We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Escondido Hotel(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$133
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Mediteran(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$57
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Escondido Lodge(Escondido)
$60
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welk Resort San Diego(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Escondido Inn(Escondido)
$81
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
39
59
29
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
59
29
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin n out burgerroom had double bedspancake machinebreakfast roomfree nightyogurtconvenient locationstayed two nightshotel is locatedrooms are smallfreewaypalomarjacuzzirenovationrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 152 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel was quiet, clean, comfortable, a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audipilot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stay at this Holiday Inn Express, Escondido once or twice a year. They renovated the rooms since last year and did an excellent job. It really upgraded what was an OK, basic HIE to a really nice one. If they finish the job by replacing hallway carpeting and the room doors, it'll make it totally worthy of the new HIE branding.
The front desk is the same people every year and they are wonderful!
I liked staying here in the past and the room renovation made it that much nicer. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had a reservation here and when I was checking in, the desk clerk knew my name right away and had our reservation set aside. We were using earned points to stay here. She told me that she had updated our room to a suite. This kind of treatment had never happened to us before our stay here.

We had a great stay there in our newly renovated king suite. The breakfast was delicious and offered a nice variety of items from which to choose.

We make this trip west every January and February. We will always stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Escondido.

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay

Nancy from Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you are pleased with our renovation and plan to come back to our property. We will share your comments to the staff as reinforcement to continue our great service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This weekend was the 2nd time I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express, Escondido. The staff is very plesent and hospitable. The room is nice, clean, quiet. Free WiFi is excellent! They have a computer in the lobby that they allow you to use for free. Breakfast is good, service is great! Easy, adequate parking. Perfect place for families and business travelers.

I plan on using this hotel over and over again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshalome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here the weekend of October 1, 2010. This coincided with the grand opening of a In-n-Out Burger next door to the property. Now, I'm a big fan of In-n-Out, but the grand opening crowd made life difficult.

Traffic entering the facility was backed up onto the freeway. Two lines of cars were created for the drive thru window. These cars prevented any access to the hotel. It took 10 minutes to get to the hotel because of the burger crowd.

In the mornings I noticed many In-n-Out employees eating breakfast at the hotel. Either they were staying at the hotel, or mooching, not sure which.

Add to the hotel being renovated, there was always a strong smell of paint in the hallways. The exercise room door was surrounded by a drop cloth. The exterior appearance was nice, but once you got inside you could tell this was an older converted Holiday Inn Express.

The location was great, right by the off ramp. No noticeable freeway noise. There is also a Del Taco next door, a Target across the street, and an Albertsons down the street.

Not as nice as other HIE's I've stayed at. Was just an okay stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friedmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

It was unfortunate that during the time you were here, it was indeed In-N-Out Burger's grand opening. It is the first In-N-Out in the city and that's why the people were so excited and it was packed. The hype is all over and traffic is at its best. The trainers for In-N-Out (about 30 of them) were staying with us at that time until they left about a month ago. We invite you back to view what we've done and accomplished with our recent renovation. Our rooms have brand new furniture, new carpet and freshly painted. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews