We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort is larger than the country of Monaco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Bondsville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
252 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Resort is larger than the country of Monaco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just concluded our stay from 10/7 to 10/14 and noted many pluses with the resort, but we think that improvements can also be made. As many have noted the resort is not that close to San Diego or the ocean, but it does not claim to be unless you think the name Welk Resort San Diego refers to the city and not the county.

Our unit (lower floor) had a view of the fishing pond across the street. Everything is well kept and if you are a golfer, I image that you could spend the entire week there without leaving as long as you bring a week's supply of food with you. Except for a few places on-site, just about everything else is 10 or more miles away. Easy access to the interstate, but nothing is just around the corner. Most units have 9 steps either up to or down to the unit. No elevators, but although my wife has many problems navigating steps; these were easier than most.

Rooms were quiet large with a spacious kitchen area. If you have a large party (2br sleeps 6), you will need to run the dishwasher after every meal as there is only about enough silverware and dishes for a party of 6. TVs will remind you of pre-HD days as all three in our unit were probably 15 years old with at best average reception. Golf channel is available to go with the theme of the resort, but no tennis channel for tennis fans. There are a few PCs with free internet access for guests without iPhones or other internet devices. Free is nice, but the response is very slow and the internet browsers are not current. Most web sites invoke certificate errors which will prevent the updating of on-line calendars or responding to Facebook posts. However, the connection is free which is not always the case at some resorts.

The boutique at the resort is good size and has some stylist women items. Also, Lawrence Welk champagne is available for those who need some for the next New Year's eve. Theater has Broadway plays and other entertainment. On Monday's a Farmer's Market is on-site with over 100 vendors including a few who sell local produce. Loved the sweet grapefruit.

For tennis players, there are four courts; but hopefully you have an opponent. Sign-up sheets are present, but luck is probably more important in finding a suitable opponent. They have a tennis event on Friday mornings, but the timing is horrible. Either the guests are checking out or been there for almost a week. It would be much better to have the tennis event early in the week which might yield an opponent.

Everyone is very friendly and helpful and everything is well kept. Great place to stay as long as you know how far the location is from attractions. Plenty of events on the calendar at the resort which is unlike many mature time-sharing resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    479
    171
    93
    103
See reviews for
724
430
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leics. UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are at the end of a wonderful week in this resort having checked in at 11.30am last Saturday. The room was ready & it was exactly as requested. A huge top floor 2 bed/ 2bath overlooking the fishing lake & fountains. A perfect location for us. However if you need the pools then do the research, there are probably better placed units.The property and grounds are immaculate and we had absolutely no problem driving I-15 to San Diego - [highly recommend the Old Town Trolley and Seal Tours] We also visited the coastal beach towns and the Safari Park which was well worth a day out and very quiet at this time of year.
My only criticism, and it is a small one, would be that the appliances in this apartment are the old USA type which have never compared in efficiency to European models and do not clean to my standard.That said it was not a big deal and I'm sure they will be upgraded before too long.

Having read many reviews about this property, some far too negative in my opinion, I would like to repeat again...this is a vacation club! The units all have kitchens in which to prepare your meals so do not expect to find restaurants on site. You will not get room service nor will your bed be made each morning but you will get a housekeeping visit once during the week giving clean towels and replenishment of supplies for the bathroom & kitchen.
My final advice would be that if you need to be in San Diego with full services provided then do look for a hotel within striking distance. It is,after all, only common sense.

Room Tip: Top floor = no noise... check for south facing rooms.... and watch out for proximity to I-15 some un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
263 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

What amazed me was at how clean this resort is .. they even have staff clean the BBQ's every day ... Had a really good time here, very relaxing
We enjoyed our walk of the grounds and took in the magnificent mountains all around.. It is within driving distance to evey attraction, nicely positioned to go North South East or West . The pool water is just right @ 82 .. feels cold at first( because your body temp is hot from the sun) but once your in you adjust quickly. The grounds are well kept and there are activities for those who dont want to travel . Nice water slide for the kids, three pool areas an tons of activities for the kids ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiumes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent at week with friends in a 2 bedroom condo. It was comfortable and a great place if you want to golf frequently, otherwise there is not much to do. It is about 40 minutes to San Diego or out to the ocean. There is a restaurant on the property and a Pizza Hut.
We had problems checking in and did not get the condo type unit that was promised. Be sure to check and then reconfirm your reservations. The managers seem to hide as much as possible when issues arise.
The beds and linens were clean and comfortable. However, we had people smoking all night on the deck below us, which forced us to close our windows and the partying went on until 6 a.m.
Thankfully they left the next day.

Room Tip: Be sure to check your reservation for the unit type that you requested. Also check to see if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonstone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked the Lawrence Welks resort through our timeshare connection. After reading many reviews on this site and others we did wonder what we had let ourselves into. I felt that now we are back home in the UK I had to write with our findings. We have stayed at many places throughout the USA and own timeshare in Florida. This place scores high on every level. The people are the most friendly we have ever come across in the USA and on anywhere within the resort could not do enough for you. We had a one bedroom apartment that was really well maintained with very modern fittings and lovely little touches. The whole place,especially the pool areas and entertainment centres were wonderful and very clean. The resort was first class in every way and we could not recommend it highly enough. It is a drive in to San Diego but only 35 minutes and well worth the drive as there is so much to see and do.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was totally surprised by our HUGE 2 bedroom 2 bath villa- the accommodations at Welk are terrific
And the grounds are lovely and pristine.
The units have a very large fully aplianced open kitchen and dining area open to the living room. There are sliders from each bedroom and the living area out onto the patio, which is equipped with table and chairs, as well as chaises. Our unit ( in the Laura building, faced the small fishing pond with fountains- beautiful and relaxing view.
Each bedroom suite encompassed its own bathroom with double sinks and separate room for commode. Well thought out space. Golf and multiple pool areas are included in the Welk resort, as well as a restaurant, theatre, and special events. This is a great timeshare experience- especially since you can book into other Welk resorts ( Cabo, Branson ) without paying a trade fee. It is very convenient to the beaches at Carlsbad and Oceanside - about 20-30 minutes away
A great exchange location!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed from 9/28 to 10/4/2012. We like this place. Our one bdrm accomodation was very clean, reasonably spacious, and had view of grounds and golf course from a small patio. Overall the resort is very well kept, staff is friendly, and views are pretty. The resort has several separate areas, each with a rec center. Pools look well kept, but we didn't use them on this trip. Rec centers have various amenities some unique to a single center (e.g. movie rentals). Outdoor propane grills are conveniently situated throughout the resort. The resort is close to freeway, but freeway noise is not evident in units. Beds were very comfortable. King bed was furnished in our 1 bdrm.

We do have a series of small complaints that prevent a higher recommendation. First the resort isn't very close to some attractions (beach, history, shopping, or sea world for kids). Also, we had a few glitches with our room. Light in shower was out, TV was quite old, cable connection and guide were antiquated, no easy way of finding channels was available. TV was high on a shelf and difficult to view, ice maker was extremely slow, regular dish washing soap was not provided, no elevators are available (hard for seniors like us), kitchen was limited. Finally, we stayed in an older area (Villas on the Green); this area does show its age. Recommendations: (1) if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a parking lot level entrance. This level is not necessarily the lowest floor, so asking for no or minimal stairs is important, (2) if you plan to spend significant time at the resort, ask for one of the newer areas - Harmony Hill looks nice as do Mtn Villas. Also a two bdrm will be better suited for cooking, (3) have a vehicle and plan on putting in many miles if your plan is to see the area as well as relax poolside, etc., and (4) traffic is pretty bad the closer you get to San Diego; if freeways bother you, the coast or inland could be a better choice.

The resort emphasizes golf and has two on-site courses. One is a par 3 and is great for work on short game. Course was so un-crowded I played two balls around the whole track. The second course is a short executive course that winds around the resort. It's too short for a regular golf challenge. Both courses are well kept with green fairways and true and reasonably fast greens (early morning dew can slow them down a bit). Fortunately, golf courses abound within striking distance of the resort, featuring all price ranges and challenges (e.g. muni's to Torrey Pines). One doesn't go to the resort for the golf. One goes to be near the golf. That being said, the courses at the resort might be ideal for families, seniors and others that enjoy golf but lack distance off the tee.

My wife liked proximity to antique shops.

We might well be back, in a larger unit and different area of the resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 773jamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
16.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing