We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way to much rice”

Annie's Cambodian Cuisine
Ranked #14 of 186 Restaurants in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“way to much rice”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I recently went to Annie's because of all the good reviews, we were very disappointed, the service was very good, friendly, nice atmosphere, clean, good location, but when the food arrives it was 80% rice, very little vegetables in the 2 dishes we ordered, this was very disappointing, rice is very cheap, looks like they are trying to save food costs in giving people ore rice.

Won't return, very bad management decision to pile on the rice and cut back on veggies!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kleeottorogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hakalau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious Cambodian/Thai Style Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been here twice and each time, everything we ordered was excellent. We ordered many of the dishes each time as we always do, so we can have a lot of variety and be able to take some back with us. I don't find myself saying that very often about most restaurants. Parking can be easy to miss, the driveway entrance is just ahead on the west side of this restaurant on 5th street. In-other-words, it's easy to miss so you may have to go around the block or park in adjacent business lots.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kontiki50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try the hot pot soup”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had dinner here last night on an unsually cold night here in Eureka, so I was looking for something hot! I ordered the beef hot pot soup and it was wonderful! The soup is served on a little butane burner at your table. You then cook the meat and vegetables in the beef broth at the table yourself. The beef was served with a raw egg on top and the vegetables were fresh and beef broth was full of flavor! It was an excellent choice for dinner and I can't wait to go back and try the peanut soup!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excellent food & service”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Amazing food at great prices! Not a fancy place, but clean and comfortable. Something for everyone on the menu; many options from Southeast Asian cuisines.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great sampling of a unique cuisine”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently discovered Annie's and it has become a regular haunt for us. Cambodian food is more similar to Thai food than to Chinese, but if you enjoy either type of cuisine, you will find something you love at Annie's.
The restaurant is small and intimate, with a bar and a TV showing Cambodian Karaoke.
The food has something for everyone - rice, curries, noodles, soups, appetizers, and desserts. We are vegetarian and they take good care of us.
Especially delicious is the peanut soup, which comes with fresh vegetables to add and cook yourself. I had seen this before in Vietnam, and it is a very fun way to share a dish with a group. Ask for a side of peanut sauce to jazz up any dish.
The owners and servers are very hospitable and attentive.
Handicap parking is in the back; go ahead and use the back door right there that says "Employees Only". That makes it a close walk, and the owners don't mind.
You can only access Annie's from one-way 5th Street heading east (to become northbound 101). If you are heading west on 4th Street (from southbound 101), make a left at T Street and then left on 5th; Annie's will be on the left. Easy return to 4th when you are finished with your meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonmom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie's Cambodian Cuisine also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Annie's Cambodian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing