We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Town House Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great rooms and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stopped in Eureka before heading into the Redwood Natl. Forrest for some camping. We arrived late at night and the super friendly gentlemen working the desk set us right up. He also gave us maps and some quick tips on our drive to the campgrounds. We took up some of his tips and checked out a valley with Elk and drove through a tree just off the highway. The rooms were really clean, roomy and comfortable. Location was excellent however Eureka has no shortage of burnouts roaming around. Not the motel's fault!

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We appreciate your review Jon O. It always is a pleasure to hear when customers take our advice on local sites to see and enjoy themselves. We have been in the area for over 35 years so are definitely able to guide our customers in the right direction. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    72
    58
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
91
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the Townhouse on 5/14 after reading all the fantastic reviews on TripAdvisor. We were very happy with our stay. This hotel definitely shows pride in ownership and has a family atmosphere that you cannot find these days at the big chain hotels. The location was perfect in town and easily accessible to the entire Eureka area. We will definitely be staying again as our daughter attends Humboldt State and still has 3 years to go before she graduates!!!! Thank you Townhouse for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Next time we are going to try the 2 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are incredibly happy that you enjoyed your stay Susan V. We are glad that you found a family like atmosphere that you are unable to find at the larger chain hotels/motels. It is our mission to keep this type of experience alive from the yesteryears. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, I booked the Town House Motel for an overnight stay on a recent motorcycle ride. Although not billed as "motorcycle friendly", we found the staff to be most helpful and accommodating. The gentleman at the front desk advised us where to park the motorcycles to afford the most secure parking (not so much secure, but monitored by the staff) and brought up to the room some clean old towels for wiping down our motorcycles. While not in the most desirable location, I believe it is the only motel in Eureka with covered parking which keeps the overnight moisture from settling on the motorcycles. While the motel is old, the property is well maintained and the room was clean and comfortable. A word of advice is to not leave anything unsecured on your motorcycle (jackets, clothing, helmets, etc.) as there is a large population of people without a regular dwelling that reside in the community. This advice would be applicable at any overnight accommodations in the Eureka area, not just this property. Following the staff's recommendations, I felt comfortable parking in the garage overnight. I just booked again for an overnight stay in a couple of weeks. If your looking for luxury, a pool and hot tub, this place is not for you. If you are looking for value, cleanliness and good nights stay while passing through Eureka on a motorcycle (or passenger vehicle), I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RumblingCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks J D for your review. We definitely are a highly desired lodging facility due to our covered parking for motorcycle/passenger vehicles. Our customers enjoy the added security so they can sleep well knowing their vehicles are safe. We are happy that you will be joining us again in a few weeks. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here after a 15 hour drive. We had two young children ages 2 & 3 and couldn't have been happier with the room. It was super clean and the shower made us feel like royalty. The gentleman at the front desk was very kind and attentive to our check in process. He also directed us to sites to see within the area as well as made our family feel right at home. He held a very sweet conversation with the children. The only draw back was someone banging on our door at about 7pm repeatedly. The location and price were right for what we were doing. Will stay there again if ever we dare that long drive again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
The truth is April P, you ARE family. We take pride in making everybody feel just at home when they are visiting us. We are incredibly happy that we succeeded in that goal and truly hope that you will make that long drive once again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a bit of a late review. Me and my girlfriend stayed here last summer while traveling up to Oregon. What really stood out was the fantastically friendly owners. We needed to get to Cresent City to catch a bus to get to Eugene. There is a bus from Eureka but we missed the last one that week. The owner drove us up to Cresent City and what's more on the way stopped to show is the redwood forests. If there where more people like these guys then the world would be a better place. The motel itself is very clean and very reasonably priced- what more can you ask for! I will return to Eureka someday and there will only be one place that I stay, and that place is the townhouse.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Wow Alasdair N! Although the review is late, we still greatly appreciate it. We are more than happy to assist our customers where we can. We hope that we will be able to host you again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I stayed at the townhouse on April 26th. I'll be honest, we had some significant apprehensions as we drove close to the motel. Clearly, it is not in the best area of town; however, it was exactly as the other reviews reported. The management at the motel was awesome. He offered extremely helpful information regarding the town, places to see and also gave some good information on the redwood forest.

Although there was no breakfast, the hotel rate was so low that we could not go wrong. Usually, you get what you pay for. However, in this case, I believe we truly got more than we paid for. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. Yes, it was dated, however everything we needed was present.

The Wi-Fi was free and indeed strong and reliable; it was refreshing after having stayed at more expensive hotels in Southern California where the band width was so low I could barely communicate with my family back in Canada through Skype.

When we first pulled up to the motel my elderly mother had significant apprehension about leaving her vehicle in the parking lot. We had a cargo bag with belongings on top of the roof that was not locked. The motel manager indicated that we should be careful with it. After reading the previous reviews, we decided that it was simply not worth it to unload everything and take it up to the room. We placed reliance on the security cameras all over the parking lot, and the fact that the jail was right across the street with numerous police cars parked at all hours of the night. When we woke in the morning, everything was just fine.

I would not hesitate to recommend this motel. Yes, it is not the Ritz Hotel, however you are also not paying Ritz rates. If you are looking for a truly inexpensive place to stay that is clean, comfortable, and safe, this would be the place.

You can look forward to saving $60 that could be used for other activities in the area.

We were not disappointed.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you Mark H for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and looked beyond the "dated" appearance (We like to define it as "classic"). Our prime location actually is a tourist hot spot despite what others may feel and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities that went above and beyond what you paid. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I am happy to have stayed at the Eureka Town House Motel now on four occasions. First on July 15th, a Monday night. Then again July 19 & 20, 2013 (Friday & Saturday). Then again this year (2014) on Thursday, April 17 and again on Sunday, April 20. On all occasions the accommodations were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful, providing useful information about the town & surrounding area.

Each time I rode a 2007 BMW Adventure bike, parked it in the well-lighted, covered parking [with abundant security cameras] and had no problems. There were several other customer motorcycles similarly parked on each occasion, and they also had no problems.

Unfortunately (and inaccurately) a local convenience store attendant and a local sheriff who was in the store at the time, both expressed negatively regarding possible theft or crime resulting from the local population of homeless people and drug-addicts who are present in the Eureka area. This was reported to me on my 2013 visits, but the reports have proved to be false. The fact is that the motel owners live on the site and are keenly aware of all that transpires on their property, taking every precaution to eliminate potential crimes. Moreover, the motel is directly across the street from the local sheriff's office and there are regular patrol cars frequenting the immediate area at all hours of the day & night. I feel totally safe when walking in the area of the motel.

While I would recommend being alert and cautious when traveling in the Eureka area [good advice when traveling in any unfamiliar environment], I have now stayed at Eureka's Town House Motel on four separate occasions and never had any problems. I will stay there again when in the area. The owners/operators of the motel are exceptionally helpful & friendly. Their pricing is very reasonable, accommodations are clean, and location is easy walking distance from a convenience store and a couple of acceptable restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your review was incredible Jose C! Thanks so much for taking the time out of your day to give our future potential guests an idea of the type of family friendly service we provide. It is guests like you that we strive to achieve excellence for, and we are glad that you acknowledged it! Safety is one of our top priorities so I'm glad we met your standards with the security of your premium BMW bike. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.5 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel

Property: Town House Motel
Address: 933 4th St, Corner of 4th and K Street, Eureka, CA 95501-0517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eureka
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House Motel is located near historic Old Town and Downtown, and is close to City Hall, the Courthouse, Waterfront Park, and restaurants. All rooms have free in room coffee, remote color TV, HBO, microwaves and refrigerators and free in room high speed internet access. Most rooms have shower only and are on the second floor. (We do not have an elevator.) We have single guest rooms, as well as two bedroom suites.Travelers come to the California North Coast for many reasons. For some it is the majestic redwoods, for other it is a glimpse of the Victorian seaport City of Eureka, still others for the rich cultural and historic character of the area. Whatever it is that may draw you here, the Eureka Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center staff is standing by to answer your questions and assure that your journey to the North Coast is just what you want it to be. Eureka! You've discovered Humboldt County, home of the world's tallest trees and more than 100 miles of stunning Northern California coast. In addition to the giant redwoods, you'll find outdoor adventures like hiking, kayaking, birdwatching, biking and scenic drives. Here too are historic small towns, the arts and surprising food and wine discoveries. And of course, Redwood National Park and the Avenue of the Giants. Public transportation is available by the motel. You can visit the Eureka Transit website for bus schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Town House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing