We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing and far from lots of things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointing and far from lots of things”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited this resort as a family w 3 small children (10 y.o. and 7 y.o. twins). The unit was spacious and clean. The basics were provided. The amenities were sub par. The pools we visited were crowded and not very attractive. The "lap pool" was about 25 feet (not yards) long. The "arcade" was about six games. The "weight room" did not have a properly functioning weight bench. No good running trail. The on-site restaurant was fine, but the little market was very small and half of the shelf space was devoted to cocktails. Which leads me to a big problem with this resort -- it's a long way from pretty much everything. There is no close-by supermarket or family-style restaurant, even. We finally figured out the downtown Escondid route after 3 days and that made things better. Basically, the facility is dated and out of the way. Absolutely would not return; we were there for free because my mother traded a time share space elsewhere for it or we would have been very unhappy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous4047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    498
    177
    101
    116
See reviews for
781
460
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Welk Resort for 5 days in mid July, 2013. We were given a room on the second floor- and were dismayed to see that there was NO ELEVATOR. We dragged our bags up the flights of stairs. The room was OK. We had four people so my kids had to sleep on the sleeper sofa in the living room. When the bed was in use there was no room to walk or even open the drawers on the chest.

The following afternoon we returned from our activities and sat to have the take out dinner we had purchased off site. My daughter started screaming that bugs were crawling over her. We looked down and the kitchen floor was FULL OF ANTS. We called maintenance and after waiting over 45 minutes, we decided we wanted a new room as we didn't want the children sleeping next to the infested room, and if the ants were in the kitchen they were in the living room too. Maintenance finally came just as we were leaving and said they were going to put down ant traps. They had just had pest control out and they were having ant problems.

We were finally given a new room also on the second floor. We had to lug our bags down the stairs move to another building and lug them up the stairs at the new unit. The sofa bed mattress in the new unit was so badly sloped the kids kept rolling into each other. Maintenance brought out another mattress- somewhat better. We had no mattress pad for the mattress so we had to just put sheets on the bed. It was really late and we were now 2 hours past bed time for the kids and we had early reservations for the next day.

The facilities were fine- loved the adult pool where we could relax without the kids.

We traded our timeshare for this unit and were disappointed as the quality of the room was significantly below the units we normally receive.

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground floor. There are three levels to units- one up a flight of stairs, one down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2travel1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am taking the unusual step of writing this view before we depart as I am interested to see how the management respond.
We got off to a bad start In that our room was not ready on time and had not been properly prepared i.e. dishwasher not emptied, mould on the shower curtain, surfaces not cleaned, etc. We were offered alternative accommodation but in wanting to avoid the hassle of moving we asked for the place to be given a thorough cleaning.
There are tiny handprints on the bedroom sliding door mirrors from previous residents who presumably had a small child with them. So it seems that we are still waiting for the accommodation to be cleaned as agreed with the duty manager.
The furniture is rather shabby e.g the sofa is in poor condition with the seat cushions being threadbare and damaged.
Last night the BBQ by our place did not work and is presumably out of gas. I reported this at the time and was told that it would be replaced. There are plenty of alternative BBQs to use, so no great drama. But this morning the BBQ in question has been cleaned but still does not work.
The gym is relatively small and popular first thing in the morning. Two out of four treadmills have been out of order for most of our stay.
On a positive note the resort is kept clean and tidy and seems to be a great place for families; the adult only pool provides a quiet environment to relax.
The concierge was very helpful in arranging a whale watching trip for us, which is greatly appreciated.
In overall terms we are accustomed to receiving far better quality service, which has been disappointing. Despite this we are still enjoying our stay but it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank howlett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a surprisingly good time on a last-minute vacation at this resort. We enjoyed the activities--fishing, tennis, swimming and relaxing. The magic show was a hit too. The down-side was that restaurant is only so-so and the resort isn't close to many other restaurants. We did not participate in any of the time share sales pitch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin_famly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great resort. There is something for everyone. 8 swimming pools, 2 water slides, open Market, movies, golf, shopping. The villas are very well payed out. The kitchen is large. Bathrooms are wonderful! The entire villa is laid out well. Walking track, fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dickerson1,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for all the positive comments about our facilities and activities. Please be sure to visit us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently traded a timeshare week from Colorado to the Welk Resort in Escondido, Ca north of San Diego. Being that it is a bit out in the country I thought I might not like it. I was wrong. It was a wonderful setting amoungst the mountains. E Z freeway access, beautiful grounds, pools, waterslides, kids water splash park, golf course, tennis courts, restaurant, spa services, hot tubs, and small convenience store.

If you wanted to go to the Pacific Beaches it was an easy 30 minute or less drive to Oceanside. A bit farther to San Diego.

The one bedroom condo was large, 2 years old, tastefully done in a mountain theme with stunning views, 2 gas fireplaces, jetted tub, double bath sinks, HUGE walk in 3 head shower, washer/dryer, full kitchen complete with all eating / cooking untensils. Just a delightful condo.

Bear in mind this is a timeshare resort. For those of us who trade units etc you only get housekeeping mid week. Not sure what they do for the paying guests. We could have additional housekeeping upon request and additional fee. However, they will bring towels, soaps, etc as needed complimentary.

The only downside is they will contact you at check-in and again call you in your room offering a golf cart tour of the property and a gift of movie tickets, credit voucher in the hopes you will buy a timeshare week from them. I declined as I bought my timeshare on E Bay several years ago for just a dollar ! I just pay my annual owners dues of $700. Quite frankly this has worked out very well for me with affordable costs. Where can you stay in a nice condo for a week for only $700? That's only $100 per night. Timeshares generally are a VERY BAD INVESTMENT.

So over all the Welk Resort is great in all aspects. Next year I have a reservation on the coast at Dana Point. However, I may return to Welk Resort again in the following year !

Happy Travels !

Room Tip: The newest condos are up on the mountain off Welk View Street. However, people told me the older un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rssingnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
rssingnl,
Thank you for the wonderful review of Welk Resorts. I appreciate the glowing remarks about our location, amenities and activities. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just got back from a weeks stay here. The unit was large (it was actually a handicapped unit which we are not handicapped) 2 bedroom with 2 bath. Nice porch with great view of the mountains. We stayed at Harmony Hill which is close to the rec center. The Rec Center is fully equipped with lots of stuff to keep you busy, Foosball, ping pong, pool table games etc. Also have tennis, basketball, fishing pond, shuffle board and more. The activities were great. Lots of them. My kids did the casino/poker night which they could win gift cards from various places like Amazon. There is a charge for all or most of the activites. Wish it was cheaper or provide more free activites. The casino night was 10 each and then my younger daughter did teen dance night which was also 10. They have golfing classes also for a fee. They do push to do the tour but we didn't. They ask you to do it upon check in and then they will also call you. They say it is a no pressure tour and the 80 will be given up front or tickets to attractions or for use on site. We exchanged from our time share and this is the first time share that was available through rci and they had good reviews. Our unit was clean and had everything you need. The pools were nice. We have stayed in a lot of time share so the pools were nothing out of this world but they do have 2 with slides. We ate at pizza hut the first night. They wouldn't deliver after 8 for some reason. They also have Canyon Grill which we didn't visit but looked nice. We didn't visit the theater either. We took a trip to La Jolla beach which I would recommend. There are caves there and tidal pools. Also go to the top of the mountain which has a great view. I would also recommend Mission beach if you have kids, teenagers or anyone really. Lots of stuff going on there, it is congested but there are tons of shops and restaurants. I would recommend the Welk resort. It makes you feel like you are kind of out in the middle of nowhere but there are lots of things to do within the resort and around the area. We also dined at the Ali Baba restaurant and enjoyed that too.

Room Tip: I hear some of the units like the Mountain ones are smaller. We were lucky and stayed at Harmony Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Laurenh33,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for the highlights and details provided on the resort activities and features. I also appreciate you including the local activity information in your review for future guests. It is wonderful to hear your family had a chance to get together and have a great vacation here at Welk Resort. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#13 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing