We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and lovely villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and lovely villa”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Lovely villa with plentiful amenities. When we first walked in, we thought the place was very nice; however, when we reached the kitchen, we found a pot of cold coffee left behind by the previous occupant. We called housekeeping to clean it, but they never showed up. Later, we received a call, not from housekeeping, but from management, asking us to attend their timeshare seminar.

Aside from that, everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacayreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Vacayreviews,
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    498
    177
    101
    116
See reviews for
781
460
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were originally hesitant in exchanging our Marriott timeshare for this property. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We were placed in a newly remodeled unit in a section of the original resort villas. The overall size and layout of the villa was impressive. It was also meticulously clean and tastefully decorated. While our patio faced the 1-15, we actually liked the privacy of being along the perimeter of the resort. The traffic noise was not an issue.

The resort grounds were beautiful. The rec centers had lots of activities for kids/teens and the pools were all sparkling clean and nicely heated.

The travel time to San Diego and Carlsbad were not an issue for us...about 35 minutes to each from the resort.

At the end of the week none of us wanted to leave. We truly loved this resort and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jill M,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your exchange visit here at Welk Resort and that your family did not want to leave. I appreciate the highlights and comments on the quality and condition of our resort and villas. We look forward to having you return for another fantastic family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild West
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is the first review I have written on TripAdvisor.

My family stayed at Welk Resort Villas (LWR) for a week through Interval Int'l. timeshare exchange. We have been members for almost 20 years. The property is in a peaceful and beautiful location, not far from Carlsbad and other beaches. There are wineries and farms, but no big shopping nearby. The grounds are well kept. There is a catch and release pond, free golf lessons, several pools and a couple of restaurants on site. There is a nice farmer's market once a week! We did not take advantage of the other planned/paid activities on site, but there were several.

We stayed in Unit #283 (Adeline bldg.). This was a corner unit that had been renovated very nicely. However, upon entrance, we discovered tons of black ANTS in the master bathroom, foyer, and kitchen. The first evening I probably killed about 30. The next day I woke to black ants covering my husband's toothbrush holder. Honestly, about ten ants were crawling all over it. Ants were freely crawling on the vanity and even the walls. The ants were the worst in the master bathroom and I couldn't keep up with them.

The front desk was responsive and sent someone to spray the unit. He showed up with a carry and spray (the kind you can get at Home Depot or Wal Mart), walked in with his shoes on and sprayed the main areas. This made me a little nervous because I have two young children who were in the unit at the time, and the spraying was done haphazardly. I noticed some relief from the ants by day #4 of our trip (we stayed a full week).

The second issue was BAT FECES. We had a second floor unit and woke daily to lots of bat feces right outside the sliding glass door to the deck. We thought it was mice, but the individual who sprayed for ants and the individual who came to check out the deck separately told us it was bat feces. I guess the bats come at night and hang out on the deck at night...a common problem with second floor units. Every morning my husband would go on the deck and sweep and wipe up the bat feces on the deck flooring and chairs with cleaner before my kids went on it to eat breakfast. Not a huge deal, but it was an inconvenience.

There are three sections at Welk (Lawrence Welk Villas - the oldest; Villas on the Green; and Mountain Villas). It seemed the property was focused on selling units in the Mountain Villas, which is understandable. But I feel like the other units suffer because of this.

It is a nice resort, but the ants and feces were a huge problem for us. I'm not sure what the pest control situation is there, but having someone spray while we were all in the unit and having half our trip in a unit infested with ants was not very relaxing to me.

We recently moved to AZ and are in the market for a condo or timeshare in a town close to the beach, but the pest control issues gave me so much concern that I canceled my timeshare tour of the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank My2Cowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear My2Cowboys,
I apologize for any challenges you experienced during your exchange visit here at Welk Resort. We have a very stringent pest inspection and treatment program throughout the year. Unfortunately there are challenges that arise on occasion. If a matter does arise we will have it resolved a quickly as possible. Welk Resort is located next to a nature preserve. We will have an infrequent guest or two from that nature preserve pay us a visit. Bats are attracted to the lights of the resort during the evening. I am glad to hear you found our resort location beautiful and peaceful. I apologize that we did not meet your full expectations and hope you will consider giving us another chance to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Quiet location, sprawling 600+ acres beautifully landscaped hilly resort, multi-villa 1/2 BR suites spread over at various hillocks with plenty of parking, each with good view, large living room, fairly big bed rooms, well equipped kitchen with all necessary utensils, cutlery, washing m/c and drier and most of what you need for short stay with or without family. Standard LS WiFi internet without password. Canyon Grill with good sumptuous American food, Pizza Hut for standard Pizzas, Theatre, swimming pools with Jacuzzi at convenient locations around the Resort, Farmers' Market on Mondays from 3 to 6 pm with some interesting array of stalls, Welk Trail for long walks up and down the hills, Small golf courses more for exercise. A perfect place for a perfect family with lots of kids!

Room Tip: Stayed in Villa Suite 227, Broadway Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBManjeshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear RBManjeshwar,
It is great to see you enjoyed your vacation here at Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on our resort amenities and features. Thank you for the feedback from your stay. If you return to the area please be sure to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an updated 2 bedroom (Carnival building). We had a great view of the pool area and recreation room. The two bedroom was spacious and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I enjoyed cooking in the kitchen because it was fully stocked with everything I needed to cook properly. My 12 year old son really enjoyed playing ping pong and pool. My 10 year old daughter painted ceramics for a small fee. There are so many activities at this resort for everyone. We attended the Farmers Market that is held on Mondays during the late afternoon. The resort is located in a mountain area along Highway 15. During our stay, we really didn't have very much traffic on Highway 15 and we traveled to San Diego on several occasions. We would definitely stay here again! The weather was perfect for our stay and we highly recommend this resort.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BottomLine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear BottomLine4,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. it sounds like you family really got a chance to enjoy our Resort activities. I am happy to see you really enjoyed your villa. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming your family back to our resort if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are Welk owners and originally purchased around 2007 so our twin sons would have lots to do, and we live fairly close by so "day use" has been well used over the years. Offered a free two night stay for an "owner update", we came down. Now we originally purchased the larger side of the lock offs in Villa on the Greens, then about 5 years back we were approached to give them more $$ to go to their "points" program, which we did. The unit we were placed into was nicely upgraded, the smaller side studio of our lock off. Until we attended this owner update, we were pleased with everything.....however they discovered that our ownership was just what they called an "overlay" and we really didn't have complete benefits of their program. They were generously going to discount the money we paid and offer us a "real" ownership for much more $$$. This is completely unethical business practices and we won't be bullied into giving them another dime. Currently we own a deed and pay property taxes every year on it.....and we're quite happy to keep what we have. Welk continues to build more buildings against the hills and sell more people their product. While we do enjoy this resort, we are very disappointed in their business practices.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a golf course view is nice....the walls are pretty thin....can hear your neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Kenneth Q,
Thank you for reaching out to me directly. I am glad we could address your challenges. It is great to see you enjoy the resort and all of our activities and amenities. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me. We look forward to seeing you here at the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had an awesome time over the resort. Customer service were helpful and well knowledgeable of the surrounding area, children activities were educational and fun to do, and the room was spacious and well maintained. We stayed for over three weeks and it felt like home. Highly recommended for families with children of all ages. Outstanding Resort!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Yolanda A,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your family enjoyed their vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your recommendation. I could not agree more. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#13 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing