We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welk Resort San Diego
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Escondido Hotel(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$133
$120
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Mediteran(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$70
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Lodge(Escondido)
$97
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Inn(Escondido)
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,727)
Filter reviews
1,727 results
Traveler rating
749
544
189
116
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
544
189
116
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan diegorec centercanyon grillbedroom unitfull kitchentimeshare tourfarmers marketharmony hillwhelkstimeshare presentationmountain villaair hockeyboulder springsparking passtimeshare exchangewasher dryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,261 - 1,266 of 1,727 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow, this place is gorgeous and has so much to offer! The views are amazing and the amenities are endless! However, if you are visiting the area to sightsee in San Diego, I don't recommend staying here as it is a 45 minute car ride from downtown and traveling back and forth each day can become tiresome and a time suck. Also, after countless tries we failed to find a restaurant that would deliver. Other than that, a great place to stay and would revisit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mordecai57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Every year I look for a place for an annual moms retreat. There are a few factors which have to be considered to fit our needs... We need at least one room that has a full kitchen and room enough for the gals to eat meals and have discussions. We laugh a lot and quite loudly, so thin walls won't work for us (or the other guests). We like to feel like we've left home (San Diego, north county) and are on a vacation.
Welk Escondido met all those needs and more. The rooms were large and clean..super well appointed...everything we needed to take care of 12 women. The bathrooms were updated (Harmony Hill) and very spacious. We booked 3 2 bedroom suites. They are all identical in layout, which is nice, You know what you are getting. The kitchen was sufficient in size and supplies to make meals for us all and had seating to facilitate eating. We didn't hear a thing from our neighbors and they didn't complain about us and our raucous laughter.
HOWEVER...As friendly as the desk staff was at check in, there was no sense of helpfulness in accommodating our wishes and needs to have rooms near each other or anything else that we needed. We had the feeling that they didn't need our business and didn't need to work for it. We aren't difficult, but want to at least feel like they had an interest in trying to meet our needs. It all worked out fine, but as the coordinator of the event, I don't want to book there again because they couldn't assure me that we would have our rooms anywhere near each other, etc.
That's the only complaint. Otherwise, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: I don't think you have a choice, but we asked for a room with a nice walk-out from the living room sliding glass door. All the buildings are either one or two story....nothing more than that. They are removed from the freeway and there are no other roads that cause any noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed at this resort 3 times through trades. We called approximately two weeks prior to arriving and requested a top floor room overlooking the golf course or fishing lake. When the clerk told us our room number, it was only a top floor with no view as the trees covered what little view there was. She did try and get us another unit but she only came back with a bottom floor unit so we ended up taking what they originally we're going to give us - #190.

I believe the original resort villas have been renovated but I would say surely not completly. The cabinets have been replaced along with Granite Counters and the baths have been redone but the rest of the unit was very dated - Old time big box TV's, pink wallpaper all over the place and very lumpy, uncomfortable furniture.

They need to do better than this since they're still trying to sell new time shares there claiming they are "five star". Maybe the new units are nice but what will they be like when they reach the age of the original villas?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed here two years in a row. Part of what we like is the weather, which has been perfect during both our stays in June. The pools are so fun for our seven year-old, especially the one with the water slide. Access to San Diego, Legoland etc is convenient and fast. We signed our son up for golf lessons this visit; he loved it and the staff were so good to work with someone his age. The only downside was that we agreed to sit in and listen to the time share presentation, mostly out of curiosity. Our salesman was very gracious and helpful in explaining everything to us but his manager(?) who came to explain pricing and the financial offer was pompous, full of himself and downright insulting to us. I could tell our salesman was embarrassed by his associates behavior. We didn't buy, but we'll probably come back for a visit. It is a relaxing place to spend a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just concluded our stay from 10/7 to 10/14 and noted many pluses with the resort, but we think that improvements can also be made. As many have noted the resort is not that close to San Diego or the ocean, but it does not claim to be unless you think the name Welk Resort San Diego refers to the city and not the county.

Our unit (lower floor) had a view of the fishing pond across the street. Everything is well kept and if you are a golfer, I image that you could spend the entire week there without leaving as long as you bring a week's supply of food with you. Except for a few places on-site, just about everything else is 10 or more miles away. Easy access to the interstate, but nothing is just around the corner. Most units have 9 steps either up to or down to the unit. No elevators, but although my wife has many problems navigating steps; these were easier than most.

Rooms were quiet large with a spacious kitchen area. If you have a large party (2br sleeps 6), you will need to run the dishwasher after every meal as there is only about enough silverware and dishes for a party of 6. TVs will remind you of pre-HD days as all three in our unit were probably 15 years old with at best average reception. Golf channel is available to go with the theme of the resort, but no tennis channel for tennis fans. There are a few PCs with free internet access for guests without iPhones or other internet devices. Free is nice, but the response is very slow and the internet browsers are not current. Most web sites invoke certificate errors which will prevent the updating of on-line calendars or responding to Facebook posts. However, the connection is free which is not always the case at some resorts.

The boutique at the resort is good size and has some stylist women items. Also, Lawrence Welk champagne is available for those who need some for the next New Year's eve. Theater has Broadway plays and other entertainment. On Monday's a Farmer's Market is on-site with over 100 vendors including a few who sell local produce. Loved the sweet grapefruit.

For tennis players, there are four courts; but hopefully you have an opponent. Sign-up sheets are present, but luck is probably more important in finding a suitable opponent. They have a tennis event on Friday mornings, but the timing is horrible. Either the guests are checking out or been there for almost a week. It would be much better to have the tennis event early in the week which might yield an opponent.

Everyone is very friendly and helpful and everything is well kept. Great place to stay as long as you know how far the location is from attractions. Plenty of events on the calendar at the resort which is unlike many mature time-sharing resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews