We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, quiet and spacious”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very clean, quiet and spacious”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the Bayview Motel! Each room is the entire width of the building, so you enter on one side, and have the water view/sitting area on the other side. While the view itself isn't that great, the room was very nice. Super clean, and a surprisingly comfortable bed for a motel! Definitely would go back if in the area again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pth138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    74
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
61
88
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This motel is top notch especially for the price. The room had tons of space, even with a King size bed, a couch, and a kitchenette. Ours had a walk in shower, no tub. The water pressure was good, water was hot, and the towels were nicer quality than most motels. The bed was very comfortable. All the rooms have semi-private balconies -- the walls are just waist high or so -- with a view primarily of the gas stations, fast food joints, etc. that parallel Hwy 101, which you overlook. You can see a sliver of ocean off in the distance, but this is in no way a view motel. The room was pretty well insulated against traffic noise and had good blackout curtains. All in all, a nice, friendly stop with a locally-owned family-run business. *Do not confuse this with the Best Western Bayview which is just down the street a ways and has a pool and other amenities that might make it more family-friendly, although it is pricier. Oh, and if the Wireless isn't working, just call the desk. They have to re-set the router constantly due to bad connections.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our family of three (plus our yorkie) stayed here. We got a two room suite, so we could put our young son to bed in the other room, close the door, and have dinner, talk and watch a movie without bothering him. The little kitchenette was also helpful in preparing baby food.
We looked at a few other options in the "downtown" area of Eureka and none were as nice and clean as this one. (well, we looked at Carter House Inn which is really nice and REALLY out of our budget). This was our first time to the area, and I was surprised by the number of "drifters" roaming the streets of downtown. So I was really happy that the Bayview Motel was set up on the hill in a residential part of town (but still super close to everything). It felt very safe and the staff were all very friendly.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, OR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have found the Bayview Motel to be one of our favorite places to stay on Highway 101! We frequently travel up and down the coast from San Diego to Oregon and always choose the Bayview to break our trip. Our favorite room is 101; it includes a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and lots of space. For us it is worth the extra money. We always travel with our dog and he is welcome there. The standard rooms are nice, too, and all open into individual patios with views.
This is a family owned motel that was completely rebuild in a semi-Victorian style to fit Eureka. It is in a residential neighborhood and the family lives on the premises. This increases security making it a good destination for women traveling alone. Did I mention the cleanliness? It is second to none! I have even asked the owners for housecleaning hints. It is spotless. We are always greeted in a friendly, efficient manner by the family and staff. The staff used to include a very friendly cat, but he must have taken another job. Be aware that there is no microwave nor complimentary breakfast, though you can get a discount card for a couple of local restaurants. This is one of the BEST places we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on_the_road_again042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked in here for 2 night. the hotel is managed by a young couple and when you book in the reception is actually in their longe room whihc I found a bit odd. Once again the whole thing about allowing dogs in motels rooms but that seems to be the norm in US.
the rooms are old but have been really well maintained. the beds were comfortable and there was a lovely balcony out the front of our room that over looked the bay.
the cleaning staff were also very helpful.A really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The road in and out is a bit hard to find so we used the bacdk streets which were easier to navigate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is the WORST place we have ever stayed- they discriminated us by insulting our COMPANION dogs who are some of the most well behaved dogs ever.The management lives on the property and watches every time you enter or leave your room. They lied and said that we left our dogs unattended in the room-charging us an additional night stay including the dog fee, when we had our dogs with us everywhere we went. We have never been treated with such rudeness and felt so belittled by a business, ANY BUSINESS EVER. IF YOU ENJOY BEING PEEPED ON, AND HAVING NO PRIVACY, STAY AT THIS HORRIBLE ESTABLISHMENT. We have stayed at most all of the motels suites in the Humboldt area and THIS IS THE WORST PLACE WE HAVE STAYED. The rooms are average, not as good as the Hampton inn and suites for example- nowhere near (Which is only 10 miles northbound on 101 in peaceful and beautiful Arcata). This motels location is right off Interstate 101, Broadway. There is no good rooms there- in all rooms you hear Jake-brake's from big rigs, burnouts, horns honking non-stop, druggies yelling from the 24 hr chevron across the street, and police sirens at all times of the night. We felt like we had some old grumpy owners looking through their blinds at us the entire time. We disagreed with the additional charges they added so we called them, and we were hung up on two times, and they would not disclose their names or any information, being very unprofessional when we were trying to be apologetic for basically doing nothing wrong.
IF YOU HAVE DOGS....DON'T BE FOOLED- THEY ARE NOT PET FRIENDLY- THEY ARE NOT ACCOMMODATING WHATSOEVER FOR FAMILYS OR PET OWNERS.
We are Humboldt County natives and we are hardworking people who are honest. This is a completely accurate review of our stay here- we are not over-reacting, we are simply warning you of what we went through.

Room Tip: This motels location is right off Interstate 101, Broadway. There is no good rooms there- in all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shawn and Justi... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

On a trip down the coast with another couple, we thought we were compromising to choose this motel... Not so. One of the nicest places we stayed. Rooms were very clean and spacious and I smelled no mold ! (I am super sensitive to this). Only downside is the old factory buildings in the "bay view"..... And the room rate was a bit high for late Oct on the coast. Definitely on our "stay again" list.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#7 of 21 in Eureka
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Property: Bayview Motel
Address: 2844 Fairfield Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Eureka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely motel overlooking Humboldt Bay was completely reconstructed in 2000, but has been family owned and operated since 1974. The comfortable, spacious accommodations are kept meticulously clean and ensure a relaxing stay. Every room faces westward for a view of Humboldt's magnificent sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Motel Eureka
Bayview Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing