We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Downtown(Escondido)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Mount Vernon Inn(Escondido)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Escondido Inn(Escondido)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Rodeway Inn(Escondido)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (152)
    Filter reviews
    152 results
    Traveler rating
    39
    59
    29
    14
    11
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    39
    59
    29
    14
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsin n out burgerroom had double bedspancake machinebreakfast roomfree nightyogurtconvenient locationstayed two nightshotel is locatedrooms are smallfreewaypalomarjacuzzirenovationrates
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    61 - 66 of 152 reviews
    Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

    I stayed in March 2013 while on business. The room was nice, the staff friendly. Nice breakfast. Will stay at again when I'm in town. Really enjoyed the pool. Great hotel at an excellent value.
    My only gripe is that the hotel was a little hard to find. It was tucked in back of a strip mall next to the freeway.

    • Stayed: March 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Tonya S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

    Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your brief stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments. Since your stay last, we have replaced all of our hallway carpets, stairwells and even the lobby. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Hotels for your lodging needs.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 21, 2013

    When traveling to the area for a family funeral in Oceanside, we required two rooms for 6 people including a teen and 5 yr old. We were unable to get adjoining rooms at the hotel despite having worked that through HI Central Booking by phone.The price of the Standard rooms was reasonable for the area (~$170/nite each-no bereavement rate), however the rooms did NOT have microwaves or small refrigerators. This is a major inconvenience, These amenities are expected when I stay at HIEs. The external look of the hotel belies it's tired interior. It's just blah. The pool area is nice and well kept. The staff was friendly. Access is straight forward if you are familiar with the area and it is not during rush hour. A plus was the closeness of nearby restaurants-In & Out, Del Taco, and others. I'm torn with the rating. On one hand, I am used to so much more from HIE especially at this price. However, other hotels viewed during our commutes were either rated very poorly here and on other sites or not listed at all on this site or other similar sites. Also, higher rated facilities closer to our location were just cost prohibitive at this time.

    Room Tip: Ask for room away from the freeway on the south side to avoid the noise.
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 1Goldwinger
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We apologize that your request for an adjoining room was not granted. We try to accommodate most of the requests as much as possible but unfortunately not able to fulfill it during your stay. At this time, only the suites are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. However, there is a microwave in the lobby area available for general use.

    Once again, we apologize and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 10, 2013

    Enjoyed a very pleasant and stress-free weekend stay with grandson. This hotel was conveniently located close to the I-15 freeway, close to tourist sights in the area, and well situated to restaurants, fast food, and shopping. The staff is very cordial and service focused. The morning buffet breakfast was well serviced and tables were promptly cleaned! During the busy summer months they do a great service job!

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank GlobalGoodTimes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

    Thank you for expressing your comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido a leader in excellence.

    We look forward to your next visit and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 6, 2013

    This has turned out to be our favorite place to stay in Escondido. The hotel is always clean and comfortable. Nice and quiet, it is in the corner of a shopping area and adjacent to the freeway. That may not sound inviting, but they make up for it many times over by providing a nice stay with warm and welcoming staff.

    The lobby is a nice place to sit and rest. Complimentary coffee available all day/evening, comfortable furnishings, bright and cheerful. Computer and printer makes it easy to print your directions for your daily excursions. Free parking and complimentary pool towels.

    Nice breakfast 6:30-9:30am complimentary daily. Always some egg dish, meats (sausage or bacon), biscuits and gravy, Sweet rolls, muffines,, croissants, toast with toppings, juice, yogurt/hard boiled eggs, cereals, bananas, coffees/teas/milk. Even a do-it-yourself-pancake machine, which my boys LOVE to use. Saves a TON of time and so nice...if you have plans for the day.

    Bed linens are so soft!!! Also, beverage cooler / mini-fridge in the rooms. Toiletries provided.

    We come about 4 - 5 times each year, and never disappointed.

    Room Tip: For family, you can get two adjoining rooms: King + 2 doubles. Then you have two bathrooms. 1/1 Washer+Dryer located on Floors 2 & 3 Great dining at Coco's restaurant adjacent to hotel, gives 10% discount if you show your key card. Easy drive to San Diego Zoo Safari Park. Parents: 24/7 Urgent Care at the hospital nearby. Yes, you never know when your child will put something in their ear!
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Gail M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

    Dear Gail M:

    Thank you so much for conveying your comments regarding your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido. We truly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience.

    We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. We thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 2, 2013

    Although only for one night, I enjoyed my stay at this facility. Was upgraded to a suite, and the room was comfortable, clean. Clerk greeted clients professionally and was informative. Had a nice snack out to munch on when I checked in. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance also so didn't need to drive. Only down side to this place is the late start of breakfast (6:30am) and I'm usually out the door much earlier.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 23Dorsett
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

    Dear 23Dorsett:

    Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay and were treated professionally by our staff. On the other hand, I apologize that you were not able to take advantage of our hot buffet breakfast. When an opportunity brings you back to our location in the future, please let us know so that we can prepare something like "breakfast to go."

    Once again, we appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews