We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Escondido Hotel(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Escondido Lodge(Escondido)
$83
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motel Mediteran(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$60
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Inn(Escondido)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveler rating
780
555
203
121
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
555
203
121
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan diegorec centercanyon grillpizza hut expressbedroom unitfull kitchentimeshare tourfarmers marketharmony hillmountain villatimeshare presentationwhelksair hockeyboulder springsparking passwasher dryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,140 - 1,145 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We own at this resort and just happened to luck out and get a two bedroom when we traded trough Interval International. We Stayed in the older Villas units (not the ones we bought for our ownership) but it was still a very impressive room. The Bathroom was beautiful and looked like they had been redone and had double sinks which was very convenient. The Kitchen was very nice and had all the appliances needed to cook every night. We had a great view of part of the golf course as well as a nice backdrop of the mountains. The wifi in the room on the first floor where we stayed in was not reliable and did not work well. What made the trip was the recreation rooms located at every different group of Villas. They had reliable wifi and a very good setup to entertain the kids and family. They had pool tables, ping pong tables, pools and hot tubs. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Overall the Resort is a great choice because of the location and the proximity of activities to do with the family. I would highly recommend this resort, especially the Mountain Villas if you can choose, but all of the Villas are very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Jocran,
First of all, thank you for being an owner here at Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on our Villas and our resort amenities. We are continually working to upgrade our accommodations here at Welk, including our wifi reception. It is great to hear you had a wonderful family vacation with us. We look forward to you returning to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I understand this is a time share, but we never went on the sales tour, so I can't comment on that. I can say that we had a blast as a family here. It was like a cruise on land! There were activities planned every hour of every day, giving us a chance to take Spanish classes, attend poolside movies, go to themed dinners and farmers markets, make playdoh with the kids, take golf lessons, etc. it is a bit far from attractions, but we would definitely go back. We stocked up on groceries so we didn't have to go find restaurants meal as there really aren't many places that are close. The kids loved the pools and the slides, and mom and dad appreciated the space of the 2 bedroom villas. We drove into do sea world one day and it took about an hour to get there. We planned on going into San Diego for other things, but there was so much to do and the resort that we just decided to hang there. I am certain we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Nick S,
Thank you for your review. it is great to hear your family had a blast on vacation here at Welk Resort. It sounds like your family really got a chance to enjoy all of our resort activities and amenities. We look forward to you returning for another fun filled family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed 2/16 to 2/22 - First the good: Very nice well maintained resort, numerous pools 2 have water slides and they have really nice game rooms for the kids. Our condo was large and had beautiful baths and a nice kitchen. I would say all amenities are very nice, many families could stay there a week and never leave.

The resort is quite far from most places and if you plan to go to the Zoo, Seaworld, Lego Land and the beach expect to do a good bit of driving. Getting groceries requires a bit of a drive as well. The drives are not terrible but not great either usually 45 minutes without traffic.

We traveled from CT and do to snow our original flight was cancelled we tried to move our stay back a few days but they refused to move our days. So we paid for 3 nights we did not stay and were forced to pay $450 extra for to 2 additional nights. The resort said they were full so they charged us but the condo next to me was empty the while week and so were others. So we paid $450 extra for 1 day less of a vacation do to their inflexibility. I'll never stay at a Welk again if you plan to, buy travel insurance.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent one week with family at 1 bedroom villa. Unit was in nice location over looking pool getting nice sun all day,Decks are large and comfortable unit very roomy and had 2 fireplaces. Beds were poor mattresses need changing sofa beds were worse and very noisy.Units show a lot of wear for being fairly new. A little tough moving in for a weeks stay no elevators and a 2 door entrance system.Condo was comfy other than beds.Pools and areas are great only used upper pools but all looked good. Pools very busy on Saturdays as many non staying members can use pools.Did the 90 minute tour for 2 safari pass tickets salesmen very good and had a good presentation.Very noisy early in the morning outside Stoneridge presentation center always talking as sales people coming in. Also hard to find parking during the day as sales people fake majority. Over all we all enjoyed staff very good and friendly .

Room Tip: Ask for deck that gets sun.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Boyd S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and choosing to stay at Welk Resort. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their vacation here at Welk Resort San Diego. I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We very much enjoyed our week at the Welk Resort. The two bedroom unit we had was huge and very modern and comfortable. The kitchen was also very large and well supplied. We had a large balcony overlooking the golf course on the upper floor. The walls are not the most sound proof so I recommend the upper floors. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the restaurant on site had good food. We had several breakfasts and lunches there. The resort is on its own about 30 minutes from San Diego. It is close to several smaller cities that have lots of stores and restaurants which was handy. The only thing they need to improve is there Wi-Fi. It was very frustrating to use as it kept crashing and was very slow. This resort is geared a little more to the older crowd but we did see some young families as well. I don't think it would be great for the twenty to thirty age group with no children. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank camrosegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Camrosegirl,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for the highlights and details provided on our resort amenities and features. It is wonderful to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing vacation here at Welk Resort. I apologize for the challenges with WiFi you encountered during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention for correction. If you return to the area please be sure to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews