We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town House Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I have stayed at the Town House many times over the last 6 years. I have never had a bad experience. The owners and staff are very friendly and they keep their facility clean. The rooms include a mini refridg, a microwave and coffee maker. The attached, covered parking is convenient. The location is great. You are blocks from the Bay and a nice park for walking. There is a restaurant and mini mart on the same block.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

We appreciate your review Kerry S. It's always great to hear when our customers enjoyed their stay and were able to easily navigate through historic old town and enjoy the excellent scenery of Humboldt Bay. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

-T.H.M., your exclusive bridge to historic old town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nothing too special, but reasonably priced for overpriced Eureka, and reasonably pleasant. I've had good interactions with the staff on a couple occasions, and in general it's a clean, quiet and adequate kind of place. Just what you'd hope for from a little motel in a little town.

Bonus: the steakhouse downstairs (unaffiliated with the motel) is surprisingly good and inexpensive.

Other bonus: Right across from the (disturbingly large) police station. Maybe that makes it safer?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zebulon_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments Zebulon_W. We are particularly happy that you took advantage of our central location and enjoyed the steakhouse which is conveniently attached to the motel. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

-T.H.M., your exclusive bridge to historic old town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We've tried several motels in Eureka, and this is the first one I'd go back to. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean. They have also put a lot of effort into security and have a private parking area that is video monitored. My only downgrade is the fact that there are definitely some areas that could use upgrading, like the bedroom door in our suite that did not latch and rickety towel bars and fixtures. Overall, a good value in this town!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank oregonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you oregonroses for your review. We appreciate your comments and will continue to improve our property to gain that last star on your rating! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Over priced property - almost felt like a motel in the 70s. Everything about this place is old. There was no air conditioning. There was a fan in the room that had not been cleaned in years. The bathroom was clean but old. There is no elevator. Parking was a challenge. If you check in late, you will have to find parking elsewhere, because parking is limited. The neighborhood is slightly sketchy, with homeless bums around. Pay a little more and stay further up the street on 101 south.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Westernmasstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you Westernmasstraveler for your review. We are sorry that you felt our property was worn out. We assure you that we do not overcharge our customers and our rates are quite in line with the laws of supply, demand, and quality of product. As far as you stating our property felt like it was from the 1970's, we have completely failed because our property is actually from the 1950's and has amazing architecture which many of our customers come back for. Thanks for your input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Over priced older property that is far past it's prime. The bathroom was clean and that's the nicest thing we can say. Carpet was old and stained. Bed was not comfortable-- not close. Parking is a challenge. Bums around. We should have paid $30 more and got a nicer place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you sndovale for your review. We are sorry that we were unable to meet your standards and wish that you would have brought the issues to our attention while lodging with us. We assure you that we professionally steam our carpets and are replaced on a regular basis. We hope that we will be able to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

From the very time we arrived,we could tell this place was taken care of. The parking area was very clean and well maintained. The gentleman at the front desk, who I assumed was the owner, was a superb host. After a quick check in, he offered us maps, info anything we might need to make our visit to Eureka a pleasant one. Because we were concerned about our camping gear in the back of our truck, he made sure we had a nice secure area to park. Not once but 3 times because we left a couple times to go do things. The complex is under constant camera surveillance, which is welcome because there seems to be a lot of undesirables in this part of town. However inside this Motel you get a very good sense of feeling safe.

As you enter the rooms, you know they are clean. You can smell it. They smell clean and sanitary. Every thing is well taken care of and seems to have been recently renovated. Flat screen t.v., fridge, coffee maker and Microwave are standard. We will most definately stay here again if ever we find ourselves in Eureka, California again.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any downstairs rooms but ours was upstairs. There is no elevator so if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Thank you Bear C for your amazing review. We are so happy that you appreciate our housekeepers efforts of trying to keep our property as clean as possible. We hope that we will be able to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 nights at the Town House Motel based on Trip Advisor reviews. What a disappointment? I will say the room was clean, especially the bathroom, and the front desk people were friendly and helpful. BUT...the place is sadly in need of updating and renovations, and the location is sketchy at best. The county jail is right across the street, and the neighborhood "locals" seem to be homeless people and hookers. A sign at the Town House does say 24 hr. camera surveillance, buy who knows? Our 9 & 12 yr old grandsons were a little freaked out by the location. We were not happy with the location or the motel's overall condition.. :(

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gr8GatorGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

We always appreciate constructive criticism Gr8GatorGirl67, but I would like to address your comments. First, IT IS TRUE that our property is under 24 hour surveillance and our monitor which has the feed from our cameras is in plain sight when you checked into the lobby. I'm sorry that you did not see them. Second, our property is located in a very central location to the tourist hot spots and from what I recall, you were quite happy with being able to walk to Historic Old Town, enjoy the Lost Coast Brewery, as well as easily drive to the beach with your grandchildren. You had stated that the neighborhood locals were "hookers" and "homeless people". Our neighborhood locals are actually owners of world famous mansions, hotels and historic properties all of which you will find on tripadvisor, and rated quite highly.

The property is located in Downtown Eureka and we cannot control the people that breathe in the vicinity of the property, however, I imagine that if you TRULY did see a "hooker" as you put it, they were not on our property and would not engage in casual conversation with you or anyone else unless you wished to solicit their "services". Point being, we do not tolerate that type of activity as you seemed to insinuate. As far as the homeless person you saw, I'm sorry that a person having no shelter for 3 days in Eureka as you did caused you an inconvenience. I will be sure to inform them of your displeasure as they walk by trying to arrange if they will be eating that evening or not.

Lastly, I am SO sorry that the conditions were so horrible that you chose to stay with us for THREE consecutive days. We would have gladly allowed you to leave if we were aware of your true feelings of the property. However, you never expressed any negative feelings during your stay and left with a smile so it is very surprising to read these comments.

We hope that you will be able to find a property that meets your standards next time. We truly try our best to make everyone happy and if there is something within reason that we can change, we would gladly like to hear your comments first hand. Please call us to discuss! THANK YOU!

-"T.H.M., your exclusive bridge to historic old town."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#3 of 21 in Eureka
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel - Historic Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel - Historic Old Town

Address: 933 4th Street, Corner of 4th and K Street, Eureka, CA 95501-0517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eureka
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: $77 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel - Historic Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House Motel is located near historic Old Town and Downtown, and is close to City Hall, the Courthouse, Waterfront Park, and restaurants. All rooms have free in room coffee, remote color TV, HBO, microwaves and refrigerators and free in room high speed internet access. Most rooms have shower only and are on the second floor. (We do not have an elevator.) We have single guest rooms, as well as two bedroom suites.Travelers come to the California North Coast for many reasons. For some it is the majestic redwoods, for other it is a glimpse of the Victorian seaport City of Eureka, still others for the rich cultural and historic character of the area. Whatever it is that may draw you here, the Eureka Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center staff is standing by to answer your questions and assure that your journey to the North Coast is just what you want it to be. Eureka! You've discovered Humboldt County, home of the world's tallest trees and more than 100 miles of stunning Northern California coast. In addition to the giant redwoods, you'll find outdoor adventures like hiking, kayaking, birdwatching, biking and scenic drives. Here too are historic small towns, the arts and surprising food and wine discoveries. And of course, Redwood National Park and the Avenue of the Giants. Public transportation is available by the motel. You can visit the Eureka Transit website for bus schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Town House Motel - Historic Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing