We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Nearby Hotels
$125
$112
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Escondido Hotel(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$212
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Mediteran(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Inn(Escondido)
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Escondido Lodge(Escondido)
$100
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welk Resort San Diego(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
39
59
29
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
59
29
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin n out burgerroom had double bedspancake machinebreakfast roomfree nightyogurtconvenient locationrooms are smallfreewaypalomarjacuzzirates
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 153 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good service from a friendly staff. Janice was great. This is an old hotel but being updated. There was no facial tissue in the room, but that was probably simply a housekeeping oversight.

There were not enough accessible plugs for recharging batteries and using a computer, and the lighting was poor. I noticed a smelly hallway from trying to disguise odors from years past.

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express with a very good staff. A little difficult to find, but that seems to be the way most motels/hotels are now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your comment about your recent stay with us. We have replaced all of our hallway carpets including the porcelain tiles on the first floor elevator landing and now look amazing. We apologize for not having facial tissue in your room and the shortage of accessible outlets. We do however have surge protectors available at the front desk upon request.

We are pleased to know that our staff are good and friendly. We hope that you will be back to visit us again real soon. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This older property has had some updates - new carpet & a firm bed, however, no pillowtop beds, the pillows are lumpy & not all rooms have refrigerators. The staff - reception, cleaning & breakfast - were all very pleasant, friendly & professional. Our room faced the highway & there was some road noise during the night, but it wasn't intrusive. All-in-all this was a good value for a one night stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HRH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We appreciate your comment. We were in the process of replacing our carpet on the first floor when you were here. It is now finished and it looks beautiful. We apologize that you did not notice the refrigerator in your room but all of our rooms are equipped with refrigerators. They are located in the cabinet below the TV. We are happy that you were pleased with our friendly and professional staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Sincerely,
Vikki Armonio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The morning buffet was great. The room was very clean and updated. We had a King Suite and it was extremely spacious. In-and-Out Burger is very nearby (practically in the parking lot) and there is shopping right across the street. It is right off of I-15 which makes it nice and convenient. We were there for a family wedding and it was a great central location. We could get to San Diego for sightseeing without being too far away. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 520lynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your brief stay with us because of our easy access to the freeway and convenient location to restaurants and shopping. We hope that you were able to at least taste each of what we offer during our buffet breakfast daily especially our famous cinnamon rolls and pancakes.

We appreciate your kind comment about our helpful and friendly staff. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Regards,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in March 2013 while on business. The room was nice, the staff friendly. Nice breakfast. Will stay at again when I'm in town. Really enjoyed the pool. Great hotel at an excellent value.
My only gripe is that the hotel was a little hard to find. It was tucked in back of a strip mall next to the freeway.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your brief stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments. Since your stay last, we have replaced all of our hallway carpets, stairwells and even the lobby. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Hotels for your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When traveling to the area for a family funeral in Oceanside, we required two rooms for 6 people including a teen and 5 yr old. We were unable to get adjoining rooms at the hotel despite having worked that through HI Central Booking by phone.The price of the Standard rooms was reasonable for the area (~$170/nite each-no bereavement rate), however the rooms did NOT have microwaves or small refrigerators. This is a major inconvenience, These amenities are expected when I stay at HIEs. The external look of the hotel belies it's tired interior. It's just blah. The pool area is nice and well kept. The staff was friendly. Access is straight forward if you are familiar with the area and it is not during rush hour. A plus was the closeness of nearby restaurants-In & Out, Del Taco, and others. I'm torn with the rating. On one hand, I am used to so much more from HIE especially at this price. However, other hotels viewed during our commutes were either rated very poorly here and on other sites or not listed at all on this site or other similar sites. Also, higher rated facilities closer to our location were just cost prohibitive at this time.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the freeway on the south side to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Goldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We apologize that your request for an adjoining room was not granted. We try to accommodate most of the requests as much as possible but unfortunately not able to fulfill it during your stay. At this time, only the suites are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. However, there is a microwave in the lobby area available for general use.

Once again, we apologize and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews