We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveler rating
793
565
208
122
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
565
208
122
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan diegorec centercanyon grillpizza hut expressbedroom unitfull kitchentimeshare tourfarmers marketharmony hillmountain villawhelkstimeshare presentationair hockeyboulder springsparking passwasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,160 - 1,165 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been repeat guests at this beautiful resort and always loved it in the past. But something very disturbing has gone on this trip. Housekeeping has been disgraceful. Too many incidents have happened the past three days, so I will only mention the most recent. We had our mid- week cleaning today. We tipped the housecleaning lady $20 on our way out the door for an all day excursion. We had already stripped the bed and put the sheets with the dirty towels. I had talked to someone in charge of housekeeping and they were aware we needed clean sheets. We returned to the room an hour ago and to our GREAT surprise, the bed was unmade and no sheets were left in the room. We called housekeeping an hour ago and are still waiting for sheets so we can make our own bed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank marian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Marion C,
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the challenges encountered during your stay with our housekeeping team. You concerns have been brought to the attention of our Resort management team. Please feel free with reach out to me with any further concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We are seniors, but loved being around the kids. Great amenities! The weather was cool, but we sat around the huge fire pit reading during the day, and playing chess with a glass of wine in the early evening. Great walks in the hills. Several wonderful pools scattered throughout the complex and fun, fun water features for the kids. Rooms were well maintained and had all the necessary tools for making meals

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear lou514,
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you both enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A fairly nice resort, but the golfing amenities were good at best. We played on the shortest course which lacked a bit in maintenance. There were many families staying at the resort. The pools were warm and the hot tubs were also good. Many playgrounds and pool additions (slides). We weren't permitted to bring our own drinks or snacks into the pool area, but there wasn't any waiter service so you had to go to the intermittently-open snack bar and order. You had to hope that they hadn't run out of what you wanted as sometimes they did way before pool closing time. The resort is located right outside Escondido which has many restaurants along with a convenient grocery store. The zoo and SeaWorld are about 40 minutes away but were easy to find. The push was on for timeshare tours at check in which is always offputting. Most of the staff were friendly and eager to please... A major negative was that we were placed in a ground-floor unit which on one side had a nice view of the pool and mountains but the windows on the other side (bedroom) opened up to a drainage area and concrete wall. We were in the basement...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muckandduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. They have tons of activities for the kids and several different pools to choose from. My son loved going to shoot hoops and just play outside. If we needed extra towels or detergent it was no problem and service was quite prompt.

The store is expensive but convenient and the market is a fun evening to go and look around and eat some really delicious food.

The staff were all really friendly and warm. It seems that they value their employees and it shows in their work.

Clean, quiet and very comfortable!

Room Tip: When asking for a room choose top floor and fairway view if you can. Ask for quiet so you are not placed too close to the highway.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sareese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear sareese,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that your family enjoyed their vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

To begin with, the scenery around you is beautiful. We had a villa in Harmony Hills that overlooked the golf course. Our balcony faced the west and it was quite warm while sitting outside in the afternoon.
We were right across the street from the rec complex which featured a pool area, hot tub, bbq area, outdoor fire pit. They show outdoor movies on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights.
Our two bedroom villa was spacious - we had another couple join us mid week and there was plenty of room for the four of us. They had their own bathroom area. The open concept living room/kitchen was nicely decorated and functional. We did find the living room furniture to be firm but we got used to it. The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a washer/dryer.
We found the housekeeping staff to be very helpful. Anything we needed, they got it to us quickly. I found the rec centre staff to be very helpful as well. I was often at the hot tub first thing in the morning and they guys were always working away and were always courteous.
Our check in was ok - I didn't find the staff to be that helpful. I did go to get my parking pass and there was an invitation to attend the timeshare presentation but I said no. After that, the attitude was a bit cool. Oh well.
I would suggest that the staff make sure that each unit has information about the resort, the amenities and the check out process. Our unit had no information and very little was given to us at check in. We found this strange. Usually there is a booklet in each room. We had to find out for ourselves.
Overall, a beautiful resort in a great location. We enjoyed our time here very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maplegal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear maplegal30,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear your family and friends enjoyed our on-site activities and amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Please be sure to visit us again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews