We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but needs deep clean and electronics upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Was anxious to spend an Internal International exchange week at the Welk Resort because Interval rated it a gold property. What I found in the unit was layers of dust on the furniture, the bathroom fan was coated with gunk and the carpet old and filthy. The CD/DVD was old and didn't work and no stereo receiver. The pools fill up with local owners who can use the resort whenever they want, taking parking and pool chairs early. The resort is FAR away from everything and you have to brave California traffic to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrosesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,401 - 1,407 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

The resort is very well maintain. and the service very flawless (except the push to buy their timeshare presentation).....overall we like and will return to this hotel resort.

They have 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom suites, a plus for families traveling with kids/teens. Room are clean and the beds are comfortable! Hot water was always ready and hot for showers.

I would come back to the Welk Resort. A golf resort very kid friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank DonHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Spent 2 nights / 3 days at the Welk resort in Escondido, CA while visiting some friends. We checked in the 1 bedroom suite. The room was large enough (kitchen, living room, dining room and balcony); well maintained rooms (very clean). They provide free parking but while you get your parking and the "package" from the hospitality desk they will try hard to get you a free look at the resort. They can never let you just check in, they want you to buy into the property even if you are there on RCI swap..... i declined the invitation with grace.... and move on.

The resort is located outside San Diego but close to San Diego Animal Kingdom....but that's about the closest to the resort. A Westfield Mall is near by (2 exits) heading Northbound. The 2 room better suites are perfect for a large family. If you get lucky you can get a unit near the pool area (the kids favorite part on this trip)!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I cant believe some of the reviews, what planet did they come from. We came from Western Australia for a week in April and found everything about the place great. That included the staff,accomadation,the canyon grill(very cheap prices),the grounds,cleanliness and location. We had a great time and didnt find the trip to activities at all tedious but we had done our homework before we came so we knew exactly what was before us. It was a lovely resort and i only wished it was a little closer to Australia so I could come much more. Thank You

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank margaret017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Pros: The grounds and amenities were beautiful. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast buffet at the Canyon Grill was very nice.

Cons: Bed was so uncomfortable I opted to sleep on the couch most of the stay. Comforter/quilt seemed old and scratchy too. We stayed in a ground-floor unit and the floor above was very noisy - even footsteps make very loud thuds. Plumbing was very loud too (rushing water sounds). Think there may have been a leak in the bathroom floor. Friends we were travelling with experienced the same in their room.

Also didn't like that there was nowhere to get food or coffee before 8AM. There weren't even vending machines nearby. The dinner menu at the Canyon Grille was boring.

If you can get a good deal on a room, and you have time to use the ammenities (pools, golf course, etc), you may still want to consider staying here - especially if you have kids in tow. However, I'll look elsewhere next time I visit. I value sleep and food too highly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffin3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

It is hard to get past just how unpleasant and unhelpful the staff was at Welk Resort. Our first impression was hard to get over. I was certainly sorry to see that this is a recurring theme on other reviews of this resort. I usually look at TripAdvisor when I consider vacation destinations, but I traded for a "pig in the poke" from Interval International. I have no complaints about the grounds, facilities or room itself. In fact, our room (full villa) was really large and comfortable, amenities and fixtures were first rate. Our dishwasher died on day 3, but Maintenance attempted the repair on day 4 and ended up replacing it altogether on day 5. The Maintenance department was the real shining star on this trip. They stayed awake during the Customer Service portion of the staff training. Oddly enough, the General Manager, Sean, seemed to place a high priority on customer service. Sorry that some of his "bad apples" are ruling the roost at Welk.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuickTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My wife, 10-year old son and I stayed here through Interval International exchange for 7 days during Easter spring break week.

This pleasant golf resort, built on a hillside, is located about 35 miles north of San Diego airport and NOT near anything, so you will need a car. Wild Animal Park is about the only thing within 20 minutes from the resort. Legoland is about 35 minutes. La Jolla is 40 minutes. Downtown San Diego is 45-60 minutes, depending on southern California traffic. Grocery stores are nowhere nearby so expect to drive at least 8-10 miles to buy food. There is an expensive restaurant and a Pizza Hut Express (with delivery) on the resort.

Checking in was quick and friendly. As with most timeshares, we then had to go to the concierge to pick up our “parking pass and welcome package.” The sales person (I mean, concierge) was pleasant and briefly offered a tour of the property but did not push it when I said I already own a lot of (probably too much) timeshare. There was no further push to sell timeshare the rest of the week.

Resort Amenities
Parking on the resort was free although got full at night. Our accommodation (Pelican Hill) was near 2 pools with a slide and activity center. The center had ping-pong, pool table, air hockey, and foosball. Although we did not take advantage of it, there were numerous scheduled activities on site, along with a live theater. Outdoor grills were plentiful and the awesome smell of BBQ was ubiquitous. During spring break, there were quite a few families with kids but did not feel overwhelming at all.

Accommodation
We stayed in a 1-bedroom accommodation. The room size was adequate for 3 people. Everything was well maintained and clean. Décor was agreeable but not fancy, with tile counter-top in the kitchen and bathroom, laminate cabinets and flooring. Small flat-panel TV and DVD player were located over the refrigerator in the kitchen??? Another small TV was in the bedroom. Bed and living room furniture were comfortable enough but the pillows were not. The water pressure in the shower was so low that it literally took 3 minutes before the water got hot. There was only a big shower but not a tub—it was not a problem for us, but may be for those with small children that require baths.

Appliances included a 2-burner stove, full-size refrigerator, convection microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and apartment-size dishwasher. NO conventional oven, so shop for groceries accordingly. No real baking plate even for the convection microwave. And most exasperating was NO washer/dryer in the room or in the building. So to do laundry, you have to haul it to a coin-operated facility across the resort and wait there for it.

Wi-Fi was free in the room. Download speed was adequate in the mornings but noticeably slow in the evenings (when everyone else was using it). No in-room safe.

Noise was only a minor problem—we could hear neighbors through connecting door between suites and toilet flushing at night. Mid-week housekeeping included swapping out towels and taking out the trash. But they forgot to replace a couple of towels (that the sign in the room says we could be charged for) but they brought it to us after we called.

Summary
The location of the resort is good for people to come and just hang out, but VERY FAR from most of the attractions in the San Diego area so plan to do a lot of driving (we put nearly 600 miles on the rental in 1 week). Overall the resort is comfortable, but not having laundry in the room (not even in the same building) is below today’s timeshare standards.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
8.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Retreat
Tuscany Hills Retreat
#13 of 16 in Escondido
92 reviews
11.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Southern California
10.4 mi away
Motel Mediteran
Motel Mediteran
#3 of 16 in Escondido
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $144 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing