We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Grounds were great, well groomed, clean and good activities. Tennis, fishing, other organized activities.

Monday is a Farmers Market. Bought a rotisserie chicken, fruit,vegetables and lobster tales. You can purchase A-Z. Sheets, food, dishes, the list goes on.

Rooms are nice and comfortable but could be cleaner.

Restaurant was around a 4 out of 10. Full kitchen, thank goodness, went to store in Escondido (5 mikes away) and stocked up.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank CindyLou2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear CindyLou2262,
I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Grounds were great, well groomed, clean and good activities. Tennis, fishing, other organized activities.

Monday is a Farmers Market. Bought a rotisserie chicken, fruit,vegetables and lobster tales. You can purchase A-Z. Sheets, food, dishes, the list goes on.

Rooms are nice and comfortable but could be cleaner.

Restaurant was around a 4 out of 10. Full kitchen, thank goodness, went to store in Escondido (5 mikes away) and stocked up.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank CindyLou2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Cindylou 2262,
I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been repeat guests at this beautiful resort and always loved it in the past. But something very disturbing has gone on this trip. Housekeeping has been disgraceful. Too many incidents have happened the past three days, so I will only mention the most recent. We had our mid- week cleaning today. We tipped the housecleaning lady $20 on our way out the door for an all day excursion. We had already stripped the bed and put the sheets with the dirty towels. I had talked to someone in charge of housekeeping and they were aware we needed clean sheets. We returned to the room an hour ago and to our GREAT surprise, the bed was unmade and no sheets were left in the room. We called housekeeping an hour ago and are still waiting for sheets so we can make our own bed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank marian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Marion C,
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the challenges encountered during your stay with our housekeeping team. You concerns have been brought to the attention of our Resort management team. Please feel free with reach out to me with any further concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We are seniors, but loved being around the kids. Great amenities! The weather was cool, but we sat around the huge fire pit reading during the day, and playing chess with a glass of wine in the early evening. Great walks in the hills. Several wonderful pools scattered throughout the complex and fun, fun water features for the kids. Rooms were well maintained and had all the necessary tools for making meals

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear lou514,
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you both enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A fairly nice resort, but the golfing amenities were good at best. We played on the shortest course which lacked a bit in maintenance. There were many families staying at the resort. The pools were warm and the hot tubs were also good. Many playgrounds and pool additions (slides). We weren't permitted to bring our own drinks or snacks into the pool area, but there wasn't any waiter service so you had to go to the intermittently-open snack bar and order. You had to hope that they hadn't run out of what you wanted as sometimes they did way before pool closing time. The resort is located right outside Escondido which has many restaurants along with a convenient grocery store. The zoo and SeaWorld are about 40 minutes away but were easy to find. The push was on for timeshare tours at check in which is always offputting. Most of the staff were friendly and eager to please... A major negative was that we were placed in a ground-floor unit which on one side had a nice view of the pool and mountains but the windows on the other side (bedroom) opened up to a drainage area and concrete wall. We were in the basement...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muckandduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. They have tons of activities for the kids and several different pools to choose from. My son loved going to shoot hoops and just play outside. If we needed extra towels or detergent it was no problem and service was quite prompt.

The store is expensive but convenient and the market is a fun evening to go and look around and eat some really delicious food.

The staff were all really friendly and warm. It seems that they value their employees and it shows in their work.

Clean, quiet and very comfortable!

Room Tip: When asking for a room choose top floor and fairway view if you can. Ask for quiet so you are not p...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sareese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear sareese,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your family enjoyed their vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

To begin with, the scenery around you is beautiful. We had a villa in Harmony Hills that overlooked the golf course. Our balcony faced the west and it was quite warm while sitting outside in the afternoon.
We were right across the street from the rec complex which featured a pool area, hot tub, bbq area, outdoor fire pit. They show outdoor movies on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights.
Our two bedroom villa was spacious - we had another couple join us mid week and there was plenty of room for the four of us. They had their own bathroom area. The open concept living room/kitchen was nicely decorated and functional. We did find the living room furniture to be firm but we got used to it. The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a washer/dryer.
We found the housekeeping staff to be very helpful. Anything we needed, they got it to us quickly. I found the rec centre staff to be very helpful as well. I was often at the hot tub first thing in the morning and they guys were always working away and were always courteous.
Our check in was ok - I didn't find the staff to be that helpful. I did go to get my parking pass and there was an invitation to attend the timeshare presentation but I said no. After that, the attitude was a bit cool. Oh well.
I would suggest that the staff make sure that each unit has information about the resort, the amenities and the check out process. Our unit had no information and very little was given to us at check in. We found this strange. Usually there is a booklet in each room. We had to find out for ourselves.
Overall, a beautiful resort in a great location. We enjoyed our time here very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maplegal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear maplegal30,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear your family and friends enjoyed our on-site activities and amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Please be sure to visit us again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $169 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing