We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't sure what to expect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed July 14, 2009

After reading many, many reviews on this resort I really didn't know what to expect. Most of the reviews were positive but then others were not so nice. I stayed in a the large 1bdrm with my family. Our unit was beautiful. Very spacious. I was originally on the bottom floor but found that to be creepy b/c of the empty stairwell outside of my door. I requested another unit and was promptly given one without any questions asked. The decor was nice, the views gorgeous!. Escondido is "out there", not really close to anything. That's the only downside. It's about 30 minutes from San Diego. Great for kids, lots of things to do at the resort. Pricing for the restaurants onsite was about the same as going out to a restaurant nearby. Would stay there again for sure. I loved it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliciaispretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,492 - 1,498 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, it was beautiful. The view from our balcony was gorgeous. The balcony is fairly large. You have all the amenities of a full kitchen like the dishwasher, pots and pans, etc which is very handy wspecially when traveling with a family. The swimming pools are wonderful, one has a slide which is fun. There is a restaurant on the property.
The resort is pretty isolated with nothing around it, hard to find places to eat unless you drive for about 20-30 min.

The major downside of this hotel was the housekeeping. They did not come in to clean at all during our 3 day stay. We asked the sheets to be changed and they refused stating that it's only done after we check out, otherwise there is a $10 charge. I called the manager and he sent someone over to change the sheets and they left all the dirty sheets on the floor. They did not take out the trash during the 3 days. No refills on the shampoo conditioner, etc. I had to call in to ask for toilet paper and they brought in 2 hours later.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelincalifornia_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Beautiful location! We are already planning to go back in August! We brought my older parents who loved the views of the golf course. We enjoyed playing cards and eating on the deck. Our daughter loved the pool. Nice family atmosphere, serene and quiet-just what we needed. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookingmamaPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here through our timeshare company and my brother in law and his wife joined us during the week. I was a little concerned that the resort would have too much of a "senior focus" due to the name, but I had no need to worry - there was plenty to do for every age group, from families with young children, to adult groups such as ourselves without children, as well as seniors. We had a wonderful time.

The villa was beautiful and well designed. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, second floor end unit that was very bright and roomy. Each bedroom/bathroom area was self-contained with a door leading into a small hall between the bedroom, bathroom and a walk in closet, giving a lot of privacy. Each bedroom also has its own TV, as well as there being one with a DVD player in the living room. Each bathroom was very large, with two sinks and large shower areas. There was a large veranda with a beautiful view where we ate our breakfast each morning. Although we were 4 adults, we never once felt crowded in the villa.

We had a fully equipped kitchen. In additon to the standard utensils, dishes, pots and pans there was also salt and pepper, coffee filters and sweetener (and coffee for our first morning), and dishwasher detergent for hte dishwasher. We had shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion in each bathroom, and a washer/dryer with a small box of detergent. There was free wi-fi in the villa - as it is not wireless, we borrowed a cord from the hotel to hook up to the internet. There was a $10 deposit for the cord which was refunded when the cord was returned.

I would recommend asking for a second floor unit. Our neighbor downstairs came up to view our unit and remarked that the upper units were much nicer due to the vaulted ceilings and raised balconies. She felt her lower unit was a bit "cave like" and was going to try to get moved (I don't know if she was successful).

There was maid service once during the week, but we were provided with extra dishwasher detergent upon request. We had a plugged toilet one day but the maintenance person responded very quickly to fix it, and guest services followed up with us that evening to ensure that it had been fixed.

The resort grounds are enormous and beautifully kept. I believe there are 5 recreation centres, each with different amenities but open to all guests (we only made it to 3 of the centres during our stay). Our villa was closest to the "adult only" centre which provided an adult-only pool and hot tub (which we appreciated). The other centres had kid friendly pools, including waterslides and splash and spray areas. The resort offers a number of daily activities, some free and some at a small cost. We simply did not have enough time to do everything that we wanted. as there was so much to see and do.

The resort is located within driving distance of all the San Diego attractions - very close to the Wild Animal Park, and the furthest we had to drive was approximately one hour to the Las Americas outlet mall on the American side of the Mexican border. Disounted tickets to attractions were available at the resort. The discounts were not huge, but we had the advantage of being able to pre-purchase tickets and avoid lineups at the attractions themselves. There are a number of wonderful golf courses very close by, including two small executive courses at the resort itself (we did not play them, but could tell from walking around that they were in excellent condition). The main grocery store is a bit of drive, approximately 7 miles away, but there is a small convenience store at the resort offering basic grocery items.

This resort defnitely exceeded our expectations and we intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Overall, we had a nice time. I see other reviews complaining this resort is not too close to San Diego, but for our vacation, it was fine. Easy to get to the coast (like Carlsbad and Oceanside), 40 minutes to San Diego (barring traffic) and not so far to LA (under 2 hrs for us).
The property (flowers, exteriors, trees, water) are all beautiful. We have 3 boys and they loved the pools and water slide, but they seemed a bit crowded at times. Nice game rooms with pool tables, foos ball and more for family fun. The kids all liked the catch-and-release fishing pond, but they had very little equipment and we were wait-listed for it. We eventually got 2 poles for 4 people. It worked OK and why I can see the need to limit, I think they can get a few more poles and let more people partake.
Didn't get a chance to sample - but they do have a restaurant, live show theatre and pizza hut right on site. If you're willing to drive a bit, recommend going to towns along the coast (Encinitas, Oceanside) or even nearby Vista or San Marcos for eating out - more options: both familiar chains and nicer local restaurants.
As for the room, it was certainly roomy, but unfortunately they have not updated things like the bathrooms and some of the furniture. I felt like I was stepping into a Brady Bunch (70's) episode everytime I went in the bathroom. At least it was clean.
The unit had a large and nice balcony and decent views. We got used to the hum of the nearby interstate (not overwhelming, but noticeable, especially in the early AM), but if that would really bug you, suggest bringing some white noise.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetskiNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We just came back yesterday - April 25 - and are overwhelmed with Lawrence Welk Resort. The villas are very nice, very clean, staff is great, we had a beautiful vacation. We rented a car and travelled a lot, came back on the resort in the evening, walked, relaxed on the big veranda. San Diego is a great city, the mountains in Escondido are impressive. We met fun people in the wineries. We recommend this resort to anyone. We have four children and although they were not with us, they would have had a good time with all that is offered to the children on the resort. I would recommand it to families as well as couples.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tintamarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I was a little worried about this resort was worried that it might be to far out to the parks we wanted to take the kids to but I was wrong. Honestly, thought this resort was perfect for us as a family, everything seemed to be about 30 mins away, we had a full kitchen, the rooms were fairly big, the kids loved the activites that were planned @ the resort and they also loved the pool. We weren't hastled by the timeshare folks like others have mentioned prior to. There are local markets about 6 miles out along with resturant row. I definately will be returning to this resort and highly recommend this resort for anyone who is traveling with a family...the kitchen was a major plus! Oh and there is free WI-FI in your room along with DVD players.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotmamma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
13.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Retreat
Tuscany Hills Retreat
#13 of 16 in Escondido
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $159 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing