We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Choose your location for the most enjoyment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Choose your location for the most enjoyment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a 1 bedroom unit in the Mountain Villas. We selected the Mountain Villas because we wanted to have the fireplace in the bedroom. The unit which was assigned to us had an inoperable fireplace in the bedroom. We were disappointed that they didn't tell us that the fireplace had been awaiting a part for repair. We wasted quite a bit of time with attempts by staff to repair it.
The unit was very large, including a well stocked kitchen (if you want to cook, we didn't), plenty of storage, a washer and dryer (no need to return home with dirty clothes), a 3 headed shower, jacuzzi tub,and 2 fireplaces.
There was no cell phone reception in the unit, and nearby outdoors. The free internet was appreciated , as we used skype.
The Canyon Grille restaurant , on the premises, offers a nice variety of foods at reasonable prices, and offers good service.
The fitness facility is poor. The cardio equipment is very limited, and can't serve the number of guests. There are two 24 Hour Fitness locations in Escondido which we use while staying at the resort.
The theater has always provided good entertainment for us.
San Diego is very accessible, and Escondido offers much to do. The resort is low density and has well maintained grounds.
We have also stayed in the Villas on the Green, and the Lawrence Welk Villa sections of the resort. The cell phone reception was good at both of those locations.

Room Tip: When staying in the Mountain Villas, ask for a top floor, if you and your party can handle stairs(no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZCAlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    460
    166
    89
    97
See reviews for
701
410
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom condo for our family of 5, and loved the floor plan. You walk into the large kitchen/dining/living great room, with a hallway door off both sides of the room. Each hallway had a large closet, a door to a large bathroom, and a door to the bedroom. One room had a Queen bed, and the other had 2 double beds.

Very luxurious bathrooms, one with walk-in shower, one with jaccuzi bathtub and shower combo.

Stacked washer dryer in kitchen closet. Full size kitchen was fully equipped, I lacked for nothing.

Closest grocery store is a good 10 minute drive, but that's a con and a plus... being away from a city location was one of the nice things, but everything required driving.

We also had difficulty just getting around the resort to pools and restaurants with our 3 kids that are 4 years and under. We tried walking down the really steep hill once with our stroller, and drove everywhere the rest of the week. It was too steep to take walks with them.
But the pools were great and family friendly. They were really strict on the height restriction for the water slides though and wouldn't let my 4 year old go down even though she already knows how to swim.
Hotel restaurants were Pizza Hut Express, or a sit down restaurant that was expensive but nice. And the restaurant worked with us on my daughter's allergies.

There was a lot of furniture and door closing noise from upstairs though.

Room Tip: If not near right next to a pool, you'll be driving to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

As the location is not near anything a car is required if you want to go anywhere.This is a great place to spend some time especially if you enjoy golf and like the shorter courses. The golf was 140 each for the week with a cart which made it a fantastic deal as we golfed twice a day. There is a large pond stocked with fish (catch and release). Swimmimg pools scattered thoughout the resort.
We have stayed a coup;e of times (time share trade) in a two bedroom villa, they are huge with a full kitchen. The units are kept up very well and very clean. A TV in the living room and one in each bedroom. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you may need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent a week at the Escondida Resort as we wanted to visit San Diego. Facilities are very good. Nice size kitchen with all you need.
Access to freeway excellent. Recommended to shop at Trader Joe's very good shop with lots of lovely food at reasonable prices.
Only issue we had was there was not enough parking spaces at the block we were on.
There is a market weekly which is very good. Lots of lovely stuff to buy both food and gifts. Bought some nice things there, a bit different.
The area is very beautiful, moutains and lots of pleasant places to walk.
Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

i am an owner at Welk Resort. Condo's are also available for nightly rental. i use my points to stay as often as i can. there are different condos to stay in. all are beautiful and well equiped with everything needed for one night or an extended stay. the staff is wonderful . there are many things to do, or you can just relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. i have invited guests and they were very, very pleased. try it, you will like it.

Room Tip: i perfer rooms facing south in the summer, west in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROCKANDROLLRITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Welk Resort is our home away from home when visiting our family in Southern California. We love it! Fun for the whole family. Thank you, Adrienne for the hospitality, barbecue and pasta dinner. It's great to see you every time.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Absolutely LOVED Welk's Resort! Everything was clean, everyone was nice, the 2 bedroom/2 bath was fantastic. One of the best resorts we have ever traded for and we own a Marriott.
The view was breathtaking. Lots of things to do at Welks. ,
Wish we could have spent more time at the resort but kept busy with family and site seeing.
Even the pizza was very good here.
Looking forward to booking at Welks next year.

Room Tip: ask for Sonata section. make sure you go to La Jolla and Coronado for a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown in Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.5 mi away
Motel Mediteran
Motel Mediteran
#3 of 16 in Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing