We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Grill

Sea Grill
Ranked #3 of 184 Restaurants in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old School Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Sea Grill is a local institution. The menu includes all of the local seafood favorites including salmon, halibut, sole, crab and even razor clams. There are also non seafood offerings including a stuffed chicken breast that is very good. Perhaps even more than the entrees, the Sea Grill is known for its salad bar and yummy twice baked potatoes.

While the food is good it is also heavy and, can I call it retro? This is the kind of seafood I remeber from the 70's. It is covered in so much butter and heavy sauce you can barely discern what the base ingredient is. Those looking for a more a more subtle treatment of delicate seafood will be disapointed.

Service is OK. Waitstaff is attentive if not overly accomidating. Special requests were tolerated, though not without a hairy eyeball or two. Food was delivered in a timely manner and we never felt rushed.

Overall this is a decent place and even better if you want to reminiss about what fine dining was like a couple of decades ago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    132
    46
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Restaurant You'll Return to Often!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We consistently bring out of town guests here, as the seafood is always fresh and well-prepared and the salad bar is wonderful. Great food with good prices!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The service leaves a lot to be desired.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The service caters to the eldest of clients first. Just short of being rude to those individuals who do not either put on airs or show great age in their face and body. Food was first rate but NOT the service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Salad Bar in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The seafood speciala are always amazing and yummy. The Ahi appetizer is totally delicious. Don't fill up at the salad bar, or try not to.
I've never had a bad meal here but the crab cakes are pinner yet serious grindage if you want something small. My favorite restaurant in Eureka.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scotthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food and atmospere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The restaurant was busy upon our arrival (without reservations) and after a few mintues wait we were given a lovely table. The menu and specials were presented..quite a selection. The salad bar was fantastic (super nice tomatoes) and my oysters as main course were superb. My husband opted to order a steak...very nice. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for great food and service, special occasion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Grill also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing