We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am taking the unusual step of writing this view before we depart as I am interested to see how the management respond.
We got off to a bad start In that our room was not ready on time and had not been properly prepared i.e. dishwasher not emptied, mould on the shower curtain, surfaces not cleaned, etc. We were offered alternative accommodation but in wanting to avoid the hassle of moving we asked for the place to be given a thorough cleaning.
There are tiny handprints on the bedroom sliding door mirrors from previous residents who presumably had a small child with them. So it seems that we are still waiting for the accommodation to be cleaned as agreed with the duty manager.
The furniture is rather shabby e.g the sofa is in poor condition with the seat cushions being threadbare and damaged.
Last night the BBQ by our place did not work and is presumably out of gas. I reported this at the time and was told that it would be replaced. There are plenty of alternative BBQs to use, so no great drama. But this morning the BBQ in question has been cleaned but still does not work.
The gym is relatively small and popular first thing in the morning. Two out of four treadmills have been out of order for most of our stay.
On a positive note the resort is kept clean and tidy and seems to be a great place for families; the adult only pool provides a quiet environment to relax.
The concierge was very helpful in arranging a whale watching trip for us, which is greatly appreciated.
In overall terms we are accustomed to receiving far better quality service, which has been disappointing. Despite this we are still enjoying our stay but it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank howlett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    489
    172
    94
    109
See reviews for
744
444
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a surprisingly good time on a last-minute vacation at this resort. We enjoyed the activities--fishing, tennis, swimming and relaxing. The magic show was a hit too. The down-side was that restaurant is only so-so and the resort isn't close to many other restaurants. We did not participate in any of the time share sales pitch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin_famly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great resort. There is something for everyone. 8 swimming pools, 2 water slides, open Market, movies, golf, shopping. The villas are very well payed out. The kitchen is large. Bathrooms are wonderful! The entire villa is laid out well. Walking track, fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dickerson1,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for all the positive comments about our facilities and activities. Please be sure to visit us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently traded a timeshare week from Colorado to the Welk Resort in Escondido, Ca north of San Diego. Being that it is a bit out in the country I thought I might not like it. I was wrong. It was a wonderful setting amoungst the mountains. E Z freeway access, beautiful grounds, pools, waterslides, kids water splash park, golf course, tennis courts, restaurant, spa services, hot tubs, and small convenience store.

If you wanted to go to the Pacific Beaches it was an easy 30 minute or less drive to Oceanside. A bit farther to San Diego.

The one bedroom condo was large, 2 years old, tastefully done in a mountain theme with stunning views, 2 gas fireplaces, jetted tub, double bath sinks, HUGE walk in 3 head shower, washer/dryer, full kitchen complete with all eating / cooking untensils. Just a delightful condo.

Bear in mind this is a timeshare resort. For those of us who trade units etc you only get housekeeping mid week. Not sure what they do for the paying guests. We could have additional housekeeping upon request and additional fee. However, they will bring towels, soaps, etc as needed complimentary.

The only downside is they will contact you at check-in and again call you in your room offering a golf cart tour of the property and a gift of movie tickets, credit voucher in the hopes you will buy a timeshare week from them. I declined as I bought my timeshare on E Bay several years ago for just a dollar ! I just pay my annual owners dues of $700. Quite frankly this has worked out very well for me with affordable costs. Where can you stay in a nice condo for a week for only $700? That's only $100 per night. Timeshares generally are a VERY BAD INVESTMENT.

So over all the Welk Resort is great in all aspects. Next year I have a reservation on the coast at Dana Point. However, I may return to Welk Resort again in the following year !

Happy Travels !

Room Tip: The newest condos are up on the mountain off Welk View Street. However, people told me the older un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rssingnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
rssingnl,
Thank you for the wonderful review of Welk Resorts. I appreciate the glowing remarks about our location, amenities and activities. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just got back from a weeks stay here. The unit was large (it was actually a handicapped unit which we are not handicapped) 2 bedroom with 2 bath. Nice porch with great view of the mountains. We stayed at Harmony Hill which is close to the rec center. The Rec Center is fully equipped with lots of stuff to keep you busy, Foosball, ping pong, pool table games etc. Also have tennis, basketball, fishing pond, shuffle board and more. The activities were great. Lots of them. My kids did the casino/poker night which they could win gift cards from various places like Amazon. There is a charge for all or most of the activites. Wish it was cheaper or provide more free activites. The casino night was 10 each and then my younger daughter did teen dance night which was also 10. They have golfing classes also for a fee. They do push to do the tour but we didn't. They ask you to do it upon check in and then they will also call you. They say it is a no pressure tour and the 80 will be given up front or tickets to attractions or for use on site. We exchanged from our time share and this is the first time share that was available through rci and they had good reviews. Our unit was clean and had everything you need. The pools were nice. We have stayed in a lot of time share so the pools were nothing out of this world but they do have 2 with slides. We ate at pizza hut the first night. They wouldn't deliver after 8 for some reason. They also have Canyon Grill which we didn't visit but looked nice. We didn't visit the theater either. We took a trip to La Jolla beach which I would recommend. There are caves there and tidal pools. Also go to the top of the mountain which has a great view. I would also recommend Mission beach if you have kids, teenagers or anyone really. Lots of stuff going on there, it is congested but there are tons of shops and restaurants. I would recommend the Welk resort. It makes you feel like you are kind of out in the middle of nowhere but there are lots of things to do within the resort and around the area. We also dined at the Ali Baba restaurant and enjoyed that too.

Room Tip: I hear some of the units like the Mountain ones are smaller. We were lucky and stayed at Harmony Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Laurenh33,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for the highlights and details provided on the resort activities and features. I also appreciate you including the local activity information in your review for future guests. It is wonderful to hear your family had a chance to get together and have a great vacation here at Welk Resort. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Horrible. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE. We went for the time share presentation and were told that it would be 90 minutes and we ended up being there for 3 1/2 hours. It was the same typical time share draw where they make you seem like you are getting a good deal and pressure you into buying something on the spot. Part of me actually believed them, but the one main draw back with what they are selling is if you look more into the properties you can switch your time share with most of the places I want to go are not even in there. Anyway the first time share person who was with us for most of the afternoon seemed friendly and helped the time go by faster, but then the actual sales rep came over he was horrible. I do not remember his name, but I will say that it was a lot to do with him that made us really not want to buy here. He was very unpersonable and was just direct and to the point and was in no way willing to negotiate at all on price. It is all about coming up with numbers that after you leave there you realize made no sense. The other huge disappointment was that we went to the time share presentation being told we were going to get a three night trip to Hawaii with airfare, but when looking at reviews before we went I found out that you really only end up with about one full day there with the times the flights come in and leave. So we asked to switch to the other gift which was supposed to be three nights in Catalina with boat tickets. I was also told that if the gift did not involve airfare then you were able to go any day of the week including weekends. Well after the presentation we were given our gift and it was one night in Catalina and has to be used midweek with a bunch of restrictions. When I saw this I said this is not what I was promised and was told that they could not do anything and I was given a small slip of paper with a number on it to call. Well I have been calling that number daily and leaving messages and I have not received one call back. I don't even think someone listens to those messages or answers the phone.
The resort itself was not that great either. It was very overcrowded and the amenities were average at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PhillipRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Welk Resort, we appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your experience. It is only through important feedback such as this that we have the opportunity to make improvements to our Guest experience.
It is our sincere wish for all our Guests to leave feeling they have been treated with honesty and kindness and we apologize for having failed in that effort. If you will contact me directly with your full name and phone number I can locate you in our system. If there is anything I may do for you in the future please feel free to contact me directly at the email address below.
Kind regards,
Helen Denton
Helend@welkgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I booked this resort based on other reviews. When we got to the "hotel" it turned out to be a time-share resort. Their whole push to sell me a time share was very upsetting. I had an ill 14 year old with me, and they seemed to be checking in all of the "freeby" time share people before anyone else. We arrived at 11:30 AM, and did not get our unit until 4:00PM. I know that 4:00 is their listed check in time, but I sat in the lobby watching dozens of people on the "special" get checked in while I waited with a ill child.

After I finally got to check in, they had the nerve to tell me that I had to go wait in the line for the time share specialist to talk to me before I could get a parking pass to get into the gated area of the unit. Only after I told them three times that I was not interested in the time share tour, did they finally give me the pass, and that was with a frown.

The ultimate insult was that our unit was not cleaned the first day, and I stopped the maid to ask her why. She told me that it was not "your day". When I asked the desk person why the room was not cleaned, she told me that ROOMS ARE ONLY CLEANED EVERY FOUR DAYS" I AM NOT KIDDING YOU!!!! At least she did agree that it was not right that they don't tell you that when you are booking a room, but she could do nothing about it.

So if you want a time share forced down your throat, this is your place. If you want a nice place to stay for a vacation, go on down the road.

Room Tip: If you want to buy a time share, this is your place. If not, don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KATHY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and allowing us the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. We apologize that a room was not available for your early arrival, our front office team should have offered to provide keys to access our 5 recreation centers, some of which have lounges for guests to be able to either read, use the computer or watch TV. We offer daily housekeeping services for a nominal fee which is stated on all reservation sites. We are disappointed that our housekeeping team didn’t mention and no one contacted you. We are able to keep our rates low by not including daily cleans and allowing those who would like to pay for cleans to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
21.5 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
16.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing