We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice property, a little off the beaten path but lots to do. They have to many activities to keep everyone entertained. I do wish the water slide would remain open later. They even had a movie playing poolside.

Room Tip: The kitchen is very roomy and complete with everything needed to prepare your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Highland1,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your vacation here at Welk Resort. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Welk Resort May 17th-25th, it was a time share exchange, I read many reviews and was pleasantly surprised, it was a great visit. We had a 2 bedroom unit for two couples. Should have requested 2 king beds, One of the two bedrooms had 2 double beds. Unit 293. The condo was very spacious and bathrooms and kitchen beautiful. The grounds and pools all lovely. We visited downtown San Diego, the beach in Carlsbad, went to the Safari Park, shopping all very reasonable travel time from the resort. Many restaurants in Escondido and San Marcos to dine. Our children live in the area and came to visit with the Grandchildren and loved the pools and fishing pond. Golf was very affordable. Checking in was a breeze and no pressure to do a timeshare presentation. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellady2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Travellady2003,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on our resort villas and features. It is great to hear you enjoyed your exchange visit and our resort amenities here at Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again when you come out to see your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just left the hotel with my family after a 2 night stay.
I just didn't like a few things about this hotel:
The wii-fi it's very slow not really worth using it.
Walls separating rooms paper thin.
Housekeeping every 3 days.
No re stock of toiletries, towels, coffee.
Nearest restaurant (other than the hotel's, closes at 2100) or gas station more than 5 miles away
I would prefer 2 queen beds instead of a king and a sofa bed
Pool area kind of dirty, small kids in the jacuzzi.
Things we liked:
Restaurant has very good food, would like to see the Buffett extended to more days
Workers very helpful from the front desk to the maids.

Room Tip: Great hotel for golfer and couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkE0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We took our family vacation here at the Welks and what a great time we had!! We had a 2 bdrm resort villa in Harmony Hill and could not have been happier! The rooms were awesome and so was the view. There were 6 of us total and we stayed comfortably. The kitchen was a great money savor and there was something for all ages all day long! The staff was always helpful and welcoming. I loved the grounds and the walks to and from activities. The night under the lights was a great all around evening for both my mom and my little ones. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews but we would love to stay here again! Theres a great farmers market just down the road called Garden of Eden. I highly recommend it for organic produce and veggies! Some of the activities were not filled up ( i had my 5 year old signed up for the slumber party) and they had to cancel. After a very upset 5 year old cried they rescheduled and charged only half price for the mix up. She was the only child there but that didn't stop the girl from making sure my daughter had a great time. Only weird thing was we had ants coming out of the water spout in the master bathroom. Other than that the stay was excellent!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Stephanie M,
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their vacation here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities and features. It sounds like your family really took advantage of all of our resort amenities and activities. Thank you for the highlights and feedback from your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was our first time staying at The Welk Resort and I had been reading Trip Advisor reviews for months! I must say I wish I wouldn't have taken so many of the review to heart and I now realize that not every opinion matches my own. My husband and I had a 2 bedroom unit and it was just us, no kids. Lots of room!
We did take the time to call ahead and put a room location request on our reservation. We exchanged our home resort with Interval International and selected this resort due to some friend's wonderful comments about the property.
We arrived on a Saturday evening around 6pm. Check in was a bit slow but not that bad. We had 3 people in front of us and things moved along quickly. The check in staff was very friendly but the line was getting longer behind us so we were lucky to arrive when we did. I would suggest more check in staff at peak times.
I had read about the strong time share presentation push so I was prepared. We already have 2 time shares so have no interest in another one. We've seen way too many presentations so I was prepared to say NO and be strong. I passed on the presentation and that was that. No pressure after that point. I was relieved as that was mentioned in many peoples reviews as bothersome.
We had requested a nice view, 2nd floor, renovated unit. We were assigned Jubilee 212 and loved it! We were told only the baths and kitchen had been renovated which was fine with us. Our unit had a mountain, golf course and pond view plus it was an end unit!!! Everything was clean and worked well. Our beds were comfortable (which was another comments that I saw often).
We had awesome weather for our week which made it even nicer. We visited the pool but did not swim. The area was clean and tidy. We also went to the recreation room (even though we have no kids). I think if we had kids this would have been a wonderful asset.
We did not feel the nearest grocery store was a far drive as many people commented. We cut our week stay to 5 nights and headed down to San Diego to stay in a hotel, mostly due to people's remarks. I will never make that mistake again. My husband and I were sad to leave early and wished we could have stayed our full 7 days!

Room Tip: Jubilee 212 was awesome! The building has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Sara G,
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the highlights and comments on the quality and condition of our resort and villas. I am glad to see you felt you had a great exchange experience. Thank you for your excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have traveled the world and stayed simple resorts as well as 5 stars resort. I’m not very difficult to please but I do expect honesty and good service. Of all the places I stayed, Welk resort is the highest in my list to NEVER stay again. We booked a one bedroom suite but upon our arrival, we were informed there was issues in our room and was upgraded to a 2 bedroom instead. The lady in the lobby said they will call our cell phone the next day if they need us to move out of the 2 bedroom to the 1 bedroom we booked. The following day, we went to the pool area of the resort. There are multiple pools but only the newer pool was worth going to. The the other pools appeared to have unclear dirty water.
While we were in the pool, we called the lobby to check if we had any message since no one called our cell phone to check if we need to evacuate the 2 bedrooms and move to the one bedroom. Later in the afternoon, we came back to our room and there was a family waiting to get in. When the lobby and the office was called to clarify the misunderstanding, we were informed that the lobby staff attempted to call us several times. The staff blamed us for the confusion. We showed the security our cell phone to show NO phone calls was received. We also informed them WE even called the office for any message. We were rushed to repack and move out of the room. No apologies was given.
After reading several reviews it seems this resort over books guest and frequently gives them room they did not reserve. Then they turn around and blame it on their customer. I just can’t stand dishonesty. I would rather stay elsewhere. There are better resort to stay at in San Diego area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelgirlrn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear travelgirlrn70,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort. I understand your frustration with your room change experience. I apologize for an inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. I have brought the matter to the attention of our resort management team for review. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope you will consider giving us another chance to change your impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Welk resort is a well maintained resort situated in Escondido which is a short drive to the attractions in San Diego or the Wild Animal Park (also in Escondido). As a place to stay, it is clean and comfortable. The grounds are very pretty.

If you are traveling here for a resort experience however, you may be disappointed depending upon what you are looking for. As the name would imply, the Lawrence Welk Resort was build in another time for a different generation. That generation however was younger at the time of its construction of course. As a result, the shows, decor, food were oriented towards an octogenarian group but the facility was not (lots of stairs, lack of handicap upgrades, etc).

So onto the pros and cons list:

Pros
Location: very close to San Diego, Wild Animal Park, etc without being in the center of it all
Short drive to many restaurants
Quiet, safe and friendly resort
Restaurant, pool, golf, a couple shops and theater on site
Lots of activities (focus: children and an older generation. This is great for ages 8-12 and perhaps an absolute perfect fit when several generations are coming together). There are some fun things for those in the middle years if you like something on the quiet side.
Daily shows. (Not something I would drive a far distance to see but was fun. The one woman comedy show put on by an actual nun on Catholicism was very entertaining. They also had some small productions of musicals.)

Cons
I placed "Quiet" on the Pros List but for some this could be a Con too. It is very quiet.
Shops - a couple shops with clothes adorned with sequins. (No joke)
Coffee shop/store was sparse and the "Starbucks" sign means Starbucks coffee - no lattes, etc
The restaurant menu appears similar to Carrows or Cocos. If you are not familiar with these think 50's diner. I cannot attest to the food though as the menu was as far as we got.
TVs were very, very small. The tvs were as wide as they were deep - 14 inch in the living room and perhaps 18 or so in the bedroom. Luckily I am not a tv watcher but if I was, I would have been extremely disappointed and frustrated.


So the Welk Resort is a great place to go depending upon what you are looking for. If you are looking for a very quiet, laid back, safe spot from which to venture out to San Diego or just kick back with a good book or go golfing. This is a great spot.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with anyone with issues with stairs, you will need to ask for rooms that have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheMadScalpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Themadscalpel.
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the your review and the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
13.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Retreat
Tuscany Hills Retreat
#13 of 16 in Escondido
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $159 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing