We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but on the freeway”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayview Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor. I agree the room is very clean, and has lots of space. However, it is right on the freeway. I did not read anywhere about the noise -- but it is noisy. Thank god we always carry earplugs. Also, I don't care for flourescent lights and that is what is in all the canned lights. There are no lamps - just canned lights.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RoadTripTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 206 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2006

Growing up, my mother always told me that the difference between hotels and motels was the class. Well, this property definitely fits in the "motel" category.

I booked the "Romantic Getaway" room several weeks in advance. Upon our arrival, there was a domestic dispute occurring in the parking lot. A man and woman were yelling at each other in a van, while their small child watched. We thought it was a little odd, but proceeded into the office. The office is actually someone's personal residence, and it was very uncomfortable walking into the middle of their dining room during dinner.

After giving the clerk my name, he informed me that the room I had reserved (with the jacuzzi) was not available even though I'd held it with my credit card. He said he'd given away our room and there were no other rooms with hottubs available. He had a very poor attitidue, and was quite flippant. This was NOT the warm welcome we were expecting after driving 400+ miles.

We left and stayed elsewhere. If you're looking for friendly customer service, this isn't the property for you.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
11  Thank Pochini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

After reading all the wonderful reviews on the Bayview Motel, my husband and I chose it as the base for our seven-night (Sept. 9-16) Redwood vacation. We had the gazebo room, also called the honeymoon suite, replete with numerous amenities, as well as gas fireplace and whirlpool. The immenseness and cleanliness WAS awesome.

Furnishings were simple, yet elegant; the particular attention given to details was welcoming (extra pillows and towels, loveseat and coffee table, small table and chairs, as well as wet bar, fridge and extra countertop). How many motel rooms do you stay in with trey ceilings and recessed lighting? We did ask for a lamp for the nightstand. The bathroom with two lavatories was really beautiful and large enough to accommodate a wheelchair if needed. Our balcony was spacious. Even their regular-sized rooms were larger than most.

One drawback was that the king mattress should either be flipped or replaced. Also, I wonder why no one has mentioned the din from the trucks and motorcycles on Hwy. 101 directly below our balcony - perhaps on an overnight stay, it wouldn't be noticed as much - my husband said he wasn't too bothered by it. And the "No Vacancy" sign did seem to be ON each evening.

We had good meals at the Sea Grill and Marina Cafe (view was great), but the "halibut and chips" at the Lost Coast Brewery was so good (and priced right) that we ate there our last two nights.

For a stay in Eureka, we too highly recommend this motel. And sweet Morris, the owners' cat, was often around to take a pat from anyone who cared to give it, but was in no way a pest.

A better stay OR value would be hard to find.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Destenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

This is a great place if you're traveling the west coast. I selected it because of the comments here on TripAdvisor. Although we stayed just one night I know why there were no negative comments.

The front office is located across the parking lot in the home of the owners. Walking into the living room while dinner was being prepared right away gave the feeling that you were visiting friends. Morris the cat greets visitors when he's not napping. He even gave us an escort to our room when we returned from a late dinner!

The rooms have all recently been remodeled. If you are expecting the Ritz, this isn't it. However, it was spotless with all new furnishings. There are many lights in the walls and ceilings which allows you to get just the right lighting that you desire - all without cluttering the room with lamps.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone passing through Eureka. Its comfortable, clean and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaliA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank gbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank Carolyn_Gustafson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel'sMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
731 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2844 Fairfield St, Eureka, CA 95501-3525
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#4 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely motel overlooking Humboldt Bay was completely reconstructed in 2000, but has been family owned and operated since 1974. The comfortable, spacious accommodations are kept meticulously clean and ensure a relaxing stay. Every room faces westward for a view of Humboldt's magnificent sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Motel Eureka
Bayview Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing