We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Crown for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gold Crown for sure”
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Booked through RCI. Escondido is a good central location to see and do in Southern CA. Easy to get into Escondido on the by-pass road without doing the freeway. We had a 2-bedroom on the second floor overlooking the golf greens and hills. Absolutely breathtaking view and the suite was gorgeous. Negatives: It was not a clean as I would expect - under the sink, on top of the fridge. Vacuum weighed 40 lbs! And the twin beds in the second bedroom were not suitable for adult guests. In fact they were so hard and uncomfortable, I think a child would have had a bad sleep as well. If you drive into San Diego, you must get back before 4 PM or stay until after 7 PM, otherwise, you are sitting in traffic. The whole of Southern CA turns into gridlock during rush hour.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    490
    174
    94
    109
See reviews for
744
447
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom second floor villa at the Welk Resort. It was clean, well equipped and very comfortable for our one week stay. The second floor villa had a large deck overlooking a hole of one of their golf courses, with what they call a hill in the distance, very picturesque. We had a good dinner one night at their restaurant, and ordered pizzas a couple of nights. Both were a short walk from our villa. They had 2 exercise rooms also a short walk away. On Friday night, we went to the Welk theater to see the Alley Cats perform, an a cappella doo wop foursome. They were terrific. They open for Jay Leno when he's at the Mirage in Las Vegas. Don't miss them if you stay at the Welk.
On most days, we travelled toward San Diego : Old Town, Midway aircraft carrier, Hornblower boat tour of the harbor, Coronado, San Diego Zoo, Seaside Village, and La Jolla, Birch Aquarium at the Scripp's Institute.
We attended a sales presentation, which did not have much pressure. One note, we were in a second floor unit, and there were lots of steps. If that's a problem, ask for a first floor unit, as there are no elevators.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Found this resort by searching family places to stay while on vacation in San Diego. Travelled with our 4 & 5 year old daughters. Resort is located about 30 min from legoland, 1 hour from disneyland, 40 min from zoo and sea world. Resort in itself is nice - pool, waterslide and activities for kids available. our unit had a king size bed bedroom and sleeper sofa in living room. Lots of room for our family. Fully stocked kitchenette and laundry in room. Shopping for groceries, walmart etc all about 20 min away but easy to get to. It was a nice retreat for those days we didn't go to an attraction. The days we did venture out, we left at about 9:30 (traffice too bad earlier than that on freeway), spent the day at the attraction (most only open 10-5 during the winter anyways). Then we would have dinner close to the attraction, let the traffic die down and head back to the resort.
PROS: Very clean resort, friendly staff from who we interacted with, store & pizza hut & nice restaurant on premises, nice recreational faciilities - pool, games room, golf course. Quiet location
CONS: no daily maid service - once in a week is included. A little idistance from anything, had trouble finding hot water with the taps, our cleaning was forgotton and had to be reminded of. Cost us $20 to change 2 bed's sheets.
Others have commented on high pressure time share tactics. We were pleasantly asked by the conseierge when we first arrived (along with all the helpful items given). We were unable to make the time requested as we already had plans but you could get free tickets to local attractions and they provided child care during the 90 min presentation.
Nice place to "get away" - more seniors than young families so didn't feel overrun with tired and cranky vacationing families.
Oh, and found best rate on expedia and then called the resort directly and they matched it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and pleasant surroundings
  • Disliked — thin walls, no housekeeping
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Georges, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We rented a villa with 2 bedrooms. The place is very clean with nice furniture and landscape. The front office was very friendly except for one lady uhappy with her job probably. The location is outside San iego (45 min.). The traffic is very heavy but you don't get jammed. People at the gate were very polite and didn't have us lose our time with controls. The pools were clean but the attendants seem to dislike working on bad weather. No rudeness but no smiles... This is a very nice place if you travel with kids and you'll love the mountains in your window every day.

  • Liked — Space and location
  • Disliked — Distance from retaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We are timeshare owners who exchanged our Florida timeshare for a week at this Escondido, California Gold Crown Resort. We swapped a 2-BR for another 2-BR, which is rare for us and a great pleasure when it happens.

We stayed at a corner villa unit in the "new" section, right off the greens (they have 2 golf courses), which was HUGE and a fantastic home-away-from-home for us. Our check-in was a disaster, but I blame the front desk management for poor communication between the front desk and housekeeping and the way they train their new staff on check-in procedures. However, once we finally got the right unit, 2 1/2 hours after we arrived at the resort, everything was fantastic and there were no further issues for the rest of our vacation!!!

We took day trips to Universal Studios, Disneyland, SeaWorld, and Wild Animal Park and spent a couple days "hanging out" at the resort. The weather was too cold for sitting out at the pools (the high was only about 60-65 most days).

Check out was much smoother than our check-in, however, there was one woman "holding up" the check-out line by arguing with the front desk clerk over some issues that should have been handled by desk management, so the clerk to continue to check-out guests who probably needed to catch a flight.

Because of the check-in/check out problems, I give the resort only 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Liked — 1/2 way between downtown San Diego and Los Angeles area
  • Disliked — Check-in -- front desk staff needs management who gets involved to resolve problems!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJ_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

The Welk Resort seemed to cater to the seniors but it was still a family friendly resort that wasn't too far from San Diego. We traded in a timeshare week to stay here. We own at a Starwood property so the Welk Resort was a below average resort compared to the Starwood resorts but still had the amenities like kitchen facilities and BBQs to cook. We were in the small 1 bedroom at the Villas on the Green which was fine considering the reviews we read. The nice part of it was the bedroom was on the opposite end of the unit so once our toddler was down for the night, we could still watch movies and make noise w/o waking her. The bed was pretty awful - old and really uncomfortable. And the balcony was small. Decor in the units need to be updated - very 80ish. The small 1 bedroom's kitchen only has a 2 burner stove with only a convection oven. It was hard to cook full meals since there wasn't much counterspace but it helped to use the grills outside. The rec centers were great with a kids room with plenty of books and toys and the pools were heated to 82 degrees. They have a very large firepit at the rec center as well which was nice to hang out around. It was a bit far to get to the San Diego Zoo or Sea World (~1 hour door to door) but was doable. Oh... don't let your child walk on the grass near the golf course at 5pm even though your unit opens on to the grassy area. (No one was playing and it was getting dark so we were a little bothered they told us that.)

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank AZLovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ke1030
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

We loved it here, we stayed in a two bedroom for 7 days and a one bedroom for 1 day. The two bedroom was huge, clean, and more space than we needed. the kids loved it. Boudler Springs is wonderful. The kids loved the pool area and slide. So many activities for the kids and there was always something going on every hour at the resorts. The pizza hut on site is a little expensive, but we still ordered from there. Didn't visit the restaurant though. There is no housekeeping but they do a mini clean mid-way thru your week, However we didn't have them do this. We would defintley recommend this place, the grounds are beautiful. Also other reviews mention the time-share pressures, i told them firmly upon check in no! Never had any other problems, but did see lots of vistors for timeshare showings on the weekends. But did not bother us. We left two days before they evacuated because of the wildfires, but I attached a picture you could see the smoke. Wasn't to far from most things it was about 2 hours to L.A. 1 hour to disneyland.

  • Liked — Condo Was Huge!!
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ke1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
21.5 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#32 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
16.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing