We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Gill's by the Bay”
Review of Gill's By The Bay

Gill's By The Bay
Ranked #14 of 188 Restaurants in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss Gill's by the Bay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Eureka and Humboldt County only has a few restaurants with views of the Ocean or Humboldt Bay. Gill's is family owned and operated and has been consistently superb in product and service over many years. They are located so close to Humboldt Bay you can see and hear the sounds of fishing/boating activity, ie the foghorns in the distance as well as the boats departing and entering to dock at Johnny's mobile park and boat launch. We have found their seafood chowder unique and not to be missed. They keep it informal, local and special. It is only a bit out of the way and not far off of the beaten path of Highway 101. Enjoy it as we have, and keep up the good work Gill family!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fish AAAND Chips!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is great Fantastic to get lost in the view of the harbor from inside or out, and the fish and chips were the best I've ever had, and I've been all over England and the Eastern US. F&C is not an overly discerning dish, but they had everything right, crispy and tasty outside batter, succulent pieces of cod, and the fries were just as good. Quantities were good considering the order comes with a choice of soup or salad (I recommend the clam chowder!) all for just $12 per person, which seems like a good deal to me. Sounds like the people who have been dissatisfied, are those who come here with the wrong set of expectations, if you want a high end seafood dining experience, this is not it; if you're in the mood for a fried fish and chowder lunch, with a view for $12, this is the spot! Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great soup, so so fish”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I found this place onTA as I was driving thru eureka . I was jonesing for some fish and chips, so I didn't even look at the menu. The waitress talked me into the clam chowder and it was every bit as good as billed: perfect consistency, great clams (and shrimp), excellent. The fish was just OK: not crisp crust. And pricy: $13 for 3 small pieces.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winegrowerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Eat there constantly. Love the place. Service is great, food is better. Been eating there constantly for 5 years...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“overpriced white-bread cuisine”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

All the locals rave about the great crab sandwiches so I had to check it out - pricey, but I figured worth it based on recommendations. What came out was mayonnaise and crab salad on a white roll with french fries. Yeah there was a lot of crab, but I could have bought a crab for less than half what they charged and made a better sandwich at home. I have been there since and ordered other sandwiches, and all were very ordinary and a few dollars more than you'd expect to pay. I don't understand the appeal of Gill's at all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mysteryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gill's By The Bay also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Gill's By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing