We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service ever”
Review of Super 8 Eureka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Eureka
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

You know its going to be bad when you sign in and they have you sign a form saying you have only 15 minutes to inspect your room and get a refund. We didnt end up staying .... The creepy desk clerk decided my sister in law was committing credit card fraud when she tried to use her grandmother's cc and called the police. Then he wanted the police to arrest the other sister for slapping his counter with her hand. Nutball, and a big jerk. After refusing to take the cc, when her sister offered to pay for the room he laughed and said it was already rented. Apparently its funny to know a woman and her four kids wont have a place to stay. As we left we passed dumpster divers in the back. Bad area and lots of bad element hanging around. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redhead5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lorinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Checked in with my family for a Fourth of July vacation using our rewards points. Took the kids straight to the pool. My daughter came up to us saying that she found something in the pool. Upon looking at it we realized that she had found poop! We immediately took the kids out of the pool, rushed back to the room to clean them off and packed our bags. The little boy responsible's mom apologized and asked if she could do anything. We informed the hotel what happened, and they checked our room to see that we had not stayed there and everything was in order. They told me that I would have to call the rewards center the next day to get the points refunded since they were already closed for the night. When I called the next day the Wyndham rewards center called the hotel and they said they denied us the refund because they couldn't find the log that my daughter had already taken out and we disposed of! We tried several more times to get our points refunded as we did not stay the night or even a full hour due to our kids swimming with feces. They now hang up on us and yell at us. Do not stay. Very rude and shady!

Room Tip: Do not stay, and if you do, stay out of the pool! Better off to stay at another hotel, as there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Unfortunately, my short-sighted company booked me here for ten nights. Where to start? This "motel" conveniently serves as a hub for crack hoes, drunken brawls, dumpster divers, and local transients. This is not the fault of the establishment, but the continually-nearly-clogged bathroom and shower drains, noisy bathroom fan, dirty carpets, LOUD Mexican family housekeepers, poor breakfast choices (don't let their website fool you, there IS no yogurt or fresh fruit or pastries available... ever!), spotty internet, no A/C, and no fresh air in their rooms definitely IS their fault. I would give this place zero stars, but that was not an option.
You can't take your breakfast back to your room? Really? I did so anyway! There are not enough places to sit in the "Breakfast Room", so I suppose you could stand there and enjoy your crappy cup of coffee and Fruit Loops if you so choose. I was here alone, so I didn't mind standing and waiting for a place to sit, but what if I was here with my family? Where would they sit? So, despite the hand-written signs posted everywhere stating that you can't take your breakfast out of the Breakfast Room!, I simply headed back to my crappy room, Raisin Bran and watered-down juice in hand.
The parking lot is too small and dimly lit, and the potheads in the room nearby didn't seem to care too much for keeping the noise down. The local police seem very familiar with this establishment and are frequent visitors.
Amenities? Yeah! Check out the incredibly stained carpet in the hallway! You enjoy loud, squeaky doors? Come on over to my room! When I plugged in an extension cord for my computer into one of the wall sockets, sparks flew out of the cord, leaving only a puff of smoke and a fried cord behind. Thanks, Super 8.
Despite being turned off the wall heater emits a small amount of heat constantly. Nothing like getting off from work and entering a sweltering room! There is no air-conditioning nor a simple fan to blow any sort of fresh air into the room. Out of desperation, I once tried keeping my door and windows open just to cool the room down, but the Mexican family of "housekeepers" kept yelling at one another in Spanish and banging into walls with their carts, and I could not sleep after working the night shift. So I had to keep the bathroom light/fan on constantly because it blew a small amount of "fresh air" into my room, and that was the only way I could keep the room from heating up. And despite being on a dimmer switch, the ceiling fan is either on full blast or off entirely. Oh, and good luck keeping your shower water at a consistent temperature.

I think that I'd rather sleep in my car.

Please spare yourself the trouble and headache of staying here, and stay at a decent place instead, like the Quality Inn across the street or the Best Western a few blocks south.

Just don't stay here!

Room Tip: Sure... don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After driving down the Oregon Coast we made a return trip to Eureka CA. A lovely city and we enjoyed our stay in the Super 8..It was clean and the service was good. There was a restaurant nearby to make it even better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Eureka CA
Days Inn Eureka CA
#10 of 21 in Eureka
244 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Eureka

Address: 1304 4th St, North on US 101, Eureka, CA 95501-0605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: $68 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Eureka 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Eureka Hotel Eureka
Super 8 Hotel Eureka
Super Eight Eureka
Eureka Super Eight
Eureka Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing