We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Samoa Cookhouse

Samoa Cookhouse
Ranked #8 of 186 Restaurants in Eureka
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place was great! Great history of the area in photos on the walls. Food was great and very large portions. Will return one day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bighead T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    187
    81
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valais
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fun and hisorical”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We don't eat meat so the pork chop lunch menu was out, but the waiter went out of his way to make sure we were well fed! The soup, beans and salad, with plenty of fresh baked bread was just perfect. Cake and coffee to follow. Our waiter was great - I think they go to acting school to work here. Lots of local history on the walls and next door in the small maritime museum. An eating experience not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOOTLE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had Saturday Morning breakfast with friends here. Originally a logging company facility, it has been serving meals for over 100 years. The walls are covered with pictures and memorabilia, and I found it very interesting. There is no menu, only one type of breakfast (or lunch or dinner) served each day Our day it was French toast, sausage, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravey and orange juice and coffee. Was good hearty food. I noticed that lunch was some sort of chicken dish - and dinner was going to be BBQ ribs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank revangelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historical Logging Camp Smokehouse & Museum To Boot!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Oh, this is a definite don't miss! I grew up in Humboldt County but moved to the big city 25 years ago. I have never had such fun eating breakfast as I have at Samoa Cookhouse. Whenever I travel through the area I make it a point to include eating here. The menu does change day-to-day so if you have several days in the area you might call on your first day to find out what the breakfast, lunch and dinner fare is for each day so you can plan accordingly for any picky little eaters you might have traveling with you. This is more than a meal, it is also a learning experience. You get to eat just like the loggers ate, in the very same building and in the same style. You may have to wait in line but once you get in it expect to meet new people because you won't be eating alone. There are long rows of tables where everyone sits sith everyone else (like back in elementary school days) and everyone is eating the exact same thing so food comes out pretty quickly. You will receive delicious food that is all-you-can-eat so be sure and ask for more bacon, a second or third helping of pancakes, whatever you like... They expect it and are ready for it! And of course you don't have to pay for seconds. Go hungry and go with time on your hands because once there you may enjoy the people you are seated with so much you might not want to leave right away! And if you are traveling through and this may be your only chance, be sure to check out the attached logging museum. It is a great learning opportunity for the kids and you'll find it fascinating too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misslissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lumber Camp Style Dining”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Founded in 1894 for the local mill and dockworkers, I hear this is the last logging camp style type cookhouse in the Western U.S. Rooms with long tables, one price-no menus, you sit down and they serve you family-style the menu that was cooked for that day. ALL YOU CAN EAT! We started with a Crisp Salad, 3-Bean Salad and a Tomato based Stew Soup and fresh Baked Bread. Next came the entrees-boneless Fried Chicken and melt in your mouth Pork Ribs-both very tasty. Served with Corn and Buttered Red Potatoes. If you still had room-next came the chocolate cake. You will not leave hungry. Plenty of parking, plenty of artifacts and pictures from the past in the attached museum. A great experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Seeker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samoa Cookhouse also viewed

 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Samoa Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing