We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem!”
Review of Etna Brewing Co.

Etna Brewing Co.
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Etna
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Etna Brewery was established in 1872 and is one of the oldest breweries in California. http://etnabrew.net/?page_id=75
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

In Etna, there aren't too many options for eating during the winter, however, what they do have available is not disappointing! Etna Brewery has a varied menu to please all appetites (being vegan, we had menu options that worked for us!), clean, and a courteous staff, and the prices were fair. The inside dining area is small, so reservations even on a Thursday night is recommended. Outdoor dining is available but during Feb, might be a little too chilly to eat outside.

The beer, however, is absolutely great! After walking to our motel after a great dinner and 3 beers, we returned the next day to buy some bottles of beer for when we returned home! The IPA and Kappler Stout are worth checking out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have been here twice now and had different beers, wine and food each time. The food, beer, and wine are all priced fairly and taste great. The staff has always been friendly. The scenery nice and has a great outdoor area with heaters for when it gets chilly out. This last visit I had there IPA which is my favorite type of beer and it was a smooth tasting beer with just the right amount of hops. We will continue to come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CEpalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great beer, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found this place by chance, and I was really pleased we did. While we didn't eat there we sampled a few ales and had a good chat with the two servers about the brewery and its merchandise..

During the course of my Californian trip I sampled over 30 different ales, and Etna's Classic Gold topped my list of Pale Ales while its Phoenix Red scored highly in the Amber Ales category. My wife really liked Rustlers Revenge but disliked intensely the berry-flavoured Blonde ale.

Etna has a good range of merchandise all featuring its Eagle logo. We bought a glass which survived the trip back to England but the brewery had sold-out its stock of large T-shirts. Maybe next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deryck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lucky Etna to have a micro brewery in town, and serving food!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good setting, especially outdoor area, is refreshing. The brews are very good! The "kids" serving are friendly and go out of their way to inform and serve. Food is fine and prices are fair. Great place to lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Mathilde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just a nice place. So much better than greasy Bob"s And the waitresses all seem to have teeth..”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have never seen one of the sweet waitresses at the Etna Brewery treat a customer poorly. I tip these SWEETIES the best i can afford. The waitresses @ BOB's are nasty especialy the one called "TERRY" saw her spit on a lady's plate.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlendoHaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Etna Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing