We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
San Jose, CA
1 review
“Not great”
Reviewed March 18, 2007

You get what you pay for. I wanted an inexpensive place to stay one night before heading to San Diego. The pictures look good on the website, but the room and atmosphere leaves much to be desired. The room we had smelled of mold. The bed had big dips in it and the walls were paper thin which means we heard the guy next door go in and out of his room all night. I won't be staying in the hotel/motel ever again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drichey418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
15
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

Not bad for the price. Single-bed rm was small and a little awkward, especially the work table (tiny). No desk. Parking was tight. Room ser. excellent. Staff very friendly. Good and safe location. 10 min. to Dixon Lake. 20 to Wild Animal Pk. 45 to airport. Only problem I had was air conditioner controls were out of reach...had to stand on chair to adjust. Shopping ctrs. 10 min. away (Target, Wal Mart, Turner's Sporting Goods, fast foods). For price I'd stay again. Book way ahead for best price, or you'll pay dearly for weekend rates. Good restaruants in nearby San Marcos. Great pier at Oceanside (45 min.). Staff will accommodate special needs...ex., 1st floor rm., package shipped to motel prior to arrival. However, don't venture out alone at night in California. I didn't have any problems but travelled wisely. Most people were very friendly in Escondido. Home of world-record bass.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — being an older motel
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead, nego. price, eat in room (has sm. frig, no micro), request 1st floor rm
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bassingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 24, 2006

I traveled on business for four days to Rancho Bernardo area. Hotels were expensive in that area so I picked Rodeway in Escondido. Great location off the I-15 and is in a good safe area. Motel looks fresh and well kept. Staff was great and can tell that they take pride in the place. I wold strongly recommend this place. Only thing is that Rates in weekend are little higher, but others in the area are even higher. Guess supply and demand.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2006

I needed a motel in North County San Diego and frankly was after the cheapest one I could find on the internet. Many others are available but unlisted, and this can be a risky and frustrating search without knowing what is happening at that time in that area. At least I recognized the Rodeway name.

If I just said "you get what you pay for" that would be true but give the wrong impression. The staff were friendly but largely invisible. Everything worked OK. Everything that had been promised online was available, and the booked price was accurate. The motel has (relatively) minimal facilities and doesn't look to be in the safest area of town. It's a bit shabby despite "renovation." But for the price it was perfectly acceptable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Goloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 12, 2005

We checked into this hotel in the early evening and checked out about two hours later, having decided that we really couldn't sleep even for one night here. The room was shabby which would have been okay if it was clean but it wasn't. There were hairs in the bed, hairs in the shower, the bathroom smelled less than fresh and the bathroom suite was badly marked. There was no coffee maker, and the microwave was stained with the remnants of whatever had been last cooked in it so of course it smelled disgusting, as did the fridge. We knew that this was a small motel so we weren't expecting the Ritz but we were expecting a certain standard of cleanliness which we did not get.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escondido hotels

Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

My husband and I spent three weeks traveling in the west in July when every where we went it was record high temps! The Rodeway Inn Escondido was a small but well kept hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed in our room was very comfortable. On your whole trip we rate the beds in this hotel the best! (soft) The only down fall we found to this hotel was that it had no pool. But the air worked well and the beds were great so If we were in the area again We would stay here!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ctrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2005

I stayed at this motel based on the previous review. The staff is extremely friendly and they take good care of the place. The motel was recently rennovated and the rooms are large and comfortable. Great location and price.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ana_A_92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
0.8 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#13 of 16 in Escondido
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
3.8 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#9 of 16 in Escondido
54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 250 W El Norte Pkwy, Escondido, CA 92026-2504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Escondido
Escondido Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing