We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Just returned from a week at the Welk Resort San Diego...we stayed in a 2 bedroom lock of at the Villas on the Greens. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. After having read some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about the service that we would receive, but my concerns were unfounded. When we arrived, our vcr would work, so I called maintenance, and they were there to fix it within a 1/2 hour. Considering the size of this resort, I thought this was pretty good. The rooms were spacious and clean. If you are looking for daily maid service though, don't come here. This isn't a hotel. You have to do your own dishes, make your own bed, and take out your own trash. The maid does come once during your stay. That was plenty for us.

Both rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were hudge! We had a jacuzzi tub in ours, as well as a fireplace that we made use of every day. It was really nice to have that on in the mornings when the fog rolled in. The washer and dryer they proved was nice as well. They even gave you laundry soap.

It was a little cloudy when we were there, and even though the pools are heated, we found it a little chilly in the evenings. The Bouldersprings rec. area is crowded during the day, but it was fun for my daughter to meet and play with other children. They have the water slide, but they also have the splash pad with water cannons (which we both enjoyed) and a playground next to the pool. They also had some rocking chairs next to a fireplace in the pool area. Out front they have a hudge fire pit with benches all around where you can sit, meet new people and relax.

You can also rent fishing poles, and buy bait from I belive it's Harmony hill and fish in the main lake. We went out on a very foggy morning. The lake was beautiful, and my daughter caught her very first fish! Very cool.

As an added note, they have a small museum there which was kind of interesting. Being in my mid 30's I had never seen Lawrence Welk young. We also ate at the restaurant there and found the food to be very good. If you like prime rib, that's the place to go. Most excellent!

Overall we had a wonderful stay at the resort, and would defonately return. If you don't want to do the time share speal, just say no when you check in, and they wont bother you again. However, if you do do the speal and you don't buy into the deal, they will send you down to "gifting" where they will try to sell you a travel package. No big deal just thougth every one should know.

Also, if you are in the Ironwood building, watch out for the occasional golf ball.. every once in a while, someone will really slice one. Other than that have a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank babs423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,569 - 1,575 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

We booked a week at the Lawrence Welk Resort through a timeshare exchange with RCI. We had a beautiful two bedroom condo in Escondido which is about 1/2 hour north of San Diego and 1 1/2 hours south of Los Angeles. We thought this would be a central location to visit both areas. It would have been except for the L.A. traffic which we were warned about before we left but you just don't get it until you are there. I would have skipped visiting the L.A. area anyway if I had known what I know now. San Diego on the other hand is a beautiful clean city with a lot of interesting areas to see.
The resort however which we were using as mainly a base to sleep was one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. The unit, the facilities which were many and the property were all nicely maintained.
The weather was very cold, definately sweater weather so there was no sun bathing this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 200,461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We stayed at the Welk Resort/Escondido for two nights. We had a one bedroom with a mini-kitchen. Very impressed by the cleanliness, and new facility. Loved the huge shower with two shower heads, separate toilet, and double sink bathroom. The bed, linens, were top notch. We had a small balcony overlooking the golf course and freeway. Have to say that the sound proofing is very good. Very quiet at night---didn't hear a thing.

We were right across the street from the newest clubhouse and pool(s) complex. Lots to do for families with kids. Lots of activities for families during the week--arts and crafts etc.

We did take the tour and got a special price to stay there. Would definitely return.

Only drawback---no elevators and we were on the second floor. Plan to carry all of your luggage up on your own. Aside from that, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steviemagid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

Husband and I have just enjoyed a six-night stay at the Welk Resort. Based on reviews read here, I was prepared to be a little disappointed but that was not the case. The weather was cool and mostly cloudy so we spent much of the time exploring the greater SD area rather than relaxing at the resort...(driving on the freeways is similar to the Indy 500, and gas is minimum of $3.15 p/g and up!) Our 1 BR was spotless, OK decor, and had everything we needed. Loved the enormous walk-in shower, dbl sinks and lighted make-up mirror. Towels are huge and fluffy and plentiful. (look under the sink for the extra supply as there is no daily maid service.) Only a little bothersome was the TV sitting over the fridge. Great use of space but kind of high up for viewing comfort. Patio space was a little small with 2 chairs and table and did not offer much privacy. Parking was free, but not assigned per unit, so sometimes it was a hike from car to doorway.
The pool and clubhouse was very nice. Big covered stone patio area centered by a huge gas fire pit and benches all around for the cool evenings. Also found a big gas fireplace surrounded by comfy rocking chairs and BBQ grills at one end of the pool area. The landscaping and colorful planted flowers were lovely throughout the resort. Everything is well maintained.
We were prepared for the dreaded Timeshare pitch and even though we were at the welcome desk several times for information, we were never approached once by a sales person during our time there. We did not eat at the restaurant, or the Pizza Hut on property. The convenience store is due to open sometime soon.
Although the location is somewhat isolated, and as long as you don't mind driving a bit for shopping and sightseeing, this property provides a very pleasant environment...we would return.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank CapeSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed with our three young children at the Welk Resort in San Diego in February of 2006 and 2007. It is an absolutely beautiful resort with a great outdoor pool (it actually has 4 outdoor pools, but one really big one with a waterslide and waterpark so that's the only one we ever went to with our kids). It also has a clubhouse with a large library of books for borrowing or trading, a playroom, and games. It is a great location for staying at the resort and doing short day trips just for shopping or coffee, or bigger adventures like SeaWorld, Legoland, and Disneyland (about 1-1.5 hours away). We also did some wine tours and went to Bates Nut Farm (that one was a much longer drive than we were told it was going to be, and really not worth the effort). We have stayed in both a 1 and 2 bedroom suite. Both are very nice, but the 2 bedroom is just enormous. We highly recommend this lovely resort if you are looking for a good place to take a young family.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank netsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Welk Resort. The accomodations could not be better-- the 2 bedroom villa with full kitchen we stayed in was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 4 small children. Plenty of space, yay!!! The waterslide,
"splashzone" and playground were wonderful as well!!! What a great time for the kiddos!

The unit was great-- beds were fine! Not the Westin "Heavenly Bed", but just fine. Most noteworthy was the spacious set-up of the 2-bedroom unit. AMAZING!!! And the patio was absolutley delighful! What a pleasure!

However, beware the pressures to attend a timeshare presentation! Be firm in your "no"-- we were actually told they would pay for a babysitter while we attended a presentation.....yah, right, like we will leave our kids with a stranger while getting pressured to buy a timeshare for hours on end.....!!!! ***I don't think so!!!***

Anyway, also of note, upon checkout, we were questioned, in an extremely accusatory manor as to "where was the crib?" that was rented to us for our baby upon check-in.... and when my husband answered that we had left it inside the unit, as opposed to folding it down and physically hauling it into the reception area (which we were never asked to do, when it was rented to us), the man who was checking us out muttered something Spanish under his breath ,and actually **rolled his eyes** in a disapproving manor..... hmmm, not exactly the customer service that we had expected.

But all in all, a wonderful experience!!!!! Our family tries our best to overlook minor inconviences and to look at the experiences we have on vacation on the whole, and not focus on the little irritants....

Happy Vacationing to All!!!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank a-team-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We book this resort thru RCI for the week starting December 23th. Due to my work schedule, we didn't check in until the 26th. Also due to some unforeseen reasons (which have nothing to do with the resort itself), we had to check out on the 29th. I really wish we could have spent more time enjoying the resort, the unit itself, and other local attractions.

Upon arrival, I was a little disappointed at how the check-in area looked. It didn't look like a lobby in an upscale hotel or resort. Rather it remineded a lobby in a large moderate motel. The grounds were very well kept although one could easily sense this is a resort built decades ago ( I supposed due to the layout, style of the buildings, etc). There were no clear signs directing where you should go. We still got lost after three days. We stayed in a two-bedroom unit in the Daisy building. For some reason we could never find a parking space in front of our building yet we always saw a lot of empty spaces in front of other buildings. Upon entering, there was a stale odor noticed. Other than that, I was pretty happy with the condition of the unit. I brought disinfectant wipes but never got to use it. I loved the ceiling to floor windows/doors in the living room. We had a wonderful view of the golf course. The noise level outside was high. We were not that close to the freeway, but we could hear traffic noises no matter where we were as long as we were outdoor. However, once we were inside the unit, it was nice and quiet. We didn't hear anything from our neighbors either.

The living/dining/kitchen area was large and open. The two bathrooms were unusually spacious. My kids really enjoyed the garden bath. I liked the large odd-shaped shower area. Lots of towels in the unit for use. Bed were comfy. We never received any sales call either.

There were several pools in the resort. We went to three of them. They were all clean and well maintained. The main pool area was very nice with a long curving slide and more than one hot tubs. The water was heated in the pools, but the weather was just too cold for one to really enjoy the water.

The resort is isolated from everything else. I never found out if there was a convenience store in the resort. It was a long drive to go any place.

Overall, I would return if the price is right!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank autismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
13.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Retreat
Tuscany Hills Retreat
#13 of 16 in Escondido
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $159 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing