We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, poor management, ants in all three rooms we stayed in.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eureka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eureka Inn
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old, poor management, ants in all three rooms we stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had to be moved twice and for our trouble were given on a $10 discount off the last of three nights in the old dumpy (yes, historic and unique) hotel. Management is cheap and has no idea what they are doing, they are not nasty at all, just not professional. Few nicer rooms are redone on the first floor only, you pay extra for them (hopefully you do not get the ant trail we did). Breakfast is a joke, again very cheaply done and without basics you would expect at a mid-range hotel. There are many paper signs all over the hotel instructing you not to enter or to keep the door closes or something you do not expect in a hotel. Overall a very odd place, I am certain it is much too large for the small town it is in and the management can't begin to sell it out. They have to be struggling and it shows about everywhere you look.

Room Tip: Ground floor only and get it for $80.00 or less, a penny more and you over-paid for this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
42
96
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a fantastic old building with an amazing lobby - just like stepping back in time. Currently being renovated and you get the impression that the owners are trying very hard but wonder how they can ever make money with a building this size. Room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. It would be good to have a full length mirror - the bathroom mirror is useless if you are over 5'4"! As other reviewers have said, breakfast needs to be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank untakenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 1 night in May despite the reviews being average. There was a bit of a musty smell in the room, but nothing that you wouldnt expect in a "vintage" hotel from the '30s. However, the breakfast was a BIG disappointment: coffee, yogurt, and toast bread. They did not even have individual butter portions, one would have to wait in line for the previous person to finish. Jam was not tasty at all. Lobby made an excuse about not having a chef for the cafeteria but they could be so much better with minimal effort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Asalam Aulaikum!
I was welcomed warmly by the staff at the Eureka Hotel. This hotel is a national historic site and under renovation. It is located in Eureka, CA, right on the beautiful Northern California coastline surrounded by giant redwood forests. I recommend that you ask for a renovated room on the third floor. There is a lounge on the first floor and so being on the third floor would situate you away from the lounge. There is a free continental breakfast in the morning that is pleasant.
The renovated rooms are spacious and beautiful. The price is very reasonable.
However, the true gem is the hotel itself. This is a unique treasure that is not seen much anymore. The woodwork and huge lobby with a giant fireplace are just delightful. It has a pool that looked beautiful, but I did not use it.
A restaurant is coming to the hotel soon, but it is right in the heart of the historic district. There are a lot of places to eat nearby. The staff was happy to show me where I might find a seafood restaurant.
I recommend the Eureka Inn as a friendly, welcoming, historic hotel. As you explore the beautiful coast of Northern California, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room facing the pool area. I stayed in an un-renovated room and it was very pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emansakinareviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I went to Eureka on business. I was picked up from the airport by the hotel shuttle. The drive to the hotel was dazzling because of the amazing land. We got to wonderful, historic downtown Eureka and pulled up to a wonderful and unique old building. I love history, old buildings, and the craftsmanship that existed when things were made for use and also to be beautiful. I entered the lobby and had to stop to take it all in. This hotel is in the process of restoration. In order to carry out restoration of an historical landmark, it takes time. The hotel is a wonderful, work in progress.
The friendly staff member told me the building had been vacant for 8 years and had recently been purchased to restore and bring back to its former glory. There are some rooms already renovated, so if you are picky choose one of those. But, the rooms that have not yet been redone are charming and simple. They are not fancy, but the price is very reasonable.
The renovated rooms are beautiful. There is a huge closet, huge bathroom and a deep leather lounge chair in a cozy corner. The fireplace is an extra bonus and makes it quite delightful.
The lobby is huge and has very high ceilings. The woodwork is beautiful and if I had not been so busy on my trip I would have loved to sit in the lobby beside the huge fireplace and French doors leading to the terrace that leads to the sparkling pool and just "be" in the huge historic room.
The hotel has a ballroom and is a perfect setting for a charming wedding. I would love to see a fund started to help support the proper restoration of this property. In one photo, you see the original wooden phone booths along the wall. It is still a work in progress, but well worth a visit on its road back to glory.
Part of me wants to keep this treasure all to myself, but it is just too special.

Room Tip: I slept in an outside room on the third floor with my window open, and it was perfectly quiet. I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Looking for a hotel which will make you say "wow"? Then look no further, because this hotel is a stunner! So much character, so much charm, so many original features! But stay away if you are a nitpicky, "cheap & cheerful"-hater, because this won't be for you!
It is very rare to find a gem of a hotel like this, with so many original features, that kind of grandness, for an affordable price. Admittedly, it could do with an update here or there, but nothing too major. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and even offered to give us a little tour around this huge building. Clean interiour,free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast made this an excellent choice for an over night stay on our road trip. Probably the most memorable hotel we ever stayed in and if that's not enough, downtown Eureka is also worth the trip, since there is an ample amount of 1920's charm and architecture preserved to this day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iongerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Whatever chemicals that you are using to sanitize the place are way too strong. You smell them immediately upon entering the hotel and throughout it. I know that the Inn is old, but must it smell? The elevator is a frightening experience. Will it make it, I thought each time we used it? There were a few people in the hotel, but we were placed next to a noisy person. Why, with all those rooms? We love the Inn's charm. Why haven't you tuned the baby grand? The place needs lots of tender, loving care, and money to get it up to "snuff."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Irma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Inn

Property: Eureka Inn
Address: 518 Seventh Street, Eureka, CA 95501-1890
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eureka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Despegar.com so you can book your Eureka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing