We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Escondido Hotel(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Lodge(Escondido)
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Mediteran(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Inn(Escondido)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveler rating
780
555
203
121
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
555
203
121
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan diegorec centercanyon grillpizza hut expressbedroom unitfull kitchentimeshare tourfarmers marketharmony hillmountain villatimeshare presentationwhelksair hockeyboulder springsparking passwasher dryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,142 - 1,147 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed 2/16 to 2/22 - First the good: Very nice well maintained resort, numerous pools 2 have water slides and they have really nice game rooms for the kids. Our condo was large and had beautiful baths and a nice kitchen. I would say all amenities are very nice, many families could stay there a week and never leave.

The resort is quite far from most places and if you plan to go to the Zoo, Seaworld, Lego Land and the beach expect to do a good bit of driving. Getting groceries requires a bit of a drive as well. The drives are not terrible but not great either usually 45 minutes without traffic.

We traveled from CT and do to snow our original flight was cancelled we tried to move our stay back a few days but they refused to move our days. So we paid for 3 nights we did not stay and were forced to pay $450 extra for to 2 additional nights. The resort said they were full so they charged us but the condo next to me was empty the while week and so were others. So we paid $450 extra for 1 day less of a vacation do to their inflexibility. I'll never stay at a Welk again if you plan to, buy travel insurance.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent one week with family at 1 bedroom villa. Unit was in nice location over looking pool getting nice sun all day,Decks are large and comfortable unit very roomy and had 2 fireplaces. Beds were poor mattresses need changing sofa beds were worse and very noisy.Units show a lot of wear for being fairly new. A little tough moving in for a weeks stay no elevators and a 2 door entrance system.Condo was comfy other than beds.Pools and areas are great only used upper pools but all looked good. Pools very busy on Saturdays as many non staying members can use pools.Did the 90 minute tour for 2 safari pass tickets salesmen very good and had a good presentation.Very noisy early in the morning outside Stoneridge presentation center always talking as sales people coming in. Also hard to find parking during the day as sales people fake majority. Over all we all enjoyed staff very good and friendly .

Room Tip: Ask for deck that gets sun.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Boyd S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and choosing to stay at Welk Resort. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their vacation here at Welk Resort San Diego. I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We very much enjoyed our week at the Welk Resort. The two bedroom unit we had was huge and very modern and comfortable. The kitchen was also very large and well supplied. We had a large balcony overlooking the golf course on the upper floor. The walls are not the most sound proof so I recommend the upper floors. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the restaurant on site had good food. We had several breakfasts and lunches there. The resort is on its own about 30 minutes from San Diego. It is close to several smaller cities that have lots of stores and restaurants which was handy. The only thing they need to improve is there Wi-Fi. It was very frustrating to use as it kept crashing and was very slow. This resort is geared a little more to the older crowd but we did see some young families as well. I don't think it would be great for the twenty to thirty age group with no children. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank camrosegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Camrosegirl,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for the highlights and details provided on our resort amenities and features. It is wonderful to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing vacation here at Welk Resort. I apologize for the challenges with WiFi you encountered during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention for correction. If you return to the area please be sure to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Welk Resort in Escondido, California is a wonderful resort that has on site golf , theater, shopping, activities, multiple pools, walking, and some of the best employees we have encountered at any resort. We are made to feel special by all of the resort personnel we encounter. The units are spacious and well appointed. The housekeeping staff is quick to respond to special requests. This is our favorite resort in southern California.

Room Tip: We enjoy the roominess of the older 2 bedroom villas. The newer Mountain Vista villas have the advantage of being lock-off units and are very up to date in their furnishings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fresnobatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dearfresnobatt,

Thank you for your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us. it is great to read that Welk Resort is your favorite resort in Southern California. I appreciate the comments regarding our staff, villas and resort amenities. We look forward you seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been to this resort many times and still prefer the "older" LW Villa Resort units because of their spaciousness. These units were originally intended to be more like second homes away from home. The bath tub access in the master bedroom side can be a bit of a challenge to step into. Those who have difficulty have the option to use the shower in the other side of the unit. We like to reserve a unit overlooking the large fishing pond. There are now new units with three BRs in them for those parties who are having a larger group gathering.

Room Tip: Request the upper floor units to avoid noise from above. See above notes.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spartan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Spartan58,
First of all, thank you for choosing to vacation with Welk Resort on multiple occasions. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and for the information regarding our Villas. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews