We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager Doesn't Care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Besides being a dated property badly in need of updating, we had a maintenance issue within the wall that sounded like a bathroom fan running on turbo for four nights out of the week stay. Called the front desk, security and the manager. Was never resolved, wasn't offered another unit. Called again a month later and left a message for the manager to call, never did. AVOID.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuckyEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

989 - 995 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Not to far off I 15 and very convenient to different spots . Temecula Valley Wine country is 15 miles away. San Diego is about 40 miles along with La Jolla, Torrey Pines all within range.The place has a restaurant, pizza take out and golf etc. It is in a nice setting with mountains all around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Was happy until had to sleep on an old, hard & lumpy mattress, in villas.
They spent thousands on the bathroom & kitchen remodel, but left the 1990 mattresses. Had to use 2 comforters to get it level and softer.
Nightmare traffic to San Diego, WAY TOO FAR. Stayed on 1st floor and overhead noise was not peaceful. Flatscreen TV was inside the 1990 entertainment center and can only be viewed when sitting directly in front
of the center on very uncomfortable chairs and a sofabed that was too hard. Yes, I know did not go to watch TV, but do
like to check the news & weather.
The so called famous grill restaurant was really no much better.

Room Tip: Only the new section is worth the trouble, but impossible to get. Bedrooms are NOT room darkening i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Charmaine,
Please accept my apology for the challenges that made your vacation less than exceptional. I have brought your comments to the attention of our management team. We did remodel bathrooms and kitchens of the Villas where you stayed. Starting in December of 2013 we will begin refurbishing the bedrooms, living rooms and patios of those same villas. This will include the TV's, carpet and furnishings of the above mentioned rooms. We are sorry to have disappointed you, and would appreciate your considering a return to our resort to a more pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Initially, I was very impressed with the resort. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit at the Mountain Villas and it was perfect for me and my wife. I requested for a unit on the 3rd floor because experience has taught me that the upper floors tend to be more peaceful. The lady at the front desk was helpful and found me one. Thumbs up for the accommodations. Next day, we decided to workout in the fitness center. The. Cardio and weight machines were dated and unkept. Bike cushions cracked, elliptical machines and treadmills making strange noises, and the weight room in dire need of an upgrade. The trash bins were filled to the brim. It's as though no one in Admin had visited this part of the resort for quite a spell. My next point is Parking. Forget about easily finding a space in front of your villa during weekends and holidays. Staying next to the pool and water slide is like living beside a theme park. In my opinion, the resort is nothing to rave about.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet at Mountain Villas, ask for a unit as far from the pool as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Welk for San Diego beer week. The week was a gift from her mom who had a time share with another chain.

So... let's go to the top: Check-in: This was a bit of a painful process. It was a Friday night and they were very clearly understaffed for check-in. This process took 25 minutes. Immediately, we got hammered on to buy a time-share with Welk. We were told to expect to get repeated attempts to buy a time share, and they didn't waste any time starting on that.

After check-in, we went to our room at Oakmount. The room was amazing. Heck, my first apartment out of college was smaller then this! Everything about our room was great and we have no complaints about this part of the visit. We were in the basement, so their was a little bit of noise from the guests above us. We had everything that we needed to cook, do laundry, etc. The quiet air condition controls were an added plus, and so were the ceiling fans. Also, unrelated to our room, but important to note: The house service is kind of on their own hours. We left for our day in the mountains on the scheduled day for cleaning. We got home at 6pm to find that our room had not been cleaned. We were a little shocked by this. We just asked housekeeping to exchange our towels at this point. It was also a little weird to be 25' from the 17th tee on the golf course. My wife thought it was funny, but I thought it was a little to close for comfort. Parking the car was a bit of a challenge as you got later in the evening. We had to park about a block away from our building a couple of nights.

We are in our upper 30's, and we expected that with a time share that we would be the youngest people there by a couple of decades, and we were a little surprised that we were not. (well... entirely, anyways). We did not feel that their was not enough activities for people our age.

Here is my wish list for the resort: While there is an adult only pool, their should also be adult only housing. In addition, the gym and gym hours are a little suspect. 7am is much to late for me to start at the gym for the day. The gym needs to be 24 hrs. Also, the gym equipment needs to be in one building. It was a bit strange to go between 2 buildings for Cardio and Lifting. It seems like the gym was a bit of an afterthought. How about a on-site trainer? Road and Mountain Bike Rentals?

Lastly, let's be clear: You are about 7 miles north of Escondito. Prepare by buying some groceries before you come out to the resort. For the San Diego beer week activities, you are close to Escondito, San Marcos, & Carlsbad. You are much too far out to be going into San Diego on a regular basis.

Overall, as I had mentioned, the highlight was our amazing room. The lowlights are the lack of adult only activities, the not-so-great 2 room gym, and the customer service. For a gift, it was very good, as my score indicates.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a little more privacy, but the ground floors offer walk out capability to the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HI-Gold-Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort accommodations. Thank you for your ideas. We are continually working to upgrade our guest activities and services. We hope you visit us again if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just spent two weeks at this very pleasant resort. First off, I must mention that the staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. You could not go past anyone without them smiling/waiving/saying hello, and they were very professional when handling any requests we had. For the first week we stayed in a one bedroom ground floor unit....very nicely appointed, with fully equipped kitchen, laundry, very comfortable bed/linens, very clean. The only concern we had was there was little sound insulation between units, so we could hear TV + conversations from the unit beside, and walking, dining chairs dragging, toilets flushing etc from above. For our 2nd week (upon our request) they were kind enough to relocate us to a lovely top floor deluxe one bedroom unit. Wow! Again, very nicely finished/equipped and this unit also had vaulted ceiling, gas fireplace, a Jacuzzi tub, and very large outdoor patio too. Again, very clean and comfortable. Multiple pools / spas on the property (including the main one, which is set up more for families/kids, with slide + spray toys etc) so if you are looking for a quieter pool experience check out one of the many other pools on this massive property. Lots of major retailers within a 10-15 minute drive (Costco, Target, Kohl's, Vons, etc etc) so supplies were not an issue. Monday's on-site market offered a large variety of crafts, produce, baked goods and other food items at a reasonable price. This is a great location to use as a jump-off point for exploring all that southern California has to offer. Special thanks to Alissa (front desk) who was particularly kind and helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_CVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

It is great to hear you enjoyed your vacation here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on our resort activities, accommodations and features. I am glad to see our resort staff was able to provide you with exceptional service. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The resort is very spacious and in a lovely setting. The buildings are well spread so never feels crowded. We were fortunate to be allocated a two bed even though we are only a couple and the apartment was huge - you could easily live in it long term. It was very well equpped and furnished with two large bathrooms - both had jack and jill sinks, and one had a jacuzzi bath with shower over and the other a walk in shower. We were on the ground floor with a big patio over looking the golf course. Those on the first floor have large balconies. Everything was really clean too.

The on site facilties are very good with three swimming pools to choose from - one adults only, a decent gym, golf course, spa (bit pricey), kids club, two shops, bar, restaurant and theatre, which people come from all over to visit. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

One minor critcism if you are TV fan is that there was a very poor choice of channels and no guide so you could see what was on. The other thing to be aware of is that the resort is a 15/20 minute drive from Escondido and there are no other amenities close to the resort. However road access is good and it was easy to visit San Diego and surrounds on day trips.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Jasmine101Surrey,
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their vacation here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the details provided on our resort activities and features. Thank you for the highlights and feedback from your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
6.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Retreat
Tuscany Hills Retreat
#13 of 16 in Escondido
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026-6403
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $144 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing