We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, dirty, no breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eureka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eureka Inn
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced, dirty, no breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked a room here on a drive from Portland to SF, and were surprised to be paying almost as much in Eureka as we were for much nicer places in bigger cities. The room had stains on the carpet and the walls were exceedingly thin (strange for an old building). The breakfast we were told was included with our stay was a bag of frozen bagels thrown on a conference table in a dirty room. The neighborhood around the hotel is not great--run-down and dirty at best, unsafe late at night at worst. I would avoid staying here and opt for either a chain or splurge for the fancy hotel down the street (which looked lovely, by the way)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
42
96
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargersville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We enjoyed our week long stay at Eureka Inn. It is located near many shops, restaurants and museums that you can walk to. The remodeled room was very nice and the maid service was done very professionally on a daily basis. The rooms had a relaxing ambiance, are nice sized and have high ceilings. Ours had an electric fireplace that warmed the room as needed. The lobby was very nice and the staff was very pleasant, saying hello and making you feel welcome. It seemed that other travelers were enjoying their time and many were having conversations in the dining area were breakfast was served. On the weekend their was a piano player and the bar/lounge was open. Yes the hotel is older, but it was pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We booked thru expedia mobile....It was a surprise that it was a historical building. We liked the ambiance. They are still renovating so expect some amenities to be closed. It is off the main streets so we did not hear any traffic noise. The bed was comfortable. Since it is an old building we noticed musty smells. But not too strong. It was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappynClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked it a day ahead, getting there late...so it was too late to change our minds... 150 dollars for a "renovated" room...ummmmm right. Which if you count taking 150 bucks to the goodwill and buying some crap furniture and old blinds with nasty old carpet renovated...then I suppose it was. I inquired about the new rooms with the manager/owner and he said they were all filled and on the 1 st floor... The only folks I saw coming out of these rooms were his family. So nice he wasn't staying in the Norman bates wing of the hotel. It's a total scam and waste of money. Pretty sure if we could have found a motel 6 it would have been in better condition than this room has been in the past 40 years.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ever unless you feel like throwing money away, and if u want to do that please c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

During a West Coast vacation we wanted a change from the typical motel ambiance and thought the Eureka Inn would have been a nice treat. Well, that wasn't quite the case. It was an okay stay but could have been much better.

The best part of this property is the outside architecture. The place looks impressive no doubt about that and has a grand, historic feel to it that changes the feel of your stay immediately.

Interaction with the front desk staff was a bit odd as they seemed to have been "out to lunch" and it was like pulling teeth to get any basic answers like when and where breakfast is, etc. We wanted one of the newly renovated rooms but were told those would be more, so we settled for the regular. We got to our room and it was decent enough. It was on the second floor and had a queen bed. The sheets were cleaned, but so wrinkly. The room had an okay feel to it. We weren't impressed, nor were we put off. However, the bathroom was atrocious. There is no excuse for not giving that some updates to make it somewhat reasonable for guests to have a pleasant stay. Between the peeling toilet seat with off color stains, to the very moldy shower, and very aged floor, it was very unpleasant to have to use the bathroom facilities.

The breakfast in the morning was lighter than a typical continental and unless you want sugary pastries in the morning, there was some basic fruit.

Location is good to old town and other areas.

In the end, not a horrible stay, but would not recommend, unless all rooms get upgraded and the front desk staff gets a little more with it.

Room Tip: Try to go for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24traveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is a scam. We paid $101.00, for a Tuesday night newly remodeled room. They put my wife and I in a room that had 40 year old dirty carpet, 40 year old furniture, room 333. I went to the front desk and requested a clean room. They moved us without question to room 357. It too had dirty old carpet and furniture. I went back to the front desk, and they showed me a room for $44.00 more, which had new furnishings and carpet, and it was clean. I paid the additional $44.00, and we moved again, to room 156. After getting settled, we learned that there was only 1 station on the TV. Then, after having moved twice already, we resigned to work online instead of watching TV. We were unable to access the Internet from room 156. The front desk offered told me that "they had just opened 2 years ago, and that they were still getting things ironed out." I told them I needed Internet, so I could work in the morning. I took my computer to three different rooms, before I finally found a room that had WiFi. We moved again, a third time. This place has 50+ rooms, and only 6 of them have nice rooms. The rest are a dump. I met one of the Asian owners during the evening we spent 3 hours changing rooms, to find one that had more than 1 channel on TV, and working internet. I don't think they have a clue how to treat proper guests.

Room Tip: Looks nice on the outside. Don't be fooled by the Eureka Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a great find. The rooms were newly modernized, staff was very helpful, the ambiance is great...wonderful lobby with fireplace and original pirate painting over the mantle. The restaurant was not open but was scheduled to be operating by the end of the month. The new owner is taking his time and money to do things right. Thank goodness this place is being updated, the rates were extremely competitive, one reason we decided to stay for two nights. It was not disappointing in the least.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpaulanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Inn

Property: Eureka Inn
Address: 518 Seventh Street, Eureka, CA 95501-1890
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eureka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Eureka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing