We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service & Freindly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Service & Freindly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great Service & Freindly Staff, what else do you want. Rooms are confortable, Breakfast was the standard HI Express and close to Food, & Shopping. Stayed last week for two nights and Zen at the front desk did everything she could to try to help us out. Explanation: I booked this hotel though a points program and some how the hotel didn't get paid. After a hour and a half on hold, waiting for a manager, I gave up and paid the bill and said I'll deal with this once I got home.

I don't like to drive after dark, U-drive and a drink or two, if you know what I mean, so there are enough restautarants and a shopping mall across the street. Great Location, just of Interstate 15, Great Service & Freindly Staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are delighted that you found our rooms to be comfortable, great location and pleased with the great service and friendly staff. We will relay your comment about our front desk agent, Zen. I am also sorry to hear about the trouble you had regarding your booking. Please feel free to call us back if we can be of any further assistance. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
47
31
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express last weekend because we visited Safari Park. The room wasn't bad, although there was a cigarette burn in the curtain in our non-smoking room. The desk staff did help suggest a local restaurant and drew a map to help us locate it. However, the morning breakfast that we hoped to enjoy was aborted when we discovered at least two homeless people mounding plates in the line with us. They were smelly and unkempt, giving us cause for concern. We walked to the nearby Coco's that more than filled the bill. It was open, staffed by a friendly server and the food was excellent. Unless they are more diligent about maintaining a quality environment in the breakfast area, l would not suggest staying at this location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unraveledgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Unraveledgal,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room you had and your breakfast experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escondido hotels

Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good service from a friendly staff. Janice was great. This is an old hotel but being updated. There was no facial tissue in the room, but that was probably simply a housekeeping oversight.

There were not enough accessible plugs for recharging batteries and using a computer, and the lighting was poor. I noticed a smelly hallway from trying to disguise odors from years past.

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express with a very good staff. A little difficult to find, but that seems to be the way most motels/hotels are now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your comment about your recent stay with us. We have replaced all of our hallway carpets including the porcelain tiles on the first floor elevator landing and now look amazing. We apologize for not having facial tissue in your room and the shortage of accessible outlets. We do however have surge protectors available at the front desk upon request.

We are pleased to know that our staff are good and friendly. We hope that you will be back to visit us again real soon. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This older property has had some updates - new carpet & a firm bed, however, no pillowtop beds, the pillows are lumpy & not all rooms have refrigerators. The staff - reception, cleaning & breakfast - were all very pleasant, friendly & professional. Our room faced the highway & there was some road noise during the night, but it wasn't intrusive. All-in-all this was a good value for a one night stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HRH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate your comment. We were in the process of replacing our carpet on the first floor when you were here. It is now finished and it looks beautiful. We apologize that you did not notice the refrigerator in your room but all of our rooms are equipped with refrigerators. They are located in the cabinet below the TV. We are happy that you were pleased with our friendly and professional staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Sincerely,
Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The morning buffet was great. The room was very clean and updated. We had a King Suite and it was extremely spacious. In-and-Out Burger is very nearby (practically in the parking lot) and there is shopping right across the street. It is right off of I-15 which makes it nice and convenient. We were there for a family wedding and it was a great central location. We could get to San Diego for sightseeing without being too far away. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 520lynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your brief stay with us because of our easy access to the freeway and convenient location to restaurants and shopping. We hope that you were able to at least taste each of what we offer during our buffet breakfast daily especially our famous cinnamon rolls and pancakes.

We appreciate your kind comment about our helpful and friendly staff. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Regards,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in March 2013 while on business. The room was nice, the staff friendly. Nice breakfast. Will stay at again when I'm in town. Really enjoyed the pool. Great hotel at an excellent value.
My only gripe is that the hotel was a little hard to find. It was tucked in back of a strip mall next to the freeway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your brief stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments. Since your stay last, we have replaced all of our hallway carpets, stairwells and even the lobby. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Hotels for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
465 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

When traveling to the area for a family funeral in Oceanside, we required two rooms for 6 people including a teen and 5 yr old. We were unable to get adjoining rooms at the hotel despite having worked that through HI Central Booking by phone.The price of the Standard rooms was reasonable for the area (~$170/nite each-no bereavement rate), however the rooms did NOT have microwaves or small refrigerators. This is a major inconvenience, These amenities are expected when I stay at HIEs. The external look of the hotel belies it's tired interior. It's just blah. The pool area is nice and well kept. The staff was friendly. Access is straight forward if you are familiar with the area and it is not during rush hour. A plus was the closeness of nearby restaurants-In & Out, Del Taco, and others. I'm torn with the rating. On one hand, I am used to so much more from HIE especially at this price. However, other hotels viewed during our commutes were either rated very poorly here and on other sites or not listed at all on this site or other similar sites. Also, higher rated facilities closer to our location were just cost prohibitive at this time.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the freeway on the south side to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Goldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We apologize that your request for an adjoining room was not granted. We try to accommodate most of the requests as much as possible but unfortunately not able to fulfill it during your stay. At this time, only the suites are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. However, there is a microwave in the lobby area available for general use.

Once again, we apologize and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#14 of 16 in Escondido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Address: 1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego-Escondido is nestled in hills of north San Diego county, minutes to Wild Animal Park, Performing Art Center, Harrah's Rincon Casino, Valley View Casino, Pala Casino, Cal. State San Marcos, Award Winning Stone Brewing Co., Golf Courses, fishing, and Wineries. Easy access to downtown San Diego, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Legoland, Beaches, Parks and only a few miles from hiking, Cineplex, and Ice skating. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Centrally located to business & financial district of Escondido. Local companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, Hewlett Packard and many more. Includes daily deluxe hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido Hotel Escondido
Holiday Inn Express Escondido
Holiday Inn Escondido
Escondido Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing