We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, easy drive to L.A., San Diego, Laguna, Palm Springs...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just spent two weeks at this very pleasant resort. First off, I must mention that the staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. You could not go past anyone without them smiling/waiving/saying hello, and they were very professional when handling any requests we had. For the first week we stayed in a one bedroom ground floor unit....very nicely appointed, with fully equipped kitchen, laundry, very comfortable bed/linens, very clean. The only concern we had was there was little sound insulation between units, so we could hear TV + conversations from the unit beside, and walking, dining chairs dragging, toilets flushing etc from above. For our 2nd week (upon our request) they were kind enough to relocate us to a lovely top floor deluxe one bedroom unit. Wow! Again, very nicely finished/equipped and this unit also had vaulted ceiling, gas fireplace, a Jacuzzi tub, and very large outdoor patio too. Again, very clean and comfortable. Multiple pools / spas on the property (including the main one, which is set up more for families/kids, with slide + spray toys etc) so if you are looking for a quieter pool experience check out one of the many other pools on this massive property. Lots of major retailers within a 10-15 minute drive (Costco, Target, Kohl's, Vons, etc etc) so supplies were not an issue. Monday's on-site market offered a large variety of crafts, produce, baked goods and other food items at a reasonable price. This is a great location to use as a jump-off point for exploring all that southern California has to offer. Special thanks to Alissa (front desk) who was particularly kind and helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_CVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

It is great to hear you enjoyed your vacation here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on our resort activities, accommodations and features. I am glad to see our resort staff was able to provide you with exceptional service. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The resort is very spacious and in a lovely setting. The buildings are well spread so never feels crowded. We were fortunate to be allocated a two bed even though we are only a couple and the apartment was huge - you could easily live in it long term. It was very well equpped and furnished with two large bathrooms - both had jack and jill sinks, and one had a jacuzzi bath with shower over and the other a walk in shower. We were on the ground floor with a big patio over looking the golf course. Those on the first floor have large balconies. Everything was really clean too.

The on site facilties are very good with three swimming pools to choose from - one adults only, a decent gym, golf course, spa (bit pricey), kids club, two shops, bar, restaurant and theatre, which people come from all over to visit. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

One minor critcism if you are TV fan is that there was a very poor choice of channels and no guide so you could see what was on. The other thing to be aware of is that the resort is a 15/20 minute drive from Escondido and there are no other amenities close to the resort. However road access is good and it was easy to visit San Diego and surrounds on day trips.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Jasmine101Surrey,
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their vacation here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the details provided on our resort activities and features. Thank you for the highlights and feedback from your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just stayed for a beautiful weekend at the Welk Mountain Villas. The kids stayed in the Pool area all day. Thankyou to Welk to know how to entertain them all day long!! The Mountain Villas had a waterslide and splash play area and a pool that was about 50 meters log... The kids also made Sea Horses out of water noodles and loved the hudge Jacuzzi. The Front desk was helpful and nice. We had a villa on the second floor near the Mountain Villa club house... The Mountain villa was very clean and new... almost like no one had ever used the kitchen...The Teton buildings had great views...Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor... We stayed in the Alpine building because of the distance to pool, waterslide and jacuzzi. We had a wonderful time... The Mountain Villas are brand new and the layout is perfect.. We have only stayed at the Mountain Villas at the Welk Resort so we can not review any other area at Welk Resorts.

The only complaint is that it would be perfect at the Mounatin Villas if they had an additional weight and firtness center at the Mountain Villas Club House... We had to drive down to Harmony Hill ( another part of the Welk resort ) to work out in the morning.. My husband said there should be mountain bike trails too since we have beautiful mountains right next to the resort.... We had a nice time... On Saturday we loved sitting in the villa watching our favorite college football teams in such a pretty and comfortable enviornment. It is great to get away and stay in a place that feels like a beautiful getaway resort but at the same time feels like home.

Room Tip: There are new Mountain Villas over the golf course or the Cascade and Teton villas on 2nd or 3rd flo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 231marlaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Marla J,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear your family had a great getaway here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your comments on the quality of our Villas and am glad to see your kids had a great time at our pool and slide areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Ironwood building for a romantic getaway. It was a satisfying experience overall, although it was not worth the $190 we paid for the night.

The room was clean, as were the bathrooms and linens. We didn't make use of the kitchenette, but we definitely would have had we stayed longer or had our kids with us. The mattress was saggy, the towels a bit thin, and the room was not well equipped. Also, the cleaning crew left a huge trash bag full of toilet paper and cleaning supplies right in the entry way of our room. We moved it out of the way and tried to ignore it.

We enjoyed the onsite restaurant for dinner and were pleased by the service and the quality of the food. We've stayed at nicer resorts with fancier restaurants, but this one was well worth the money we paid. We hit the pool area after dinner around 8pm - there were very few lights on and it was downright dangerous to navigate. There were about a dozen other folks stumbling around in the dark with us there. The next morning we walked the property - it's beautiful - and got back to our room to find another trash bag outside blocking our way into our room. Apparently, the cleaning crew wanted in.

I don't plan to be back to this resort for a romantic retreat. It would be fun with the kids, but it was a bit of a let-down for a romantic getaway. I'm giving it a 3 due to our pleasant experience at the restaurant, and the fact that I'd bring my kids here.

Room Tip: The Mountain Villas would be worth booking if you can get them - great views from up there!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdboyd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in Sept. 2013. It was very relaxing. We want to come back with our grandchildren. They have a great pool area. We drove to the San Diego Zoo and it wasn't a bad drive at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

rgoben,
Thank you for your great review. I am glad to hear you had a very relaxing stay here at Welk Resort. Please come visit us again. We would love to have you and your grandchildren come to the resort and enjoy a fantastic family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was concerned about the accommodations at the Welk Resort after I had read some of the reviews, but I have to say I really loved it here. We had a two bedroom, two bath unit on an upper floor in the Oliver building of the Harmony Hill area. The room was clean and very comfortable. We had everything we could possibly need. The size of the unit was more than adequate. I read in previous reviews that the units in the newer buildings in the back are smaller, but are just as nice. We did not participate in any of the activities offered because we spent our time touring as much of San Diego as possible. However, there are many, many activities offered here for all ages. The daily calendar is full of all kinds of events. I would certainly come to the Welk Resort again if I ever return to San Diego.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeskyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

PeskyMom,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for the highlights and details provided on our resort amenities, I glad to hear you found our Villas comfortable and spacious. It is wonderful to hear your family had a a great time here at Welk Resort. We look forward to having you stay with us again if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This past week we stayed in the "Annie" section (two room suite; dual master bedrooms on opposite sides of the shared living area & kitchen), and really enjoyed the amenities. We had two families of three + one grandparent.

Check-In was as little time-consuming, so the Moms played outside w/the kids while the Dads checked in. MUCH easier this way; the process was too long for a 4yo & 6yo to maintain good behavior.

The rooms were very spacious and seating was adequate. (Dining room table seated 4 - 5 comfortably, but when we all ate together it was pretty tight.) The rooms definitely had a nice, upscale feel to them with granite & marble baths & countertops throughout. The tile floor was nice, the carpet was pretty standard.

PROS:
- Affordable
- Family-friendly
- TONS of activities (with a lot of variety in those activities, although many required additional $)
- Self-contained (for those inclined to stick around the resort, there's plenty to do - not much reason to leave unless you are heading to San Diego for Sea World, Zoo, etc.)
- Nice amenities in unit (good quality towels, food storage for leftovers, small broom for tidying, shampoo, laundry soap, & so on...)
- Nice amenities at resort (some of our best times during the trip were spent just playing in the pool & walking around the resort)

CONS
- a little tough to get service; had to call Housekeeping multiple times for various things - nothing too huge, but would have been nice to feel like the staff was more accessible & responsive
- WAY out from San Diego activities - pretty much a 45 minute drive to do anything. This may not be a factor for some, but it was a little tedious to have to drive everytime we wanted to go anywhere "fun."
- No nearby amenities (ie: grocery store, drug store, restaurants) that were not "resort" style and price. Minimum of 15 minutes to get to grocery store for week's worth of supplies. Just hate to spend $5 for 12 aspirin...

TIPS
- HIGHLY recommend using the Mt. Villas facilities (ie: pool, rec room, etc.), as this also happened to be the "Preview Center" for potential resort owners. The pool (which is AMAZING!) has a zero-entry side, which allowed me to let our 4yo play without me having to carry him around (because he is not tall enough to stand up in 3.5 feet of water.) He loved "looking for sharks" while wandering about in water that he could stand up in!
- Buy bottled water; the tap water was pretty tinny tasting
- Take a little "inventory" of towels, dishes, etc. - we had to request extra of all of them. There were ONLY large bath towels in both bathroom (no handtowels or washclothes - odd.)

We would definitely vacation here again, although I think we would probably stay a few days closer to downtown San Diego, then finish up the vaca here enjoying the pool & family oriented activities.

** We had a major injury while here; the 6 yo fell off a bed & broke his arm about 9pm. While his parents were getting ready to take him to the hospital, we called the security guard and they had a map & directions waiting at the guard booth by the time we left. Really thoughtful!!

Room Tip: If possible, choose an end unit - the balcony is larger and a little more peaceful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gotsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Gotsparkles,
It is great to hear your family and friends enjoyed their stay here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for the highlights and details provided on our resort activities and features. It is wonderful to hear your family had a fantastic vacation with us. I am sorry to hear about the broken arm. I am glad our security team was able to provide assistance. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.2 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
11.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.7 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#13 of 16 in Escondido
90 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $175 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing