. And, guests can certainly request, in advance, to have rooms elsewhere, if they are concerned that their rest might be interrupted by this possibility.

In any case, again, we appreciate the reviewer's truthful input, and will indeed try (in future) to live up to their observation that our "hotel itself would be fantastic" with "due diligence" on our part. Hopefully, that goal is possible, because the Eagle House deserves it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have been staying regularly at the Eagle House for the past 7 years or so for my business trips. I have witnessed a steady improvement of the facility during this time. The appearance of the interior of the building is becoming better (especially lobby area). Also, the restaurant in the building (Gallaghers) is offering tasty food at reasonable prices. Furthermore, the neighborhood, which has not always been the most attractive, is improving, as water front development takes place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks so much to the reviewer for being a loyal, regular business guest who continues to return and stay with us.

And thanks, as well, for specifically acknowledging how we have carefully, steadily up-graded various areas of the inn to further enhance its existing historic elegance---a labor-of-love that's always a work-in-progress.

And, our on-site restaurant/bar, Gallagher's (fondly referred to as the local "Cheers"), has also followed our lead in constantly striving to improve what they have to offer everyone who walks in their doors.

In addition (as the reviewer pointed out), kudos are deserved by those who have been instrumental in the revitalization of the near-by waterfront/boardwalk development on the bay. This is what has helped our surrounding neighborhood to evolve into a more vital (and attractive) part of Old Town Eureka. Thanks for noticing and giving credit where credit is certainly due.

To wrap up our grateful response, please keep on coming back (as our business guest) for at least the next seven years. We promise to keep on making you glad you did.

increasing focus by travelers as a unique visitor attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn after finding it on the Internet. When the owner saw we had a cooler, he asked if we needed ice. We said yes, so he actually filled the cooler for us so we could have cold drinks in our room. How often does this happen??? I've never seen a hotel owner do this before.
The room we had, (44), was absolutely charming. No, there wasn't a hair dryer, but I know that if I needed one, I could have gotten it from the front desk. (People who do a lot of travelling know these things.) Our room was super clean and we heard no noise from outside the building even with our windows open.
The reviews by some of the people on this website really bother me. This is a well preserved inn with a lot of charm, so if people want a place to stay that is just like the rest, they should go to the Holiday Inn or Motel 6 where you're just another customer and not a welcomed guest.
If you truly appreciate antiques and country charm, Eagle House Vicorian Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59bikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for pointing out the consideration of our owner (above and beyond the usual)upon your arrival at our inn.

And, yes. Upon request, every member of our small staff is always more than happy to personally bring (to your guest room) any particular item (such as a hair dryer) that you might require to make your stay more comfortable.

That would include an ice bucket (for chilling wine) filled with ice from our on-site restaurant/bar (and wine glasses as well); an iron, and ironing board; an alarm clock; a small fan (if you prefer to have some additional air circulating in your room--especially if it's one of our few inside rooms); and extra towels, soap, shampoo (or whatever else you might need) to add to what is already routinely placed there for your convenience.

We'd also like to thank you for your kind comments about the cleanliness of your particular room (that looks out over the roof at the near-by bay), and the lack of noise coming through your open windows.

The Eagle House is definitely not like "the rest," but a special, unique " well-preserved (historic) inn" that's (hopefully) "the place to stay" for people who "truly appreciate antiques and country charm." And, we promise (to echo your kind words), that everyone who stays at the Eagle House will never "be treated as just another customer," but always as " a welcomed guest."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was so pleased that we could get reservations to stay at the Eagle this coming weekend, August 17, 18 and 19. We have looked forward to staying there again and were afraid they were sold out because of the Humboldt County Fair and racemeet in Ferndale. Having recently returned from a Motor Trip from Oregon through Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada and Colorado back through Utah to California and home to Oregon, we have stayed in many motels and hotels along the way. The Eagle is definitely high on our list of places to stop. If you don't know much about Eureka and the Northern California Coast, take the time to learn. If you don't care about the places you travel through by all means stop at prissy motels that smell like disinfectant and urinal blocks. The Eagle is clean, the rooms are wonderful, and the owner and staff are real people, not corporate junkies. The common rooms areas and rooms are furnished with beautiful Victorian antiques, but the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean. Prices are more than reasonable, location off the highway but close to amenities.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We can't thank the reviewer enough for all of the kind, positive things they said about both our beautiful venue and hard-working staff---and for sharing exactly why they keep returning, again and again, to stay with us at the Eagle House.
The wonderful words of support and encouragement so clearly expressed by this loyal, supportive guest, make us feel that who we are (and what we do) has been generously acknowledged, appreciated and made worthwhile.
And, we promise to do our best (whenever they stay with us) to continue to make them glad they've chosen to keep coming back to the Eagle House," again and again."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Victorian Inn

Property: Eagle House Victorian Inn
Address: 139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle House Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Eagle House Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Victorian Hotel Eureka
Eagle Hotel Victorian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing