We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Excellent Service, Nice Room, Great Management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed at this motel for 14 days and found it to be clean, well managed and safe. The owner/manager is on site and the property is well lit with security cameras and secure parking is available in an onsite parking garage. The manager was always available, courteous and concerned that my needs were met. All in all, a nice, clean, pleasant environment with super courteous personnel. I'd definitely stay there again. The location is good for walking downtown and close to historic buildings and victorian homes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JESIKAMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you JESIKAMAY for your review. We are happy that you found our customer service to be of a high level of standard and look forward to seeing you again for an even longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 238 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Motels like this, in my opinion, is what Tripadvisor is all about. I never would have picked it, if it weren't TA rated #3. Really quiet and well appointed. Definitely not super modern or anything, but I needed a bed that night and some quiet and that's what I got. My only complaint was that I had a guaranteed reservation and I told the person I made the rez with that I may be checking in late. When I got there at 11pm, the gentleman at the desk apologized that he had forgotten to heat up the room and that the window in the bathroom was open a crack (to air it out, I assume). Indeed it was freezing in there, but I was able to heat it up in about 10 minutes and at least he apologized...most places wouldn't even care. And, it was a good lesson for me to just call ahead and make sure I check in to a warm room....wherever I travel to.

Room Tip: If you check at night in the dead of winter at any hotel, call ahead and ask to have the room warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seeksocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you seeksocean for your review. We try our best to accommodate our customers and will be happy to do whatever is within our means to make your stay with us comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Town House is a basic motel with one huge difference, the manager is the most customer service oriented person I have met in my travels. I am a business traveller (sometimes as much as 30-40 weeks per year) and I have been doing this for years. I have seen my fair share of hotels, motels, inns, etc and the manager here did things that no 5 star hotel would have done. The accomdations are good, basic needs are met, etc. We had an issue with with my sons camera being misplaced that showed how much the manager here cares. He took this on as a personal mission, he checked in with us on a regular basis, he searched every where he could think, including going through ALL of the dirty linens, then called me to say he wanted to make up for this, liek thi was his fault. My wife had bought a replacment camera and he gave us credity equal to the price of the camera. WHAT??? A motel with character, what is the world coming to. We went off to the redwoods north of Eureka and had a great day. We got back and the manager was beamimg because he had found the camera! It had fallen in the trash and he and his guy had found it. He said that it was a kids Christmas present and that made it a special circumstabce to him. I gladly took the camera back, and put the refund back on my card. Great story, but wait it gets better. In the morning the manager told me he thought about this and he wouldn't feel right taking the money back! OMG what is the deal here, you really care?? He woudl not take NO for an answer so I took the money back, and donated it to Seconf Harvest Food Bank because it was the right thing to do. This was the most amazing story in 25+ years of travel. I hope that anyome that reads this stays here just knowing this is a good place.

Room Tip: Ask the manager, trust me he'll take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you Bob R for your review. We are an honest establishment and are glad that you were able to experience a positive experience with your family. We are extremely glad that you described our place as a "motel with character". We appreciate you donating the refund to Second Harvest Food Bank and look forward to having you as a guest in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Next trip to Eureka I will return here mostly for the location and good vibes from management. Make sure you come with appropriate expectations. This is a VERY basic motel set-up. Pros are a very good central location and secure parking. Room was tidy and clean. Front desk (who I think was the owner) was super nice, helpful, and made you feel like you were giving your money to a real business run by real human beings.Cons are that it is across the street from the police station/courthouse/holding pens and next door to what looks to be a cop bar. Means (probably) good security but not the most lovely setting. However, you are one or two walkable blocks away from the renovated downtown area where you are going to want to end up given the somewhat battered state of the rest of Eureka. Put another way, the hotel somehow fits in with the whole Eureka experience (it ain't South Beach). Felt more "real" and I was happier walking a shorter distance home from dinner to here vs the other alternatives.

Room Tip: They have rooms on the south side that are quieter - don't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you wbsk for your honest review. We are glad that you enjoyed our "basic motel set-up". This is exactly what we offer our guests and hope to see you again soon during your next visit to the North Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Eureka was the first stop of a five day drive down the California coast. We wanted to mix our stays between "local" places and chains. We selected this motel on the strength of it's #3 ranking and relatively low rate. It''s around the corner from the historic Carson Mansion.

Light sleepers should note that it's on the main drag (101) and because it is a small motel it's not really possible to get away from highway noise. I asked for a quiet room and was put as far away from 101 as possible. There was still some noise but not too bad. All but about three rooms are on the second floor and there is no third floor so you don't need to worry about noise from "upstairs."

The rooms are small and there is no breakfast. There's a Denny's a few blocks south on the northbound side of 101 (5th street; 4th street is 101 south and one way). Shower lovers will appreciate that the hot water is HOT and gets there fast. There's only a shower stall; no bathtub.

The motel is in the "business" downtown. The county jail is about a block away. There are some street people in the area but I never felt threatened and we walked back to the motel from a nearby restaurant around 8 PM. You can walk to the historic district.

As others mentioned, the owner is very helpful with suggestions about the Eureka area. I'm not sure what another reviewer meant by saying Eureka is not a tourist town.

It has a very nice historic area that extends from the water to about 5 blocks inland and is about a dozen streets "long." This area has many shops, dining, etc. Carriage rides too. Many of the buildings in Old Town, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, have beautiful murals and there are a number of nice Victorian homes.

We only had about two hours in Old Town before it became dark (and cold, since it was late November) and I wish we had about two more hours. We dined at a local Vietnamese, Thai and Laotian restaurant (Hue, which I'll review separately) which is two blocks form this motel.

I'd have no hesitation staying here for a night again. But it's not my type of place for a stay of three or more days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you Travel_Grognard for your review. We appreciate your honest review but wanted to clarify that not all our rooms are shower only. Various rooms in our establishment have tubs and we might be able to accommodate you in the future based on availability. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Eureka is not a great town, but it near of the Redwoods !!!!

Eureka is expensive but the town house is affordable.
Everything was clean, the parking is under the rooms and under camera surveillance.
Wifi worked A1
Bed where comfy.

Would go there any time back if I have to stay in Eureka.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Thank you SebTD for your review during your stay. We are happy that you found our establishment affordable, comfortable, and clean. We look forward to your next visit with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed here fOr the fall admissions day at humboldt. I came with the whole family for my sisters accePtance into the school! When we got here they told us they had booked the same room twice and upgraded us to a family suite which was fantastic. The location is a bit dubious but then again it is located in old town eureka, so don't be surprised if the homeless come out with tue sun. Overall it was a very relaxed stay, room was pristinely clean, shower had the best pressure iv experienced yet, the area is extremely quiet but one thing! Watch out for the poles... My dad totally shaved off a rear view mirror on it!! Lol. I would definitely stay here again next time I come drop off my sister.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livelovetravelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaTownHouseMotel, Manager at Town House Motel - Historic Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Thank you Livelovetravelart for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your upgrade due to our error in booking. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to your next visit with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel - Historic Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel - Historic Old Town

Address: 933 4th Street, Corner of 4th and K Street, Eureka, CA 95501-0517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eureka
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: $72 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel - Historic Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House Motel is located near historic Old Town and Downtown, and is close to City Hall, the Courthouse, Waterfront Park, and restaurants. All rooms have free in room coffee, remote color TV, HBO, microwaves and refrigerators and free in room high speed internet access. Most rooms have shower only and are on the second floor. (We do not have an elevator.) We have single guest rooms, as well as two bedroom suites.Travelers come to the California North Coast for many reasons. For some it is the majestic redwoods, for other it is a glimpse of the Victorian seaport City of Eureka, still others for the rich cultural and historic character of the area. Whatever it is that may draw you here, the Eureka Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center staff is standing by to answer your questions and assure that your journey to the North Coast is just what you want it to be. Eureka! You've discovered Humboldt County, home of the world's tallest trees and more than 100 miles of stunning Northern California coast. In addition to the giant redwoods, you'll find outdoor adventures like hiking, kayaking, birdwatching, biking and scenic drives. Here too are historic small towns, the arts and surprising food and wine discoveries. And of course, Redwood National Park and the Avenue of the Giants. Public transportation is available by the motel. You can visit the Eureka Transit website for bus schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town House Motel - Historic Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing