We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We traded a timeshare in FL to stay here. When we first arrived and checked in we were directed to another counter where they would give us our "parking pass". Really its just to try and pressure you into making an appt to view the property. They dont take no for answer very easily unless you get crabby with them. They also called me the next morning and acted like they didnt know I already said no and told me no one had "put it into the computer". Also a couple times I called the front desk they asked me about going to a presentation. Aside from that it is a beautiful property with new, comfortable units. Relaxing in the beautiful weather at the pools was great. We also took advantage of the grills. Im surprised more people arent talking about the showers! They have the multiple head showers with the little "seat" in the shower. I LOVE those. It is a little far from San Diego but not too bad. This time of year the weather was actually nicer in Escondido than in San Diego. We also went to Carlsbad and OCeanside. You can skip Old Town, its like a state fair. I would stay here again even if the staff is very pushy.

  • Liked — Beautiful units, views
  • Disliked — high pressure sales
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinB_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    500
    178
    102
    118
See reviews for
789
462
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

This place is very nice. Very clean, big rooms and very very nice grounds you will love it.

  • Liked — I loved it all.
  • Disliked — Had to pay for the internet and local phone calls.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank OntheroadagainUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We booked a smaller villa with one bedroom and a sofa sleeper including the kitchen, etc. We had no problems with sales people pushing us or anything. They wanted us to attend their 90-minute tour but I had pulled a groin muscle the night before and we cancelled the appt. They asked if we wanted to reschedule and we said no. That was it, no problem. I booked the villa through Hotwire and got a really good deal. We paid just a little over 500 for 4 nights. I later emailed the resort directly and asked if we could be in the newer units and that's how it was set. Our room was located in the Villas on the Green. Very pretty setting and lots of privacy. One tip: make sure you have everything you need to eat and gas in your car because everything at this place is extremely expensive. The little food mart they have is absolutely ridiculous. If you need food, gas, you can head back south on the frontage road which will take you right into Escondido to El Norte Parkway. There is Vons right on the corner and gas stations nearby. The freeways weren't too bad, you just have to know when to travel on them in California.
We visit Southern California each year and we get real tired of spending so much eating out, plus it gets old. We loved the option of having the kitchen in our room. It was definitely one of the best points of our trip.

  • Liked — Beautiful view and the kitchen in the room
  • Disliked — Too far from everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank grcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We just returned from the Welk last night.We stayed the last week of February and were blessed with beautiful temp's and weather every day! We were very happy with the two bedroom villa we had and the the resort as a whole .It's beautiful manicured grounds,very pleasant staff,golf,restaurant,theater,pool,etc!! Very happy we stayed there!! It's a great central location to stay at if you want to go to San Diego.Only about 30-40 minutes on the highway which is very driver friendly.We ate at the Welk restaurant a few times and it was very good.We also went into downtown Escondido a few times.It's only one or two exits down and there's lots of restaurants and stores to choose from.Only one down fall to this beautiful place...the second bedroom has two twin beds! Another couple came with us and didn't complain but I'm sure they would have been much more comfortable in a queen or king bed.Perhaps the Welk should take this into consideration as I've seen this reported over and over in the reviews.But......overall a wonderful,relaxing place to stay.I highly recommend it!!

  • Liked — The clean,large accomadations and beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — The twin beds in the second bedroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sanpori2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

I must say, being a young couple with a two year old son, we were very apprehensive of staying at a resort named after Lawrence Welk. Our parents were staying at the resort for a week in exchange for their time share. I looked at the website and was able to "rent" a room for two nights on the weekend. My husband and I don't own a timeshare so this was basically a hotel rental for us. We stayed in a one bedroom king suite. The room was beautiful and larger than any other room we have ever stayed in. It had a full kitchen w/ all you would need to cook anything, a sleeper sofa, a great bed, and a wonderful bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean, and extremely quiet. There are lots of amenities on site as well, a nice pool, shopping area, water play area, and small playground close to the room. There are also BBQs really close by and ample free parking. If we knew the resort would have this much to offer, we would have saved some money on tickets for local attractions and relaxed at the resort more. We paid about $160/ night for the room, but this room was much nicer than hotels we have paid over $300 per night to stay in. We can't wait to return and if the timing is right next time we return we will likely buy a timeshare there as well. This was also a great location to be close to Wild Animal park and Legoland. The other San Diego attractions are about a 35 minute drive.

  • Liked — Nicely appointed rooms, didn't feel like a hotel
  • Disliked — Had wireless internet, but was not free. Maid service only once a week during a 7 day stay.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaPsydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Booked through RCI. Escondido is a good central location to see and do in Southern CA. Easy to get into Escondido on the by-pass road without doing the freeway. We had a 2-bedroom on the second floor overlooking the golf greens and hills. Absolutely breathtaking view and the suite was gorgeous. Negatives: It was not a clean as I would expect - under the sink, on top of the fridge. Vacuum weighed 40 lbs! And the twin beds in the second bedroom were not suitable for adult guests. In fact they were so hard and uncomfortable, I think a child would have had a bad sleep as well. If you drive into San Diego, you must get back before 4 PM or stay until after 7 PM, otherwise, you are sitting in traffic. The whole of Southern CA turns into gridlock during rush hour.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom second floor villa at the Welk Resort. It was clean, well equipped and very comfortable for our one week stay. The second floor villa had a large deck overlooking a hole of one of their golf courses, with what they call a hill in the distance, very picturesque. We had a good dinner one night at their restaurant, and ordered pizzas a couple of nights. Both were a short walk from our villa. They had 2 exercise rooms also a short walk away. On Friday night, we went to the Welk theater to see the Alley Cats perform, an a cappella doo wop foursome. They were terrific. They open for Jay Leno when he's at the Mirage in Las Vegas. Don't miss them if you stay at the Welk.
On most days, we travelled toward San Diego : Old Town, Midway aircraft carrier, Hornblower boat tour of the harbor, Coronado, San Diego Zoo, Seaside Village, and La Jolla, Birch Aquarium at the Scripp's Institute.
We attended a sales presentation, which did not have much pressure. One note, we were in a second floor unit, and there were lots of steps. If that's a problem, ask for a first floor unit, as there are no elevators.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Escondido
90 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
11.2 mi away
Harrah's Resort Southern California
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing