We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Convenient Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Union City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Convenient Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times because of its many conveniences.... First, the location of the hotel is excellent -- it is right off the freeway so it's easy to find. There are restaurants and convenient stores you can walk to, a gas station, shopping complex with Target and Toys R Us nearby, as well as a grocery store about 2 blocks away. Legoland is only about 15 mins. away! The included breakfast at the hotel is great too! We've stayed here for 3 consecutive days and the hot breakfast choices vary each day. My kids love the pancake maker... and the swimming pool too! We usually stay in one of the suites where the bedroom is separate from the living room -- nice if you have guests visiting you, or if you want some privacy or quiet time from the rest of your party. It also has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, and good counter space -- perfect for our snacks and drinks -- and a sink to wash my kids' cups and baby bottles! Never had any problems with wifi or air conditioners/heaters. Beds are comfy. Rooms, bathroom, and linens are always clean. Speedy and efficient check-in/check-out. Staff is courteous, friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBRan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for conveying your comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido a leader in excellence.

We look forward to your next visit and if we can make your stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
47
31
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had the occaision to stay here in July 2013. I found the property well maintained and clean. The staff was friendly at check in and check out. There are plenty of options for food and entertainment very close by including an IN-N-OUT and a COCO's in the same complex as the hotel. Breakfast was provided and included a decent variety of options. The server at breakfast was very friendly and attentive. I will stay here again when in Escondido for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We appreciate your positive comment. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We hope that you were able to also use our fitness center and got a chance to enjoy the pool and spa. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you're in the Escondido area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Although a bid dated, this Holiday Inn was actually enjoyable. Stayed for 4 days and from check-inn to check-out encountered friendly & helpful staff. Conveniently located near the freeway, dining & shopping in Escondido. Had to visit the In-N-Out burger joint that is located just a few steps from the property. LOL. Other then gaining a few pounds it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and even got a chance to visit In-N-Out. We have now finished replacing our hallway carpets, stairwells and lobby. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

What is the deal with the cost of a room going from $109.00(plus tax) to $134.00(plus tax)!

What is the deal with wifi in hotels....it never works - free or not! I mean never!

Why do air conditioners keep blowing damp air rather than cool air!

Anyway this HI Express is an old property that is in need of work. Room itself is okay. Bathroom, while needing some attention, did not have that hotel bathroom smell. Bedding is okay and a good nights sleep can be gotten.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is the standard fair of frozen items.

My only issue was the price..unacceptable...no really unacceptable but I was not paying..did I say unacceptable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageursNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the WIFI connection and the A/C unit not working during your stay with us. Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our services. Please rest assured that we will take the necessary steps to correct the issues.

As for the room rates, it is currently structured depending on the demand and that’s why the rates fluctuate.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused you. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff was very courteous, efficient, and customer-focused. Everyone we interacted with seemed to really like their job and it showed in their customer service. We arrived before noon and were promptly checked in. The queen-bed room was nicely furnished, clean, and more than adequately comfortable for our one-night stay. Didn't get to use the pool or exercise room, but did check them out. Both areas were clean and nicely kept. The exercise room equipment was impressive and looked in excellent shape...would have liked to had the time to use it and the pool. The hotel was quiet, well kept all-around, and the breakfast selection more than adequate (and pretty tasty!). We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st level, toward lobby area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We want to thank you for conveying your comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience even though it was a brief stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are so many things that have impressed me about this establishment. The things that stand out the most are the friendly staff and the great breakfast. The folks here are very personable and go out of there way to make sure that you have a great experience. The rooms are also really great as well. Updated with Flat screen TVs. :-) Makes it really cozy when traveling for business or on vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. We will share your positive comments with the staff. We hope that you will have a chance to try our heated pool and spa on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed there for a trip to Legoland which wasn't far away. Our only complaint is that the hvac didn't have a setting to keep the fan on all the time for background noise. Great breakfast, updated room, easy access to the freeway, good staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vacak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We realize that there are plenty of hotels in the area but you chose to stay with us and we appreciate your business. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#14 of 16 in Escondido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Address: 1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego-Escondido is nestled in hills of north San Diego county, minutes to Wild Animal Park, Performing Art Center, Harrah's Rincon Casino, Valley View Casino, Pala Casino, Cal. State San Marcos, Award Winning Stone Brewing Co., Golf Courses, fishing, and Wineries. Easy access to downtown San Diego, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Legoland, Beaches, Parks and only a few miles from hiking, Cineplex, and Ice skating. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Centrally located to business & financial district of Escondido. Local companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, Hewlett Packard and many more. Includes daily deluxe hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido Hotel Escondido
Holiday Inn Express Escondido
Holiday Inn Escondido
Escondido Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing