We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eureka Inn, a work in progress”
Review of Eureka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eureka Inn
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We had planned to stay 5 nites at this recently somewhat restored old large inn in downtown Eureka but because of condition issues stayed only 1 night and then wisely moved to the Clarion where we have stayed previously (see other review). Our K bed room on the third floor had been partially restored to the point of being repainted and provided with a new comfortable K bed-it did not look the same as the picture on the website. The carpeting did not quite butt up to moldings, the bathroom floor tile left something to be desired, and the caulking around the bathroom sink was not the cleanest in parts. Staff is friendly and helpful and breakfast, included in the rate, was ok. The small wading pool had visible algae. Much more needs to be done to this just reopened (April) property before it is liveable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

I really wish I could give this hotel a higher rating because of its history, but at this point, the Eureka Inn is nowhere near ready for guests. The room quality was exceptionally poor - no drapes, broken blinds, bathtub that backs up, insufficient hot water, poor mattress, no furniture. Very poor quality. No food service even though they advertise it in the room. Move on to another hotel - this one is far from ready, and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljoy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Eureka Inn was shuttered for six years, as one successive owner after another found the task of restoration too daunting. The current owner has put an enormous amount of work to re-open this historic hotel. It’s definitely still a work in progress, and should be judged as such.

The Eureka Inn isn’t set up to receive internet reservations yet, but the front desk staff are friendly and courteous when you phone them. When I inquired, I found out that the only difference between a “suite” and a standard room was that the suite had more square footage: there’s not a living room or separate bedroom to the suite. I chose a standard King room for $75 a night – about $40-$50 per night less than most other rooms in Eureka.

The Tudor exterior is matched by dark-timbered woodworking in the main lobby. The lobby currently boasts a grand piano, art work by (presumably) local artists (the “Entrance to Zion” picture was out of place when there is so much stunning local scenery that could be displayed), comfortable leather sofas, and an as-yet-closed fireplace with a sign stating that it is under construction.

We were checked in speedily by the desk clerk, who told us that the Inn hopes to have the restaurant and/or lounge open by late August. We’re not natives to the area, so we have no memories of what the Eureka Inn used to be, but the Rib Room, coffeeshop, and Palm Lounge hold promise of past glories that may yet be revived. This area needs a restaurant that offers an elegant Sunday brunch; perhaps the Eureka Inn can fill that gap when their restaurants re-open. We peeped into the ballroom, which is still undergoing renovation. The swimming pool appears to be open, but we didn’t try it out.

The room has a pedestal sink in a tile-lined alcove on one side of the entry door, and the toilet and tub/shower on the other side. There was as yet no mirror above the sink, but there is one above the desk in the main room, so we made do. The shower gave out a refreshingly-strong spray of water. The tub area could benefit from one of those curved shower rods that have become ubiquitous everywhere else.

The room has good bones, with crown molding above and deep baseboards. The room is pretty basic: white tile, white walls, white coverlet on the bed, beige baseboards, tan carpeting. I kept wondering if they stripped the boring grayish-beige paint off the woodwork, if they’d find gleaming redwood underneath. Judging from what’s on the first and second floors, I dare to hope. There’s a modern flat-screen TV perched on top of the dresser.

Don’t expect wireless internet in your room, ironing board and iron, a hairdryer, or a refrigerator or microwave. There aren’t beautiful antiques in the rooms, either. The Eureka Inn has a way to go before it will rival the Benbow Inn as an elegant historic property, but I think the owners are doing their best and these are early days yet. We wish the Eureka Inn well, and look forward to seeing its Christmastime spendor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SML-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is an older property which was closed for a time and has been reopened. Very little renovation was done to the room we occupied from what I could tell. The furniture, drapes, carpet, and most importantly the mattress, were very definitely not new. Renovation is still underway in various areas although that did not interfere with our stay. Our room did not have a coffee pot, refridge, or microwave. Plusses are you get a lot of room with a flat screen TV, there's plenty of hot water , there are plenty of towels, and the internet works great. The internet probably worked better than any place we've stayed on our approximately two week trip. It is also relatively quiet, although the place was far from full, so don't know how it would be with more occupants. They also offer a limited breakfast included. It's an old hotel with history and all that goes along with it under renovation, so go in with your eyes wide open. I recommend it with the above caveats.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waquispel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.3 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.4 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Inn

Address: 518 7th St, Eureka, CA 95501-1890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: $128 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eureka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Eureka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing